We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and a great location to get around Midtown Manhattan”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and a great location to get around Midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Check in was a breeze, as well as check out, our room was very clean with all the neccassary and expected amenities,the enitre staff, as well as the housekeeping staff was very friendly and very helpful. I've spent 3 nights here on 2 seperate occasions and there were no issues. I've stayed at the more up scale pricer hotels down the street and for the value this hotel is more accomadating and more prefered. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a reasonaable value, clean, friendly and conveniently located for getting around NYC..Please keep up the great work guys.. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear caport1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy to hear you continuously enjoy your stay with us, and truly appreciate your patronage. Your comments will be passed to all personnel, and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    1,809
    1,144
    354
    238
See reviews for
1,408
1,004
227
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was in NYC for a wedding and got a deal on this hotel with my corporate rate. Spent 7 days at this hotel. I was in one of the renovated rooms and it was pretty good. Very big room with two double beds. Had no issues. The room was clean. Housekeeping was very nice. The location is amazing as it's a good base to travel to other parts of the city (depending on where you want to go). The hotel gym, which is privately owned, is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Sean_World,
Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving such a positive review about Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street. It is great to hear that the location of the hotel was very convenient and the Underground Fitness Center made a difference in your stay. Thank you again for mentioning that Housekeeping Department impacted your impression of the hotel in a good light.
At this point the Hotel is completely renovated and we are looking forward to accommodating your future traveling needs.
Sincerely,
Julia Kondratenya
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This location was comfortable and convenient. We were scheduled to cruise the next day so it turned out to be a great choice. The room was clean and much larger than those closer to Times Square and Radio City. Sleep quality, bed comfort and amenities were on point....no complaints.

Unfortunately, I was not recognized as a Platinum member and had to mention my status and ask for an upgrade. The initial counter person said there were none; however, when we finally checked in, the second counter person obliged. There is a holding area for your luggage for a small fee (tip). There is also a full-service restaurant and bar. As an IHG member, I was given the choice of a free drink, 500 points or something else....of course, I chose the points. After all, I used 35,000 points for my stay.

In my opinion, you CANNOT walk to Pier 88. No way, no how. The cab for two cost about $6-8.
I would definitely refer family and friends and stay at this HI again but next time, I'll lower my music so the staff won't have to knock on my door to ask me. OOOPS, sorry. Lol

Room Tip: Don't play your music too loud or someone will come knocking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeeshia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Meeeshia,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We thank you for being an IHG Platinum Member and for using your IHG points at our property. We apologize for not being recognized as a member initially but it great to hear once your checked in we gave you the Platinum treatment. We glad to hear that our location and amenities was perfect for you. We hope you had a great cruise vacation and the next time you visit New York you can chose us as your lodging destination.
Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel room was mediocre but staff and concierge were very nice. The hotel had breakfast in the morning that was $13 for buffet. Cocktails at the hotel bar were $12 per drink. I chose this hotel because it was reasonable walking distance to the Theater District (.5 mile), Times Square and the Today Show (2 miles). It is easy to get anywhere on foot in Lower Manhattan from this hotel and the time flies when you are sightseeing.

There is parking right at the hotel. The hotel is pricey but totally worth it for the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen9454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Colleen9454,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you chose our hotel for its convenient location to several Manhattan attractions. It is hugely motivating that you took the time to acknowledge the efforts of our staff. They will surely be delighted to hear about your kind words. As our valued guest, we appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I chose this hotel not only for price but for location, very good for Central Park and Midtown, bit of a hike or subway to lower Manhattan. Rooms were very good nice big beds and big enough bathroom all staff members I dealt with were all very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: he hotel is in a quiet area of NYC so most rooms above a few floors should be fine, AC was ok too no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gxcinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Gxcinoz,

Thank you very much for your kind review about Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street. We are very pleased that the location of the hotel and the rooms were to your liking. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service to our guests, and it is very rewarding to hear that you have noticed the staff being polite and helpful.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. And we are looking forward to accommodating your future needs.

Sincerely,

Julia Kondratenya
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So many hotels in New York have self-catering rooms or require one to go out to find breakfast that we chose this one on the basis that breakfast could be included.

Our room was very good and spacious but the air-con was so noisy we had to switch it off.

The breakfast buffet was adequate although it was possible to order specific dishes if preferred.

The location was very convenient for the Met and for the Columbus Circle Subway station which gave good access to all the touristy lines we needed.

We would use the same hotel on a future visit to New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Pseudonymity (London),
Thank you very much for your review about the stay at the Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street. That’s the best reward for us to hear that you are willing to return to the hotel in your future visits. We are proud of the central location of the hotel and the rooms are being one of the most spacious in the city. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced due to the AC issue. The feedback we receive form our valued guests enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Julia Kondratenya
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is a bit dated but has very friendly staff who always willing to help. Bathroom shelving could be I bit bigger but saying that all the necessities are replaced everyday if you have used them. Nice to have a coffee machine in the room as a lot of American Hotels do not offer this.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the lift shafts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Linda173clive,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant experience at our property, and received good customer service, as it is something we take great pride in. We hope you will return as our guest again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,772 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,967 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing