We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel conveniently situated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watson Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel conveniently situated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I took ground transportation from JFK and was dropped at hotel door Cost was only $18. It was a shared minibus and it dropped a couple of others off at other hotels but I was in no hurry so it didn't matter. Pleased with size of room. Was quiet and clean. I am an older female and felt quite safe walking to Times Square and around on my own at night. Didn't have breakfast in hotel as there are some good restaurants nearby which are cheaper. A good area to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terriertam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear terrlertam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the plesaure of hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Servie Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    1,782
    1,122
    344
    236
See reviews for
1,383
985
219
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A colleague and I stayed here overnight during the busiest time of the year in Midtown (in fact, the very night that the Xmas Tree was lit at Rockefeller Center, a short walk away). Considering time of year and the fact that most midtown hotels were quoting $350-$450 for similar accommodations, I thought $238/night was a bargain. The location is steps away from Columbus Circle and the various subway lines converging there, Central Park, Lincoln Center, and of course a very short walk to everything in midtown. Also steps away is Hell's Kitchen, meaning there are dozens of reasonably priced restaurants within a 10 to 15 minute walk.

Let's be clear: This is a 1960s building with older HVAC and elevator equipment, so it's not going to meet the expectations of someone who expects things to seem "perfect" and "new." A hotel of this type maintains a low room rate by keep the annual capital investment under control. However, our sleeping rooms, on the 17th floor, were very clean and had new and tasteful furnishings and decor. The bathroom was small (like every hotel bathroom in Manhattan) but clean and in good shape. There is a shared balcony for rooms at this level, but we didn't use it, and keep our doors locked. This location tends to be a lot quieter than the immediate Times Square area.

Finally, the staff we encountered were all helpful and friendly, including check-in, baggage check, housekeeping and the doorman. I had no issues getting a Yellow Cab, but of course walked to the main traffic on 9th or 10th to get one in the proper uptown or downtown direction. (Newbies try to catch cabs on crosstown Streets and later complain about it.)

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a higher floor to avoid street level noise (which is moderate for 57th & 9t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retro1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear retro1959,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel in November. I would have given it 5 stars but prefer to be closer to Times Square so it's location just wasn't quite central enough for me. The rooms were cleaned daily and beds made etc. breakfast is available downstairs in the cafe for $13 and the bar in the front was friendly and not too pricey ($7 a cocktail). Would recommend for anyone who wants to be near the park (only 2 blocks away), or doesn't mind a walk into town. The subway is only 2 blocks away also.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EssexJo_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear EssexJo_anne,

Thank you very much for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Old & outdated. Maybe it was the design but the carpet in the lobby was dirty. Elevators are clearly from the 50's. They renovated but hard to believe! Good thing they only provide a sheet on the bed because the room averaged a temperature of 80. It's December and we slept with the windows opened. The lounge... Overpriced for the quality! Parking at $27.00 a day.... A lie. Buffet breakfast... At 10 am nothing left. A $15 cab ride to midtown attractions each way. Consider spending that money towards a better hotel. $12.95 entertainment fee for internet service that didn't work. A total disappointment. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear SparBoys,

Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know we are still renovating our guest rooms; only one of the two towers is completed, and we expect new lobby carpeting to be completed by June. The heating unit in your room can be controlled and turned off completely if desired, we also offer fans upon request. In terms of parking, they charge per 24 hours starting from when you pull in and if it goes over that 24 hours it is an additional charge ($27 for a standard vehicle, $42 for a van or SUV); your ticket must be validated at the front desk in order to receive these rates. I will be sending all of your comments to upper management for further investigation. Our apologies again for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a nice value based on location and room size (paid about 200/night for weekend). Subways, restaurants and stores are all around and you can easily walk to Times Square,etc. I was in an updated room which was tasteful enough. The rooms are not super romantic, but are fine. Parking is also very reasonable for Manhattan. My only complaint is that beds are average at best. I like soft pillow top mattresses and these were firm/blah mattresses. Also the walls are pretty thin so don't forget your earplugs!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chachakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear chachakaboom,

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you were able to walk to all of your desired attractions and enjoyed our rooms. However, we're sorry to hear you did not find the bed comfortable and experienced noise issues. We will send these comments to upper management for possible improvements. Thank you very much for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Over all a good place to stay in a city like New York, quite freezable to roam around the city & has a good connectivity from JFK airport. We have book a shuttle service from CO Airport to JFK Airport service was perfect & we reached the hotel on correct time.

Pickup staff was very helpful as we were having loads of luggage to carry while going back to India.

Started off with the breakfast (Nothing much to eat) but was adequately ok. Roams were neat & tidy so no complains about the room. Hotel receptionist assisted us about the city tour & was one of the best ways to explore the city. We had our meal at times Square coz there was many option available with multi cuisine restaurants.

After returning back from a long city tour we returned back to the hotel, for dinner service & assistance was worth appreciating. The best was the help desk staff who were with us all the time & we got a wakeup call which was perfectly on time.

The only complain I have is about the view from the room – the hotel is location is close to all other building which makes it a bit clumsy.

But recommended for the people who consider budget in their mind in a expensive city like NY.

Room Tip: Needs improvement on breakfast items
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauljTavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Javed S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location, and your overall time in NYC. It's great to hear our staff was accomodating throughout your stay and helped with all of your inquiries; your commens will be passed to all personnel who will be happy to see their hard work pays off! We hope you will stay with us again, and feel free to call us prior to arriving to request a room with a better view! We always try our best to accomodate all requests. Again thank you for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,651 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing