We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location + Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location + Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has everything you would want if you want to relax. The rooftop pool is virtually unique is NYC. The General Manager - Mr Cecala is typically hands on and makes you very welcome and your experience of the hotel very personal. The Bar and Food prices very reasonable. Would stay here again and have booked already!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Ray M

Thank you for sharing your Great experience at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the roof top and got to meet our General Manager Mr. Cecala. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed your stay and have already booked a return visit. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    1,782
    1,123
    344
    236
See reviews for
1,383
985
220
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is hands down my least favourite holiday inn I have stopped in.

Good points
The bedroom.. This is nice and upto date beds comfortable so can't really grumble with the bedroom.

Location is good a few avenues and streets from times square.

Bad points
Bathroom... In need of a total revamp so dated it's unbelievable, we your having a shower you can see all the dust gathering on the water edge. Not to good... wall paper and the bath quality is dated.

Ice machine outside our room... We stopped in room 519, we unfortunately had the ice machine which randomly dropped ice every 10 minutes or so or if anyone needed ice you had the noise of stuff being dropped on hollow plastic. Sleep quality cause of this is a massive blow.

Lack of loungers by the pool... This isn't to much of issue but a highlighter for staff. There were too many seats reserved for members hotel guests were having to sit u near the bar there were probably 10 or so not being used but a sign saying reserved for hotel gym members or along them lines.

I'm sure if the ice machine was away from the room or if the hotel invested in a quieter model this would be a three star you do lose your sleep which is a shame for what you pay.

I'd recommend visitors to possibly look at alternatives at a similar price then make your mind up..

Also I'm not just one of these moaners I'm genuinely saying it how it was.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mattcooper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mattcooper91,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Room was pretty big compared to other NYC hotels. There were 4 in our group, wife and 2 teenagers and we had plenty of space. Price was decent. Location is great. Lots of restaurants nearby. Subway station nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in the South Tower on the 3rd floor. Pretty quiet. Roof top pool is in the South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Tony S

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience at the Holiday Inn Midtown. We are happy to hear you and your family had a comfortable say due to our spacious rooms. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

the room was clean and comfy, staff friendly and helpful, under construction outside, but no real problem, great location , our room was ok, but signs of tiredness throughout hotel. lots of close eatries,`nearby

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spirited74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear spirited74

Thank you for taking the time to share our staff friendliness and comfortable rooms at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort with the signage posted at our property.

Sincerely
Senior Guest Service Manger Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally place just far enough from the main tourist hot spots. It is a little dark when you approach it from the east late at nigh and I would suggest. It is very clean and tidy although I was a little dissatisfied that attitude of the staff called "Vadda" very little customer care when I checked in. I asked for and got a late check out at 1am so it gave me some time to do some more site seeing before heading back to the airport. From all the chatter in the lift the hotel pool is a marvel. Rooms very big with excellent wi-fi. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Paul R

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's great to know you enjoyed your overall stay. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction of one of our team members upon check-in. Your comment were shared with our team in order to avoid a similar experience. It's great to know you would definitely stay with us again and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is located in a very convenient area that is a nice walk to central park, and about a 20 min walk to Times Sq. It is also located close to Columbus Circle for easy access to rest of NY. There is a concierge on duty to assist with show tickets and tours, etc. I enjoyed the rooftop pool and the breakfast buffet (not included in price). The only bad thing I can say is that it is expensive for what you get (but I guess that's a given in NYC) and the elevators were really wonky (sometimes stopping on every.single.floor for no reason)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aagha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear aagha

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It's great to hear you enjoyed our roof top pool and location! We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a very good, excellent location, just a couple of blocks from Columbus Circle, where several metro lines stop. Central Park is very accessible from the hotel, and over 9th avenue there are countless options for dinner, also just a couple of blocks away from the hotel.
The facilities are modern, clean, tidy and nice. Our room (932) was very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was always kept clean. Hotel staff was very kind, and they complied with all of our requests. After midnight, it’s mandatory to show your room key in order to enter, which by the way is a very good idea. The hotel has a restaurant, with very good prices, food is not extraordinary (hamburgers and some simple dishes and desserts) but we really liked it, and it was a very nice option when you’ve been out all day and you don’t want to go out to have dinner. I recommend ordering a hamburger. The restaurant is open until 23:00.
The hotel has free Wi-Fi, which is very important; today many, many hotels charge an extra for this. The room had a nice coffee brewer and courtesy coffee packs were always replenished. Rooms do not offer a minibar.
In short, this hotel is affordable and you won’t regret booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson_Pirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Nelson_Pirolo

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our modern room, restaurant, free wifi and friendly staff service. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing