We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our sons 21st birthday celebrations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #286 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our sons 21st birthday celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We travelled to New York with our son and our friends with their son as both boys were celebrating their 21st birthdays. We booked through Thomas Cook and I must admit when we read the reviews afterwards we were a little worried. Well we shouldn't have worried at all the hotel was fantastic from the friendly girl on reception when we checked in to all the staff who were all chatty the whole time we were there. The bar is fantastic and the drink prices seemed to be on par with everywhere else in the city. It is very central so easy to walk to Times Square and the other main attractions. The rooms were large with massive comfortable beds, a fridge,iron,ironing board was also in the room.We intended to use the pool but ran out of time but again this was a fantastic added touch.....to the people who have moaned about the hotel what do you want......we saw people complaining about paying to leave their cases it's $1 per bag!!!!!!!! Also paying for wifi it's free in the bar !!!!!! Thank you skyline hotel we had a fantastic 5 day break and would defiantly return and will recommend to friends .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knockess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Just to think we added so much to a special visit to NYC !!!!!!!!
I am glad that we are in a small part to the future memories of your family.

All the best,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    1,147
    498
    153
    81
See reviews for
875
593
87
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived after a very early start in London UK, flight, two hours in an immigration que at JFK and then another 2 hour journey into New York on the "Supershuttle", very tired and a little grumpy to be met by a very disinterested receptionist. Luckily it got better from there, once I'd located the lift ( tucked away in the back, down a hallway ). Very spacious room, two large, comfortable beds, bar fridge and a good shower ( quite nice toiletries too ). Concierge very helpful ( and funny ). Being on 10th Avenue, the hotel is also quite handy to the Highline ( which starts on 34th and 10th ), the elevated railway line which is now a pedestrian walkway. Subway also only two blocks away on 8th Avenue. A 15 minute walk to Columbus Circle and the start of Central Park. A 15 minute walk to Times Square.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear tower section are furthest from busy 10 Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clova2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Sorry for the poor welcoming to the hotel, but it seems everything got a lot better during your stay. I am pleased that the hotel and area met you needs while visitng NYC.

Best regards ,

Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arrived to Halloween decorations and a suitably scary receptionist (Maria) who seemed more interested in dealing with telephone calls than with us. Then went to the room and thought it was in need of refurbishment. However... after that poor start everything got better. Room was a good size, kept very clean and having two beds was a real bonus. Shower was excellent and the rest of the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Swimming pool was a great way to start the day. Good views and well maintained.

You don't go to New York to hang around the hotel. For the price and location this was great. Not four star but you are not paying four star prices.

I know people have complained about being charged for leaving luggage on the last day but this was $1 per bag and they were securely kept in a locked room so thought this was ok. They also arranged a car to take us back to the airport at rates very similar to yellow cab.

Room Tip: It looks like rooms facing 10th Avenue will have a good skyline view. We were in the older part and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I am sorry we got you off to a slow start, but it seems we made up for it during your stay.
We appreciate all of your comments and will share them with everyone at the hotel.

Thank you again,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

For a central New York hotel, the Skyline was great value for money which is why we chose it. Compared to ibis and travel lodge hotels we have stayed at in large cities,this was great.The room was a decent size with two very comfortable double beds, good shower, bright bathroom and a view over the skyline. The staff were very helpful, particularly the concierge who gave us directions for getting to the airport by subway for less than a 10th of the price of a taxi. The room was warm even during chilly days in October, and with a busy street below, the window couldn't be left open overnight.
The pool was warm and clean with a great view. Again a great bonus for the price. If you want luxury, you need to pay for it elsewhere but if you want somewhere comfortable, clean and welcoming I would very much recommend a visit.
We walked to all the shopping districts. 10 minutes to Times Square, 20 to the Empire State Building and 5 to the ferry/ sightseeing boats. The subway was just 10 minutes walk too. There were lots of small delis in the area for getting breakfast. Hotel breakfast ok. Nice pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup but would recommend delis!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a city view. We slept with the curtains open so we could see the lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you back here soon.

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at Skyline Hotel in New York City. With low expectations because of the price, we were well-satisfied with a very nice experience at this hotel. The staff was super friendly. But our favorite person at the Skyline was the concierge, Larry. He was not only lively, informative and helpful, he got us enthused about the restaurant he was sending us to. Really one of the best concierge's I've ever encountered. Our room was huge and remodeled and very clean. It was also completely quiet which is a huge bonus while in noisy New York. The ONLY complaint I would have about the Skyline is the terrible breakfast. It did not come with our room, so we paid $20 each for food that was almost inedible and coffee that was lukewarm and scarce. Although we had never stayed in this part of town before (Hell's Kitchen) we found it to be very centrally located for the theater district, walking to Central Park, shopping on 5th Avenue and visiting museums. We would stay at the Skyline again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eighth floor where the rooms are remodeled and face away from tenth street whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Melling,
I was quite surprised to learn that you was disappointed with the response both from myself and maintence of your room issues. I apoligize if a came across disinterested in the issue of brown water in your tub. I remember listening to the issue and stated that I would have maintenance go up to the room inmediately. You did mention you were going out for a few minute and I promised to have this corrected or if need be, move your room. You did not mention any other problems when we met in my office.
Our Maintenance person said he meet you in the room and he corrected the problem and came back a little later to make sure it was ok. The problem was only in the tub, resulting from a rusted pipe in the room adjacent to yours. I do thank you for mentioning that the hasp lock was broken and the door where the refrigerator was located needed to be adjusted. The fan in the bathroom was working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A very tired hotel, with more things broken in the room than the things that worked (bathroom extractor fan not working, broken furnature, door security chain missing etc). Our stay was topped by running a bath only to have brown matter flowing into the tub from the tabs. We of course reported this to the general manager, who was particulary disinterested,. We were directed to his office when we asked for him, after getting no response to the brown sludge problem from the rest of the staff, the general manager sat behind his desk and barely looked up, sweeping our concern aside by saying he would get someone to look at it. New York was fantastic but I would avoid at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melling_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Melling,
I was quite surprised to learn that you was disappointed with the response both from myself and maintence of your room issues. I apoligize if a came across disinterested in the issue of brown water in your tub. I remember listening to the issue and stated that I would have maintenance go up to the room inmediately. You did mention you were going out for a few minute and I promised to have this corrected or if need be, move your room. You did not mention any other problems when we met in my office.
Our Maintenance person said he meet you in the room and he corrected the problem and came back a little later to make sure it was ok. The problem was only in the tub, resulting from a rusted pipe in the room adjacent to yours. I do thank you for mentioning that the hasp lock was broken and the door where the refrigerator was located needed to be adjusted. The fan in the bathroom was working.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool, lancashire, england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mix up with booking (not Hotel's fault) met with helpful response. Breakfast excellent (why do they only serve burnt streaky bacon?), but ate once for evening meal on night of arrival: limited menu choice, and horribly loud sports programme was inescapable - to be fair, it is a sports bar, but no need for the volume we had to endure. Fairly conveniently situated: if we were to go to NY again might look to be a little closer to Times Square or the Subway, but we knew the location before we went, so this is not a criticism. We are four pensioners, and found the daily walks to get to and from Subway, shops, attractions and eateries just a bit too much. Rooms very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and plenty big enough. All staff very helpful - special praise for Larry the Concierge who managed to be cheerful too - and were always ready to listen and to advise. If you want a kettle, ask at Reception, and they will get you one: simple as that! Take your own tea bags and coffee, though. For a really good latte (ask for cafe con leche) try the deli at the junction of 10th Ave and 50th Street, just across the road from the Hotel. Would probably not stay at Skyline again, but solely because of location being that little bit to far out for us. Otherwise, no real criticism. Hotel undergoing lift renovation programme, so slight inconvenience possible. Reception outdated but spacious and comfortable. I would advise asking Hotel to book you a transfer back to the airport: much cheaper than taxi. Might be worth seeing if they can book you a transfer on arrival, too.

Room Tip: We had sixth floor rooms overlooking 49th Street: no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We take full responsibilty for the problems in the resturant, eventhough we do not operate the service. I will speak to the operator to hopefully improve the faclity.
Your comments about the positive experience in the hotel is greatly appreciated and will be shared with all.
Thank you,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,328 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#325 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing