We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is very well located, only about two blocks (long ones) from most subway stations, and close to a wide variety of restaurants and delis. Staff was friendly and helpful -- a plumbing problem was fixed very quickly, and missing amenities were quickly replaced. Our one complaint was that you cannot get the PBS channel on the hotel TV, quite surprising for any major hotel not to have this access. After repeated questions to the duty manager, I was finally told that the hotel is upgrading to flat-screen TVs and to a 48 channel program which will include PBS -- so things are getting better! Our room was good-sized, and the internet connection worked fine -- we will come back again.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room -- the one we were in was large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,859
    1,179
    370
    254
See reviews for
1,472
1,039
229
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel room feels like home, but there was a small bathroom. The shower was hard to manipulate, and there was no minibar. Though I'm not sure about other rooms, my experience was just fine. The pillows are hurt my neck, but the bed is very soft and bounce-able. The best shows for me shows in about the time of midnight. But the room is very clean. And the heater is good for chilly nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Nothing to write home about. Seemed clean enough. Definitely no frills. Staff weren't overly friendly when I requested a forgotten toiletry, nor were they helpful explaining how to connect to the wireless Internet. Probably wouldn't return; just stayed here on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and centrally located. The hotel room was fine, small but it had everything we needed and a nice bed. It was fairly close to the subway, Times Square, Central Park, and other attractions. My only complaint was the WiFi was very weak and we ended up using our phones for an internet connection rather than deal with the slow connection.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

All the doors banged shut, the plumbing was very noisey , the walls were paper thin and the noise could be heard from many floors. Good location large rooms.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I do like Holiday Inn, having stayed in a few and never disappointed, and 57th St was no exception. In fact, it's appeal was enhanced by the fact that Central Park, 5th Avenue and Times Square are only a walk away - in fact the whole area around is filled with places to see! The rooms are Holiday Inn standard - clean, well presented and very comfortable beds. The staff at 57th St were very helpful with lots of smiles, which always makes such a difference to the whole experience. Will definitely stay there again on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitpat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville va
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

stayed at this hotel for two nights while in city for taping of tv show at columbus circle..very convenient to that area as well as times square and theater which are generally ten blocks away...the staff was friendly and helpful at front desk, bell service,restaurant and housekeeping...this is an older hotel at which i stayed years ago...it is not the mandarin oriental so adjust your expectations but it is a good stay for the money...the room (733 south tower) was large and clean..the tv is the old type and needs updating badly..bathroom was clean with usual amenities..i am priority club member and was given continental brkfst each day and coupon for free drink in lounge as well as easy late check out...these benefits were a pleasant surprise...was told the hotel had been renovated two years ago but could use some sprucing up again...things look worn but not outrageously so....i wouild stay here again and feel safe in doing so...subway stop is block and half away towards 8th ave...

Room Tip: rooms in the south tower appear to be in better condition from what i am told and have read...walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer69_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
2,515 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#265 of 467 in New York City
141 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
6,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,312 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing