We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

great location for exploring the great city ! plus its a stones throw away from central park which you could spend a whole weekend exploring !

the hotel was clean and tidy the room had everything you world need for a good base!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dearly Aly127,

Thank you for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,859
    1,179
    370
    254
See reviews for
1,472
1,039
229
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We asked for a quiet room when we made the reservation months in advance. So we got the room next to the elevator. So noisy.
Wi-Fi barely worked.
Housekeeping was terrible: they just walked into our room when day when we were there and "dusted" in a way that knocked a pair of earring behind the furniture (we originally thought the earrings had been stolen).
It took valet parking 40 minutes to return our car to us.
The bar had both music and televisions blaring at once. One person worked there at a time when many guests filled it and wanted both food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JannaB

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am genuinely sorry for your experience and truly regret the impact it caused during your stay. I sincerely apologize we were not able to honor your request for a corner, quiet room upon arrival and for any inconvenience due to the noise. I have shared your comments regarding the Wi-Fi connection and we have our technicians working on this matter to immediately correct the speed/connection to pick up an overall excellent signal throughout the entire hotel. I sincerely apologize for the service with housekeeping and have shared your comments with the Director of Housekeeping to investigate the incident to be able to immediately correct any problem areas. In addition, we sincerely apologize for the duration of the parking area and have shared your comments to improve in efficiency. The Food and Beverage Director was informed of the lobby bar area in regards to the TV, music playing noise level along with any shortage of staff to further review and take action in any areas needed for improvement. Once again our sincere apologies your stay was less than pleasant and we hope to see you in the near future to show our improvements.

Sincerely Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 with a friend on our first trip to NYC. We did mainly book this hotel for a price as we were just looking for a base really as you don't spend much time in the room so we weren't expecting anything amazing.

Yes the hotel could probably do with a bit of a make over but it does the job!

I found the room very nice & spacious & the beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! Although we were very tired I think with these beds & pillows it was probably the best 4 nights sleep I've had! I did not want to get out! I don't think we heard any noise from our room of a night time either which was lovely!

All the staff were very friendly and more than happy to help with anything!

For the location of the hotel it really is a bargain. It's very central to everything and you can easily walk to different places.

We did eat at the hotel bar one night & the food was very good value for money & you got a lot of it & was very lovely.

Also if you are staying here on the same road there is Brooklyn Diner, I would recommend you definitely eat here!! We went in thinking it was going to be a cheesy American diner, however it wasn't but we still decided to stay and eat. I'm glad we did to as it was probably the best burger I have ever eaten!! To this day we still talk about how amazing the burger was! I'm so gutted it was our last day otherwise we would have definitely gone in more!

When I come back to NYC I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sophie F,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and nearby attractions. We hope to have you as our guest again soon the next time you're in NYC!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was nice, staff was friendly, closed to restaurants, two blocks away from metro station.
Room was comfortable, their one was problem the person cleaning the room did a terrible job in the bathroom by the toilet. Other than that room was nice.

Was there for one night with a group of 16 got 4 rooms and they were comfortable.

Room Tip: Got room on the 3rd floor 331 it was a big room, plenty of room and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA2012LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Maria2012LosAngeles

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experience, it is really wonderful to hear that your stay was nice. Thank you for sharing our staff is friendly, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize about the bathroom cleanliness and have shared your comments with the Director of Housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown.

Sincerely Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Happy to say this was my first time in the big apple in years but again not disappoint inthe hotel food and so close to shops and the staff was delightful and so willing to help us on our way for our day on the town we are sooooo happy we went and will say go back again soon

Room Tip: Just ask and they will give you the best tbey have although it's a great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megcross1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Megcross1921,

Thank you very much for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in NYC and your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is nice enough and clean enough. Elevators are slow at times. I have stayed here at least three times. I always look for another place . However you cant beat the location. You are walking distance to Columbus circle, Central Park, 5th avenue, Lincoln center and the list goes on. If they spruced the place up a bit it would help especially the bathrooms but then the price might go up as well.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyb329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear cathyb329,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to have you as a returning guest, and truly appreciate your patronage and feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

In the world of NYC hotels there are tons of choices and this one is not for the luxury minded. It's average at best and best suited for a quick weekend in town. Location is fine but it is on the west side so a little shadier then other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear robert R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to know that you liked the location of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you to serve you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
2,515 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#265 of 467 in New York City
141 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
6,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,312 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing