We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn Midtown with my twin teens. The location for us was great as it was near Columbus Square, entrance to Central Park and around the corner from some great dining. We arrived early in the morning (9am) and were told we could not check in until 3pm as all rooms were still in use. A bit of a disappointment after waking up for a 6am flight but it's pretty standard with most hotels. Bell boy took our luggage and we decided to try the restaurant in the hotel. The option was buffet or order from menu. We decided to order from menu as I didn't want to pay $13 to eat unlimited eggs. As we waited for a really looooong time for a server to take our orders, we overheard the hostess that seats customers giving different prices for buffet. One family was quoted $11 another was quoted $16.75 and another $14. Sketchy!!!! Staff making money on the sly?? My other gripe with the restaurant was that an 18% tip was automatically added to my bill. Tip for what??? Making us wait 25 min to order then bringing food from the buffet 30 seconds later, barely warm! Then had to chase down server for coffee and then bill!! So never went back to dine there again. As for all other aspect of the hotel....really great!! Clean spacious rooms, quick and easy check in/out, great roof top pool with bar. We went when it was a heat wave so the pool was an added bonus with a pretty nice view. Planning a trip again in the fall and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Bellaandellie

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy to hear you will be returning this fall, we look forward to your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with our front desk team and the accommodation provided during your stay, it is always great to hear such positive feedback. I sincerely apologize for your less than pleasant experience with the restaurant and have shared your feedback with the Director of Food and Beverage. On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Midtown, we sincerely apologize and thank you for giving us another opportunity for your future stay. We look forward to providing you an overall pleasant experience in your future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    1,800
    1,133
    348
    236
See reviews for
1,399
996
225
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Comfortable, clean beds in a spacious room, small bathroom, but it has everything. Spacious lobby, elevators work, just a pleasant hotel experience in a quieter area of NYC. Slightly dated, could do with new carpets perhaps, that would allow trolley cases to run smoothly, but that is about the only complaint. Didn't use the pool, so no comment on that and paid for the room with airline miles, so hard to say what the price would have been in mid-August.... I can imagine it could be pretty steep. Easy access to Metro which is important. So for now, this would be my hotel of choice (within that budget range) for NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muse-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Muse-trips,
Thank you for so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that our rooms/ lobby are spacious and our location was superb. We are still in the last phases of our renovations and we hope the next time you visit us your experience will be even better then you last visit. Thank for choosing the Holiday Inn-Midtown 57st and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stay at many IHG hotels in NYC, and this has the largest rooms next to the Intercontinental. While the property is older, it is clean and well maintained. It is in a area where night sirens are little heard. Two blocks from the park and the subway. Many places to eat down on 9th ave.

Room Tip: Higher the better in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Kazoo_Bruce

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. Thank you for mentioning our large accommodations and overall cleanliness. Our property is completing the renovation project and we genuinely can't wait for your return visit to experience a more up to date property. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STONEY CREEK, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed 4 days in August. Hotel is conveniently located near Central Park and Colombus Circle. Although it is dated, it was clean. Not in bad shape at all. Room is small but to be expected. Bathroom not big, but when your in New York your not in your room much. Sleep, shower and go sightseeing. The pool was nice, but lots of kids. WiFi worked great. Valet Parking no issues; and I had free parking passes in my welcome package.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Vince B,
Thank you for you great review on your stay at the Holiday Inn-Midtown 57st. We are delighted to here that our location, rooms, Wi-Fi services and valet parking was up to par with what you expect at a New York city property. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Because of the ludicrously advantageous location of this hotel, Holiday Inn had decided that it "Just. Doesn't. Care." So your room smells like smoke? (And you don't like that?) So what? So the pool hasn't been cleaned? (Deal with it. And watch your purse poolside.) Do you want an overpriced drink served by a smug robot bartender? Go to the bar (sucker!). You examine your sheets for evidence of previous guests, and sleep uneasily. If you have ever lacked evidence of a cold, indifferent corporate machine running the world, look no further: this sad, somewhat evil place exists. They want whatever is in your wallet. Run. Fast. (As my young daughter (10) has said countless times as we have since traveled, "That was the worst hotel, ever.")

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Barracoon

I sincerely apologize for your less than pleasant experience with us. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Director due to any room odor as described. We are a non smoking facility and regret any impact the accommodation provided may have caused due to smoke odor. Our pool is frequently checked by our staff and I will immediately share your concerns and comments with our Director of Engineering to properly investigate the pool area cleanliness. We take your comments very seriously and sincerely apologize for your discomfort with our property.

Sincerely,
Senior Guest Services Manager Janette Webb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and management is making improvements with new carpet in registration area/main floor. Rooms are clean and seem to have updated carpet/bath tile/glazing. Hallways did need vacuuming and room service trays were left standing from the time I arrived in late evening until mid morning. Free USA today was nice!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheMoveMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Onthemovemn,
Thank you for taking you time in writing your review on you stay at our property. As you are aware we are still in the process of renovations. We are glad you got to stay in our new renovated room. We will be sure to pass your kind words to our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place is OK. Good location, OK room, nothing to complain about. Staff at reception is very helpful. However I found it incredible expensive at over 1000 USD for 3 nights. Breakfast should be included but it wasn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear TravelTigers

Thank you for sharing your review and for complimenting our staff being helpful. We appreciate your comments and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely apologize the value was considered expensive. We genuinely will like for you to visit us again, please check our promotions and best price packages including breakfast, we just know you will find a great value deal package at our property and we genuinely hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#335 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,868 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing