We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, no disappointments”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, no disappointments”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from spending 4 days with the family at HI on 57th. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated and attention to details are lacking but overall the facility is clean and the staff are friendly. The rooms are reasonably large, priced right for good value in NYC and the location is within close walking distance to many popular attractions. Simple suggestions for improvement.... HI has a rare commodity in NYC...a rooftop pool on one side and a nice seating area on the other.....but both closed at 6pm!? Please keep it open longer (9-10pm) or change the operating hours for families to enjoy after a long day of sightseeing.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate returning again and will likely do so in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dually11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Dually11,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the facilities operational hours. We will look into this suggestion. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    1,832
    1,160
    360
    243
See reviews for
1,430
1,026
228
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

In addition to its great location, clean and comfortable rooms, and especially friendly and helpful staff, this Holiday Inn is always improving. My wife and I stay here twice a year and each time there is something new to report. This time (August 2014) all the carpets in the public areas on the ground floor have been replaced, and room safes have been installed in the rooms in the South (B) Tower. I was told by the staff that room safes would be installed in the North Tower rooms possibly as sooin as the end of this year.

Room Tip: Many of the corner rooms have king size beds and seem to be a little larger than the other rooms, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear palekh

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. I am so happy to hear you and your wife always enjoy your stay with us at least twice a year. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share our constant improvements and cant wait to show you our overall renovation progress including safes in our rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we cant wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here one night and overall it was a good stay. Check in was fast even though they were a bit short staffed. All the staff were very polite and helpful, especially the woman running the concierge desk. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We were in the South Tower and found it very quiet for sleeping. We did notice the slight musty smell in some hallways that has been mentioned in other reviews. I have smelled it before, and I would call it “Au de pool”. Worth putting up with if you are looking for one of the few places in the city that have a pool in a reasonably priced hotel. The décor is a bit dated, but if you call it “Retro” you’re good! The only drawback with the room was the loud toilet. When you flushed, it sounded like a jet taking off. We had lunch in the on-site restaurant. I would have to say it was OK, but not much more than that. Our own fault. Why would you eat at the hotel with all the wonderful places around in New York???????? Location was good if you don’t mind a bit of walking to get to where the action is. But if you do mind walking ,there are couple of subway stations close by, so you are covered. We didn’t go there, but the on-site bar looked inviting for a night cap. We are putting this on our list of places to stay again.

Room Tip: South tower was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compuwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Compuwriter,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that our staff and location was very accommodating towards you and that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the bathroom noise in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guest enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope the next time you visit NYC we will look forward to accommodating you.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family stayed here during high season. We were very pleased with the friendly staff. The rooms were clean and smelled good. We enjoyed breakfast in the mornings - kids eat free, which was great.

The pool closes early, but we planned around that. It was so hot when we were there, and it was nice to cool down mid-afternoon.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in B tower, so if you want easy access to the pool, ask for B tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Valerie s,
Thank you for taking your time to post this review on our property. We are delighted that your family enjoyed our pleasant staff and your rooms were clean and had a refreshing smell. We hope the next time you are visiting New York City you will give us a visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 days at the Holiday Inn Midtown with my twin teens. The location for us was great as it was near Columbus Square, entrance to Central Park and around the corner from some great dining. We arrived early in the morning (9am) and were told we could not check in until 3pm as all rooms were still in use. A bit of a disappointment after waking up for a 6am flight but it's pretty standard with most hotels. Bell boy took our luggage and we decided to try the restaurant in the hotel. The option was buffet or order from menu. We decided to order from menu as I didn't want to pay $13 to eat unlimited eggs. As we waited for a really looooong time for a server to take our orders, we overheard the hostess that seats customers giving different prices for buffet. One family was quoted $11 another was quoted $16.75 and another $14. Sketchy!!!! Staff making money on the sly?? My other gripe with the restaurant was that an 18% tip was automatically added to my bill. Tip for what??? Making us wait 25 min to order then bringing food from the buffet 30 seconds later, barely warm! Then had to chase down server for coffee and then bill!! So never went back to dine there again. As for all other aspect of the hotel....really great!! Clean spacious rooms, quick and easy check in/out, great roof top pool with bar. We went when it was a heat wave so the pool was an added bonus with a pretty nice view. Planning a trip again in the fall and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Bellaandellie

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy to hear you will be returning this fall, we look forward to your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with our front desk team and the accommodation provided during your stay, it is always great to hear such positive feedback. I sincerely apologize for your less than pleasant experience with the restaurant and have shared your feedback with the Director of Food and Beverage. On behalf of the staff and management of the Holiday Inn Midtown, we sincerely apologize and thank you for giving us another opportunity for your future stay. We look forward to providing you an overall pleasant experience in your future stay with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Comfortable, clean beds in a spacious room, small bathroom, but it has everything. Spacious lobby, elevators work, just a pleasant hotel experience in a quieter area of NYC. Slightly dated, could do with new carpets perhaps, that would allow trolley cases to run smoothly, but that is about the only complaint. Didn't use the pool, so no comment on that and paid for the room with airline miles, so hard to say what the price would have been in mid-August.... I can imagine it could be pretty steep. Easy access to Metro which is important. So for now, this would be my hotel of choice (within that budget range) for NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muse-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Muse-trips,
Thank you for so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that our rooms/ lobby are spacious and our location was superb. We are still in the last phases of our renovations and we hope the next time you visit us your experience will be even better then you last visit. Thank for choosing the Holiday Inn-Midtown 57st and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Melendez
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stay at many IHG hotels in NYC, and this has the largest rooms next to the Intercontinental. While the property is older, it is clean and well maintained. It is in a area where night sirens are little heard. Two blocks from the park and the subway. Many places to eat down on 9th ave.

Room Tip: Higher the better in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Kazoo_Bruce

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Midtown. Thank you for mentioning our large accommodations and overall cleanliness. Our property is completing the renovation project and we genuinely can't wait for your return visit to experience a more up to date property. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Front Services Manager Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
2,476 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#296 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 468 in New York City
5,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 468 in New York City
6,113 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,994 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing