We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel rooms and such a peaceful place to stay!!”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #266 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the skyline for 7 nights first impression of the room we couldn't beleive the size of it, it was massive! Bed was so comfy had great nights sleep every time, rooms were always tidy and cleaned up staff really helpful and nice to deal with great service, I would definitely stay here again hopefully use the pool this time we just never seemed to have time as theres lots to do in new york city!! Cant wait to visit again :-) few tips I would give is theres a store called cvs its on 10th ave and on the corner of 54th street I think(5min walk away) stocking up on juice and stuff here will save u some money go here first day and also in the lobby of the hotel theres books to read theres coupons off for the stores such as nba store and m&m store we didnt realise this till we were leaving. Thanks again to the staff of the skyline hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berrie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

What lovely comments on your stay! We are pleased we were add to your trip to NY and you took the time to let everone know.

Happy Holidays

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just come back from a 5 night stay at the Skyline.
First impressions I thought I was going to be very disappointed because of other reviews that I had read! Don't take any notice of other people's reviews, experience it for yourself..
When we checked in they took our credit card details and said that they would charge $25 a day, but obviously at the end of our stay if there wasn't any damage then there would be no charge..
We were given our room on the 5th floor at the front of the building, there were some roadworks going on outside but it wasn't a problem. The room was lovely and clean and had a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and fresh towels everyday. Beds were lovely and comfortable.
The maids were very good, very prompt in the mornings.
We didn't get to explore the swimming pool as we're out all of the time, sightseeing and shopping.
The location of this hotel is perfect, the deli over the road does a lovely takeaway coffee and breakfast.. Starbucks are on most street corners so if you are after wifi that's free then that's where you need to go.
You can get wifi in the rooms but there is an outside charge.
I would defiantly return to this hotel if we all returned to NYC..
Larry the concierge was very helpful and so were the front desk staff, we booked a lot of our excursions via Larry, he sorted it all for us..
My only down full in the Skyline is that it never had an tea/coffee making facilities, but I could not fault this hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We always hope to exceed the expectations of our guests., and sometimes we will fall short of our goals. when a guest does not have a great experience for whatever reason, we learn from therir comments in the reviews. I appreciate your comments about some prior reviews and it seems we accomplished our goal and some , with your stay at the Skyline.

I believe your experience describes what we hope every guest feels about their stay at our hotel.

Wishing you and your family the happiest of holidays,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great for easy driving in from the west, and adjacent parking was $10/day (you can pay 4-8 times as much just a few blocks east). Room was fine for spending little time in it (rundown carpet, dubious plumbing) and staff were prompt and helpful. Location is a quick walk or subway to everywhere, and surrounded by inexpensive eateries and convenience stores.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank 6tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

While it seems your stay was on the most part a good experience, I am sorry that the condition of the carpeting and plumbing was sub par. unfortunately I can not tell what room you occupied, to look further into the two issues you described. If, by any chance you read this response and would be kind to contact me with the room number, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your comments,

Wishing you a very happy holidays,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We arrived about 4.00am due to flight delay, the staff on reception were very friendly and apologetic for not having an accessible room us as my daughter uses a wheelchair, because of this we got put Ina larger room. Room was clean and beds very comfortable, great view of the Manhattan skyline from our room on the 4th floor, I used to sleep with curtains open just so I could lay in bed and see the ESB all lit up at night.
Didn't eat in restaurant so can't comment about the food, no kettle in room wasn't a problem as I'd seen the comments on here and took my own travel kettle. Nice local delis and cafés within a short walk and about 10 mins walk to Times Square, Central Park , 42nd street,
Would I stay here again , absolutely, thank you staff at the Skyline for making my weekend in NYC such an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Room 406 has an amazing view of the Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webbo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your nice comments and for the staff trying to meet the specials needs that were required.

Thank you for choosing the Skyline Hotel,

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The beds were comfortable and the suite had two flat screen TV's but drawbacks were encountered. Not the worse or the vest we have stayed in. The night stand in the bedroom had a broken leg, there were lamps that didn't work and while the windows opened one had a broken hinge. Housekeeping was also sub par. Beds were made but dirty towels were still on the floor in the bathroom and there was still trash on the coffee table. Also, a issue with room service that was solved only after stating their establishment would be rated on Trip Advisor.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank rjconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

I appreciate the nice comments and the ones that show our faliure for providing an excellent stay. While i do not know your name or room number, I have had all 12 suites checked for the issues that you described.

I am sorry we did not provide a perfect stay and we do appreciate your feedback.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Location is great, you can walk to many of the tourist destinations. When we arrived, we were surprised by the rooms, little soundproofing, road works to the side and front of the building took some getting used to; but we bought some earplugs which partially helped.

Rooms themselves are of a good size, and beds comfortable.

We walked in and realised that the light switches had been disconnected, and we had to prop the door open with a case, (in order to let some basic light in) and walk in and turn on the bedside light. The bathroom light was altogether gone, and they sent a man up quite quickly to replace it, but there was no heating in the bathroom, and it is very small, and cold.

Strange thing is (and I am not being sexist) but all the male workers in the hotel, are friendly, and courteous, and went out of there way to help, but boy the women who seem to be manning the front desk, are really unprofessional, uncaring, and unhappy. We did not bother raising any issues with them as they really did not care. Good customer service costs nothing, and is so simple to deliver, but they have got it wrong here.

Room Tip: try and stay in the building to the back, not the old hotel to the front, as it will be quieter, hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

No, good service is what should be expected and delivered everytime. there is no excuse for the attiude you experienced at the front desk, whether it was a felmale or male guest service agent.

I can only tell you your comments have been posted as a reminder to all, how important it is to provide great guest service all the time.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lots of road works going on in front of and around the Skyline this week. Made it a bit noisy and a little difficult to get to.
Short walk to Times Square and Theatre district.(15 mins)
Pleasant restaurant staff who made huge effort.
Rooms clean, but don't expect any extras.

Room Tip: stay away from street side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Location is important, but the total experience of a guest stay goes hand and hand.

I am happy to say that the consrtruction by the city has been completed around the hotel area.

Thank you,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,182 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#360 of 473 in New York City
4,521 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#284 of 473 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#197 of 473 in New York City
4,015 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#218 of 473 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Midtown
Parker New York
Parker New York
#271 of 473 in New York City
5,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing