We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & Good Value”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel in November. I would have given it 5 stars but prefer to be closer to Times Square so it's location just wasn't quite central enough for me. The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made etc. breakfast is available downstairs in the cafe for $13 and the bar in the front was friendly and not too pricey ($7 a cocktail). Would recommend for anyone who wants to be near the park (only 2 blocks away), or doesn't mind a walk into town. The subway is only 2 blocks away also.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank EssexJo_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear EssexJo_anne,

Thank you very much for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,346)
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 4,346 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Old & outdated. Maybe it was the design but the carpet in the lobby was dirty. Elevators are clearly from the 50's. They renovated but hard to believe! Good thing they only provide a sheet on the bed because the room averaged a temperature of 80. It's December and we slept with the windows opened. The lounge... Overpriced for the quality! Parking at $27.00 a day.... A lie. Buffet breakfast... At 10 am nothing left. A $15 cab ride to midtown attractions each way. Consider spending that money towards a better hotel. $12.95 entertainment fee for internet service that didn't work. A total disappointment. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear SparBoys,

Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know we are still renovating our guest rooms; only one of the two towers is completed, and we expect new lobby carpeting to be completed by June. The heating unit in your room can be controlled and turned off completely if desired, we also offer fans upon request. In terms of parking, they charge per 24 hours starting from when you pull in and if it goes over that 24 hours it is an additional charge ($27 for a standard vehicle, $42 for a van or SUV); your ticket must be validated at the front desk in order to receive these rates. I will be sending all of your comments to upper management for further investigation. Our apologies again for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a nice value based on location and room size (paid about 200/night for weekend). Subways, restaurants and stores are all around and you can easily walk to Times Square,etc. I was in an updated room which was tasteful enough. The rooms are not super romantic, but are fine. Parking is also very reasonable for Manhattan. My only complaint is that beds are average at best. I like soft pillow top mattresses and these were firm/blah mattresses. Also the walls are pretty thin so don't forget your earplugs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chachakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear chachakaboom,

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you were able to walk to all of your desired attractions and enjoyed our rooms. However, we're sorry to hear you did not find the bed comfortable and experienced noise issues. We will send these comments to upper management for possible improvements. Thank you very much for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Over all a good place to stay in a city like New York, quite freezable to roam around the city & has a good connectivity from JFK airport. We have book a shuttle service from CO Airport to JFK Airport service was perfect & we reached the hotel on correct time.

Pickup staff was very helpful as we were having loads of luggage to carry while going back to India.

Started off with the breakfast (Nothing much to eat) but was adequately ok. Roams were neat & tidy so no complains about the room. Hotel receptionist assisted us about the city tour & was one of the best ways to explore the city. We had our meal at times Square coz there was many option available with multi cuisine restaurants.

After returning back from a long city tour we returned back to the hotel, for dinner service & assistance was worth appreciating. The best was the help desk staff who were with us all the time & we got a wakeup call which was perfectly on time.

The only complain I have is about the view from the room – the hotel is location is close to all other building which makes it a bit clumsy.

But recommended for the people who consider budget in their mind in a expensive city like NY.

Room Tip: Needs improvement on breakfast items
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauljTavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Javed S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location, and your overall time in NYC. It's great to hear our staff was accomodating throughout your stay and helped with all of your inquiries; your commens will be passed to all personnel who will be happy to see their hard work pays off! We hope you will stay with us again, and feel free to call us prior to arriving to request a room with a better view! We always try our best to accomodate all requests. Again thank you for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Holiday Inn and it was superb. Check in was simple and the receptionist friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The beds were large and comfortable. Every member of staff we spoke to went out of their way to help us in any way, giving us more time to explore the vibrant city on the doorstep. The choice in the restaurant was varied and we enjoyed the food and the service there. It was so easy to get to the peace of Central Park, the shops on 5th Avenue and the bustle of Broadway. It couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear 122david,

Thank you for your positive review about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and received excellent customer service from our staff; something we take great pride in. We are glad you enjoyed your NYC vacation and hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a decent hotel in a great location. It is clean and comfortable, although it feels a little tired in the rooms. We had a real challenge with the elevators in the morning - just not enough at 8;30 AM. My room was too hot, but another guest with our group had no heat. Go figure. Very convenient and very cost-effective for Manhattan.

Room Tip: Higher up will be quieter, but be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get to the lobby.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Merle A,

Thank you for your review. We apologize about the elevators not functioning properly; please know I will be passing your comments to the Engineering Chief for further investigation. In regards to the heat in your room, you are able to adjust the settings on your unit and turn it off completely if desired. Otherwise we do have fans availale upon request if the room is too hot. We are also currently renovating all of our guest rooms, which includes brand new furnishings, carpeting, wallpaper and more. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future to see all of our improvements! Again we apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
2,538 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#342 of 468 in New York City
6,151 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 468 in New York City
6,443 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £115 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing