We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skyline Hotel”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #276 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skyline Hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at this property- the location to Times Square and restaurant is fantastic. Pretty much everything is within walking distance.
I had a room with two double beds (travelling solo), the room was neat & clean. No issues with the room at all.
However, I did find the (mature aged) lady at the desk unfriendly on check in and almost rude upon checkout. The bellhops never asked if I wanted assistance with my luggage (I had two heavy suitcases) but they were happy to charge me $2 to store my luggage for the afternoon upon checkout. Couldn't believe I had to pay for wifi!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sheln81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your nice rating of our hotel. I am sorry that the guest service agent did not provide a friendly and warm level of service to you. This is certainly an opportunity to point out her faliure to make your stay perfect.

I am happy to announce that as of January 1 , we will be providing free internet service to our guest.

I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again, best wishes, Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    1,179
    511
    155
    83
See reviews for
902
620
90
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed at The Skyline for two nights either side of a tour of America and Canada. Our room was very spacious with two lovely comfortable beds but were not impressed with anything else. It was a shame that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room and an additional cost for wifi.We needed to check-in and print our boarding passes for our return flight home and the hotel did not provide a free facility for this which we expected in a four star hotel.We inserted our credit card into the public computer in the reception area but after going through the check-in procedure the computer froze, the receptionist said that the computers belonged to an outside company and they could not refund our money. We were told that if we bought a drink in the bar they would give us the wifi code and we could use our I Pad and they would print our boarding passes for us - the whole procedure was ridiculous!
The hotel is not too far from Time Square but the surrounding area is quite run down and there was a lot of noise from workmen outside repairing the pavements and road.
If we return to New York we would not stay at The Skyline again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very good hotel ,in good location for walking to Times Square ,rooms kept nice, bed very comfy,however would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms ,also the price to have wi fi is expensive ,also asked about going online to do boarding passes ,told would have to pay for this ,have stayed in other hotels and this has been free in the USA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel was spacious, clean and the staff friendly, but that is where the positives end. There was no free WiFi, despite it being promised by the travel agent and the cost to get on line was prohibitively expensive. No room service, speaks for itself. The attached restaurant was okay, but a poor choice and very expensive. A fridge in the room, but no facilities for a cup of tea or coffee. While Tenth Avenue was okay, all the adjoining streets and pavements are in poor condition and in many places dangerous. Finally, the hotel is out of the way and you will have to walk many blocks to get anywhere interesting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It was hard to find a place for 6 and this was on the oposite side of NY to where I normally stay but for the price and ability to house six we gave it a go. It had some issues with lift repairs but apart from that as a base it was awesome with more space than you see in NY. Including a rooftop heated indoor pool the kids loved. It was in good stricking distance to the main sites and metro. Only down side was the wifi was not free.

Room Tip: We where on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights in the Skyline and we were very satisfied with the hotel. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay - however, if you need a central location (10 mins walk to Times Square ) in a clean and comfortable environment, then this is the place for you. As our stay included a seperate tour outside NY, we stayed in two different rooms, both were spacious and the second room we were allocated had a great view of the NY skyline as we had previously requested.( thanks to Melissa on the front desk for this). We also found Larry the concierge very helpful.
The hotel has a pool and a restaurant ( which can be pricey) but as the hotel is situated in a district with plenty of delis and shops, there are other alternatives. Would recommend this hotel for its value for money and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0lly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights through a Virgin Holidays package.
Arrived at hotel early & straight off (without the Receptionist checking the system) we were told their was no rooms but that we could leave our bags. Fair enough we were early.
Our room was very big for Manhattan, had 2 doubles, a large vanity area with sink & big wardrobe with plenty room to move around the room. Our friends must have booked a different room as their room was tiny with 2 single beds!
Find it ridiculous that the hotel charge for wifi & that they charge you to leave bags if you have checked out but are not leaving the City until later. I have been to many different hotels & city's & never experienced this.
The pool was shut which wasn't an issue for us but I imagine some people would find this a problem.
Wouldn't stay here again but if you want a base close to Times Sq area it might be ok for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Front Office Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so sorry to hear that your experience with your stay was not to your liking, We do strive on excellent serivce and apologize that that is not what you recieved. We are in the process of having free Wi-Fi for our guests and hope that you will give our hotel another chance to show what we are made of.
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Regards
Michelle Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
4,210 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,024 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#256 of 468 in New York City
5,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 468 in New York City
5,902 reviews
Midtown
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#207 of 468 in New York City
5,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing