We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location for the money”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #352 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location for the money”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I booked the hotel on Priceline.com for a great price. I was later told any hotel in NYC under $400 has bed bugs. We stayed one night, 5/31/11. We were very impressed. It was our first trip to NYC. It was in a great, safe area close to midtown & Central Park South. Felt comfortable walking any where even to dinner at night. The beds were very comfortable. No bed bugs! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,862
    1,180
    370
    254
See reviews for
1,473
1,041
229
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Felt very welcome as we arrived. Rooms were comfy and were a decent size. We had a buffet breakfast at the Gotham cafe downstairs which was yum. Great service there too! Very close to central park and other areas. All within walking distance - which is what you want to do in new York to see everything. Only about a ten minute walk to time square. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

You don't go to NYC to stay in your room but the rooms, although reasonably clean, were in need of new carpeting. As well he washrooms really need to have new wall-paper and the mold removed. The air-conditioners did not work in our room, or in our daughters' room. Overall the rooms, however, were fairly quiet in the part of the hotel we were in.

Public spaces somewhat better and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Ga. USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

When we walked down the hallway to our room, it smelled so badly of cigarette smoke, you could hardly breathe. The room was marginally better. There was a lot of noise, all night from the outside. It was very expensive, and we didn't have time to find alternative room. The carpet was very dirty, the shower grout had mold. The air conditioner control was broken, had to put the knob back on, then it never completely cooled the room. There was a sign by the elevator saying that renovation was in progress, but there was no evidence thaqt anything was being done. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very overpriced and awful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggykight1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

this hotel was fantastic for the price. it was in walking distance to everything very quite and very clean. we would stay here again. only negative is the air conditioner in our room did not work very well. would not want this room on a hot NYC summer night.

great price, great location!!!

Room Tip: booked this on hotwire
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bergsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed two nights on a business trip in this hotel, mainly because it was a last minute booking and this was one of the only hotels with rooms under $500 a night. The room was large, comfortable and the wifi worked well and was free, which was important as I spent a lot of time dealing with work emails. As my company was paying it was an acceptable place to stay, but if I had been paying myself I would have wanted a much better rate, especially as the vast majority of other guests seemed to be either backpackers or families on package rates. I guess the trick is to book well in advance.

I have nothing to complain about, but nothing to rave about either. The one outstanding aspect was one of the check-in staff. A colleague was also staying here, for one night only, and had mistakenly been booked into a smoking room. At check-in the member of staff did all she could to resolve this, given there were no non-smoking rooms available and came up with a good solution that fixed the problem.

I agree with several of the other recent reviews – very good in that we were able to check in straight from our flight, at around 2pm in the afternoon, which was very useful. I also waited a long time for lifts at busy times – the worst was over ten minutes to get a lift to arrive at the ninth floor to go to the lobby. The room was large and generally clean and comfortable, but a couple of areas (especially around the wardrobe) were musty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to many places (eg central park, times square, broadway, the subway).
Rooms were clean and serviced daily, however you could hear patrons in the rooms next door.
Lifts were really slow during peak times (once waited for 5 lifts before being able to get in one)
The room we stayed in wasnt big, but itserved its purpose as we basically slept in the room as we were out all the time.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrunKmonKeY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 466 in New York City
2,517 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#268 of 466 in New York City
142 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 466 in New York City
6,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#339 of 466 in New York City
6,106 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 466 in New York City
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing