We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Dreams in a Precious Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Dreams in a Precious Setting”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is our first time back at Elysee in a couple years - it is someplace we frequented in the past and our re-visit last month rekindled ALL the reasons why Hotel Elysee is a precious, intimate, mid-town boutique hotel> Service is always Top Notch: professional w/out being stuffy and very courteous and welcoming. One of the (many) charms of this little hotel is that it houses a variety of room settings. We were fortunate that our request for a specific room was accommodated and we were placed in one of our favorite rooms which has a spacious solarium-of-sorts adjacent to the sleeping room - the toiletries and bedding are of fine quality. Elysee's common room [where a copious "continental" breakfast, afternoon tea w/treats + week night "happy hour" - offers fresh, varied and generous repast] - while its a large room, arrangement of seating lets one cozy up with a cup of coffee/tea while enjoying the day's papers or to use a computer. When the Monkey Bar is open (not at this stay) it is fun to catch a cocktail and appetizer or a quick bite while surrounded by a NYC landmark of sorts - its whimsical murals of charming-chimps adorning the walls. The overall ambiance at hotel Elysee is reminiscent of a lovely European boutique hotel - if that is what they strive to achieve: they have nailed it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatSmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,973
    671
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
823
1,839
166
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My girlfirend and I spent a weekend in NYC at the Hotel Elysee. This was our second stay at the Elysee and we found it even better than the first. Very centrally located to theater and fabulous shopping. The breakfasts are fenomenal as well as the 5:00 wine and cheese. Very friendly and knowlegable staff. We will be sure to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmgiunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This hotel is well located on W54th st Midtown not too far from Central Park. It is also close to several subway stops which makes it convenient to get downtown to theatres etc. It is also very close to the Museum of Modern Art and good local restaurants. Bills cafe across the street has good piano bar music till late and also acceptable food. The Monkey Bar downstairs is a good place to have a drink (although expensive). The hotel is comfortable and serves a good continental breakfast included in the room rate. Service is top quality. However, request a room away from the street as noise is a problem Trash collectors, jackhammers, sirens). After one night we relocated and had no more problems. Price was around $250 per night which is quite reasonable for such a quality hotel in NYC. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzieozzieozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

For the money, this is one of the best values and hotel experiences we have ever had. The entire staff is ready to please and is extremely helpful. Having a full continental breakfast and cocktail "hour" included in the price is a definite plus, especially for NYC. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only negative was that the bathroom could be larger and provide more storage space, but we made due.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthego1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The Elysee is very well located for museums, Central Park, shopping and, with a short walk, the theater district. The rates are reasonable, the rooms large enough to live in, and the hotel offers an exceptionally good breakfast with good service. The downside? It needs cleaning badly. The rugs are more than a little dirty, as is the upholstery; sitting and walking barefoot is problematical. The bed linens are quite nice, however, albeit on a relatively hard mattress. Overall? A quite good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I was not really looking forward to a trip into the city to see a doctor at the Hospital for Special Surgery. My husband had the brilliant idea to turn it into a romantic event by making our 24th Valentine’s Day Anniversary a special one. We made a reservation online and told them that it was our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and very clean! I was a bit concerned by the guy outside with a sign about bedbugs, but was reassured by the warm staff that all was fine. These guys are very sweet, real people, dealt good naturedly but very directly about a 2008 VERY OLD accusation and in reading more about it, this seemed to be more an issue of union having a beef…and not an actual ongoing bedbug problem because there is none. The place is very clean and some idiot protestor standing outside should not stop you from staying at the hotel because I checked thoroughly before unpacking and it was very clean.

The staff was the best, and welcomed us with a bottle of bubbly and chocolates in an upgraded junior suite, which is a huge room with seating area, two large closets; two TV’s a pull out couch and a fireplace! The price was very reasonable to begin with, so this was just over the top! Sean, Mike and the others (sorry, I’m bad at remembering names) couldn’t be more accommodating, very warm and good natured. I needed bags of ice for my bad shoulder and it took only a minute.

My teenage son even called later that day to inquire about sending roses up to our room for our anniversary; he wasn’t sure what nearby flower shop to call. Well, the staff went out and picked up roses and brought them up personally. They really went out of their way and it was most appreciated.

The hotel is so conveniently located in a great area of NYC, I HIGHLY recommend you stay here, the prices are reasonable; the continental breakfast was located in a quiet lovely area with a library and comfortable seating. The Monkey Bar restaurant is a must see for a drink, also a very accommodating staff. All in all a very romantic, home away from home. A lovely stay, we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownislandgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I recently stayed at the the Hotel Elysee. The service was friendly & very helpful.
My room was lovely, comfortable & very clean.......so important! Also, The Club Room was
a charming setting to enjoy breakfast and goodies throughout the day. A nice touch! I
can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajj111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing