We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & great location”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
ThatdudeinHouston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value & great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

One of the lower priced large chain hotels in Manhattan its priced right for what it is...an older hotel. Decor is dated and bathrooms could be cleaner but it what it is.

We (family - 2 adults 2 kids) stayed there five nights in July 201 and when we had issue the staff took care of it right away including changing the filter on the AC, getting more towels, etc.

The location is a real plus. Only a couple of blocks from Central Park and a major subway station. There is a Wallgreens and CVS just a few blocks away. Walk 4 or 5 blocks South and you're in Hells Kitchen with lots of reasonable places to eat.

Only complaints:

There is no laundry facility on site. There are a couple places about 4 to 6 blocks away but they don't stay open late.

The rooftop pool, which is a real plus for this place (its cool), closes at 6pm. What? Yea, 6pm. By the time you get in from site seeing. Its closed. Such a shame especially in summer when its light till 9. Come on guys keep that pool open!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatdudeinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ThatdudeinHouston,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are glad to read your positive comments with our location. It is our goal to provide great hotel experiences and we apologize for the inconvenience the condition of our facilities have caused you. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed so we can take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another chance to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    1,847
    1,171
    365
    244
See reviews for
1,454
1,031
229
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Well positioned, tourist hotel. On checking-in I thought this was a dud … too busy, faded-jaded decor and musty hallways … and then I entered the room which was very well appointed. The staff were great and the wifi swift. The location was perfect for the meetings that I had and quality restaurants were within walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: There are two wings but either are ok. Airport is a reasonable distance but then again not too bad i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Ardeecee

Thank you for sharing your feed back. I sincerely apologize for the delay upon check-in. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. I sincerely apologize for the appearance of our hallways and for any level of disappointment. Your comments have been shared with our executive office. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Director of Housekeeping Seka Tahirovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Allotted ordinary room inspite of booking the extra large bed and when talked about it they said it was standard rooms in their records so they would not trust my printed document more than their records. They did change the room the next day after being on their neck for almost 6 hours. They did everything to shirk the responsibility.
The breakfast and the ambience were pretty ordinary.
Rather old and dilapidated
No sense of responsibility
Neither the room nor the staff exude any warmth
noisy
Not the best hotel for the people accustomed to the Indian and /or the Australian hotels' hospitality, possibly not the ideal place for international travellers
The only tick is the location but more than cancelled by everything else
Room service rather poor
Waste of money
I am rather surprised to see the ratings received by it so far'
The IHG rewards again eluded us .
Extremely poor!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RupeshKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear RupeshKG

I sincerely apologize your stay was less than pleasant with us. I have sent you a private message due to the high impact of your experience. Your feedback is important to us and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and will like the opportunity to review your details and genuinely restore the faith in our brand.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Yorkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

excellent location, room was large and very clean, the house keeping staff did an excellent job.
The hotel is dated as has been mentioned, but in NY you dont spend a lot of time there. The pool was very nice, but again there is so much to do round about we didn't use it as much as we thought. The hotel is a gentle 5 minute stroll from Central Park. Breakfast was good value if included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyYorkshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear tobyYorkshireEngland

Thank you for sharing what an Excellent job our housekeeping does at the Holiday Inn Midtown. We are happy to hear you had an overall pleasant stay with us and very happy with our cleanliness. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this location 7/9 - 7/17 and I can say it was one of my better experiences. The room was a great size for Manhattan standards and recently renovated. We stayed on the 16th floor in the main building. The hallways appear dated but the room was a pleasant surprise. Cleaning staff is very attentive and eager to meet your needs. Prior to our staying, I read reviews recommending earplugs for noise but I never used mine. The one negative is there is no laundry facility on site so you have to haul your laundry to a laundromat a couple blocks away. Access to subway system is fairly close @ 57th & 7th and also at 59th & Columbus Cir (Central Park). Definitely a steal for proximity to Central Park, Rockefeller Center and Times Square.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Stephanie A

Thank you for sharing your fantastic stay and pleasant experience with our staff service at the Holiday Inn Midtown. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte springs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed this past weekend w/ 4 girls in the hotel and had plenty of room & it was all fairly clean..we had the 2 double beds room - the biggest downside was the air conditioning was not cold and didn't blow very hard - we were very warm at night and it made it hard to get ready. The front desk & luggage/transportation people were all very helpful and friendly. The pool was cold and smaller than you expect, but it was very nice to have a rooftop pool in Manhattan in July - if they could only hire a new attendant at the pool that didn't call to verify your room names each time you went, that would be helpful....maybe using wristbands instead of a rude man would be better. We enjoyed our stay for the most part & got a great deal w/ the AAA Discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear MIKIEFORD

Thank you for sharing your overall Good experience with our accommodation and friendly staff service at the Holiday Inn Midtown. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience with our pool policy and pool attendant's approach, I have shared your comments with the executive office. In addition, I have shared your comments regarding the AC unit cooling system with our engineering team to ensure we can provide an overall more comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future to show you our improvements.
Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall for NYC- good location, good room size. pleasant service. decent restaurant and room service.. I would stay there again. very nice fitness room. the rooftop pool was pleasant, but closed at 6 pm so owner could make more money having private parties? really? cant a party start at 8 or 9? how much money is enough? too many signs...I get tired of being milked for every penny when I travel. sign to not put own drink on table in lobby. travelers pay enough

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niclond306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear niclond306

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with our staff pleasant service at the Holiday Inn Midtown. We are happy to hear overall all was great and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or level of disappointment with our pool hours or signage at the lobby. I have shared your comments with the executive office. We hope to see you again and provide an even more pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Service Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#263 of 467 in New York City
129 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#331 of 467 in New York City
6,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 467 in New York City
6,218 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing