We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“near all the shops is great”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Wayne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“near all the shops is great”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

we slept well last night even in the city that doesn't sleep, the place is very nice so are the people that run this place

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    1,810
    1,147
    355
    238
See reviews for
1,410
1,005
227
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here because he was in town on business for a tradeshow (I tagged along on vacation) and he usually stays at this hotel when in NYC. It's reasonably priced and is within walking distance of many NYC sights. For the sights it's not close to, it's a very short walk to the Columbus Circle subway stop. Also a close walk to the Javits Centre, where tradeshows are held.
The hotel itself is okay, nothing fancy. My husband says the rooms are larger than typical NYC hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful. The concierges were full of information and gave me good directions and input on where to go and how to get there. They also sell a good range of tickets to different sights/events so check with them.
There's a pool on the roof (opens Memorial Day weekend) so while I didn't use it, it's a rare commodity in NYC hotels. Heard from other guests the fitness centre is pretty good but didn't visit it either as I walked my butt off all over town instead. And did my "weight lifting" with shopping bags instead too. :)
We bought our breakfasts (coffee, yogurt/fruit cups, muffins, etc.) from the corner deli down the street (I think it was Roosevelt Deli?) every day which was the healthy/thrifty way to go. Just picked up the food, brought it back to our room and read the paper and got ready for the day with our take-out breakfasts.
Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel. Local watering holes are plentiful and it's nice to watch the game on tv with the locals and just chill in the evening.
Central Park is a short walk from the hotel (just past Columbus Circle, where the closest subway stop is) as is 5th Avenue and all its glorious shops. Century 21 department store (designer gear at discount prices, kind of like Winners/TJ Max/Marshalls on steroids) is just a short walk north from Columbus Circle, on Broadway.
Things to do, places to go:
1. Take the subway down to Battery Park, then do the Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island Ferry trip. There are tours at both sites, led by Park Rangers and they are very knowledgeable. Lady Liberty is even more gorgeous up close and in person. I got a little weepy when I saw her. Ellis Island Immigration Museum is such an important part of America's history and the immigrants who populated the country. The stories, information, and artifacts there are both heartwarming and heartbreaking.
2. Walk through Central Park. I walked from the corner closest to the hotel (south-west) to the north-east and then visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art. There is a lot to see in the park and the museum is mindblowing in terms of everything in there to see. The Egyptian tomb is cool and the Faberge eggs are gorgeous. The $25 "suggested donation" entrance fee is SUGGESTED so if you are on a budget, you can pay what you can, whatever you think is reasonable.
3. People watch everywhere. I found people-watching in Central Park and in Bergdorf's and Sak's to be lots of fun. And you never know who you might see. I saw Toby McGuire and Jocelyn Wildenstein.
4. Walk the High Line. This is a new-ish park on an old elevated railroad line. It starts somewhere in the 30's (south of the hotel) and runs from Chelsea to the Meatpacking District. Like a boardwalk running over the city, it's very relaxing and lots to see from up there.
5. Trump Tower has a great lunch-counter/food court downstairs, with healthy foods reasonably priced. Grabbed a nice salad and a coffee there one day for lunch and just chilled out. There's also a bar on the main floor and a table-service cafe downstairs with a prix-fixe lunch for $21. The Donald knows how to cover all the price points.
6. Prada on 5th Avenue: Aside from being really amazing from a design standpoint (as in interior design, how the store itself is decorated), the clothes, shoes, bags, etc. are works of art. And all the staff are really really nice. They don't give you the "once up and down" judging look like you might experience in other shops on 5th Avenue.
7. Times Square - worth a walk-through but can be a bit of a sensory overload in terms of all the people and all that's going on. But fun. Not sure where The Naked Cowboy has gone to but he seems to no longer be there, strumming his guitar in his tighty-whiteys. :)

Getting back to the hotel, it seemed to be mainly business travellers in there. My only complaint was the guy next door made a lot of LOUD (screaming obscenities) and lengthy phonecalls and when I called the front desk to see if they could encourage him to lower his voice, they promised to send security up and never did. I wasn't looking to start something, but I was hoping someone would get him to tone it down a bit because it was pretty awful listening to him ripping strips off his poor bullied employee on the other end. Otherwise, if you want reasonably priced and good location but nothing fancy, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ECSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

good size rooms with comfortable beds meant there was no problem sleeping. As some have said, it is in need of some refurbishment, but this not really a problem if the rooms are kept clean - which they were. Everything said about location is correct plus it is in easy walking distance of the Lincoln Center. The staff was very friendly and willing to oblige. The only complaint that I have concerns the loud and at times inappropriate music in the bar. This together with some inattentive bar staff drove us into the arms of a nearby pub - for which I was grateful. We had new carpets so they are on the way and on our last day we saw a delivery of flat screen televisions. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great location for Central Park, Times Square, Theaters and restaurants! Subway just down the street. Close to many things but a bit off the main path to not have to fight foot traffic. Rooms with two double beds were well priced and unusually roomy for NYC. We had 3 adults and 1 teen and there was enough room for us and our luggage. Sink area was small and not private (outside the shower/bath door). Coffee pot in room. Friendly staff. I would for sure stay here again. I love this west-side midtown Manhattan location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It is the Holiday Inn, so while it is not the most luxurious, it is a safe bet. The location was great. It is at 9th with MANY MANY restaurant's. It is also only five minutes from Central Park. Close to subway stops. Walkable to Times Square, etc. Very safe feeling.

The room was large for a NYC hotel. Clean. Spacious.

My only complaints would be that there was no safe in the room, the concierge guys were useless and our heating did not work (but it is May so not a problem).

Overall, you'll be just fine if you are like us and just need a place to crash at night and spend your time wandering the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After a frustrating experience on the subway it was a relief to get to the hotel. A quick check in service and we were off to our room. It was spacious, very clean and we were up very high which gave a lovely view of the city. We had a queen sized bed with all the amenities and we got it on an offer which made the stay better. After getting used to the subway and getting a hold of a map we realized we were pretty much close to everything, and it wasn't far to travel to all the touristic hot spots and was easy to get around. However, we were quite unimpressed that we had to pay for our breakfast separately, but no worries there's always a diner and somewhere to catch breakfast in NYC for cheaps!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andita88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was not my first choice of hotel on my recent visit to New York, it did turn out to be a bit of a surprise. The location is very good near the Theatre and Hells Kitchen District, also 3 blocks away from Central Park and 10 to 15 mins walk from Times Square.
From the outside the building looks very modern, alas the inside is not so. Was given a room in the North Tower on the 17th floor, one from the very top. Firstly the room was large was is not the norm in New York, there was a good view of the Hells Kitchen District and the Hudson River. The room itself looks very tired, curtains and netting have seen better days, same can be said about the carpet and other fittings, I believe there is an ongoing refurbishment programme going on, well Holiday Inn get the money out and get on with it. I didn't find the room dirty. it was serviced everyday. Didn't use the restaurant but did use the gym in the basement, the gym is not very big but it did have lots of free weights and it is free, so a plus point here. Would I stay here again, yes for the price, location and gym, but please Holiday Inn brighten the place up and refurb it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SittingbourneOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,785 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,973 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing