We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #265 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“May 2014”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent a week in the hotel, we found the reception staff very helpful. We had emailed them before arriving for a kettle to be in our room and had 2 waiting when we arrived!. Larry the concierge was very helpful and gave us numerous routes and tips of how to get round the city and what to visit. The room was large and kept spotless every day by our maid with a change of towels daily. The hotel swimming pool and was a nice touch after a long day walking and the gym was well equipped and normally empty. We agree with other comments about the local road works going on being noisey, but out of the hotels hands - maybe they should warn guests of any works. Great location for walk into Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I will make sure that Larry gets a copy of your nice comments. It is nice to know that you were pleased with the hotel and location. we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    1,197
    516
    156
    83
See reviews for
924
633
91
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked 2 rooms and stayed 3 nights before commencing our Cosmos tour. We checked in at midnight and after a 24 hour plane flight were very disappointed to discover no coffee or tea facility in the rooms. We asked for a kettle as we brought our own coffee and tea bags however the hotel was fully booked and no kettle was available. The reception staff member was kind enough to boil water in his kettle and had it taken up to our rooms to fill our cups. The rooms were small but the beds were clean and comfortable. We purchased breakfast one morning but found it limited in choices for the price we paid. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrogal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am sorry we do not have coffee/tea makers in the rooms. Unfortunately, this is an issue that we can not place in the rooms due to staffing issues. I was happy that the desk responded as they did.

All the best,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our visit was a mixed bag of good, not so good and just bad. Our choice was made based on being close to the Jacob Javitz Center for a graduation.. The location made it easy to get to the event. we could have walked if we had wanted to. There were stores and restaurants within walking distance. The room was old but clean. Beds were comfortable. We ordered a king but got two doubles, admittedly their fault, but they were all booked up and couldn't move us. There was a serious lack of receptacles (building needs updating). The receptacles on the lamps had been used so much that they would not hold a plug.

The bathroom had been kind of updated but the shower was 3 feet by 3 feet (no kidding). My husband had bruised elbows by the end of the stay LOL! The toilet was on a continuous cycle of filling up. Reports to the maid and housekeeping were not responded to.

During our stay there was utility construction across the street which was loud and caused traffic back-ups. Can you say "honking horns"? New Yorkers have a tendency to use their horns to communicate but this was a symphony.

Front desk staff did their jobs and no more. Bellman and concierge were both helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the shower in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Front Office Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize that your stay was not up to your or our expectations. I am not sure what happened with your reservation and room type since I do not know what name the reservation was under. I will be sharing your review with our staff to discuss some of the comments that you have shared. This is not a norm for us since we do strive on excellent service and apologize that that was not the case with our stay. I do hope that if you ever come backto our wonderful city that you will give us the opportunity to show you the excellent service that I know we provide.
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Michelle S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were skeptical when we first saw the exterior of this hotel. I guess the old saying of "dont judge a book by its cover is true". When you walk in the first thing you notice is the interior does not match the exterior at all. This is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms (the ones we saw) are huge for a NYC hotel. The beds are comfortable and the amenities are standard. The hotel is very close to the theater district. So if you want to walk to one of the theaters its a short walk. Also, the parking here is fantastic. Its on site and its FREE. Parking is always a pain in NYC and most hotels will park your car off the property in a garage and usually it can cost upwards of $100.00 so free parking was a huge huge plus for us. The street noise was negligible (which is not always the case in NYC). Overall we enjoyed this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I agree with you about the outside of the building not comenserate with what is inside. We have started to improve our curb appeal and hope that in the future it tells the story of what our guest experience inside.

Your comments were very nice and i am pleased we were able to exceed your expectations.


Warm Regards,
Mark Hurewitrz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just stayed at this hotel as part of the Cosmos tour.Porterage has been paid for in advance,yet when we arrived the bell hop was no where around to take the luggage and even when we left the hotel the bell hop was no where in sight to help with luggage.Is this because the hotel has already received the porterage from the tour company or is it poor service?
Even more shocking was that there is no ramp to wheel the suitcases into the hotel, as a result everyone (young and old) kept struggling to drag the bags up the stairs.
The management should also consider providing coffee makers in the room.We had an early start and had to go across the road early in the morning to buy the coffee....very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quiet than the ones facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I would like to appoligize for the lack of a bellman avaialble when you needed him. I see your were part of a group that checked in with Globus.

I am surprised that you did not use both the ramp outside coming into the building and the ramp in the building ,leading to our west building. I am sure this would have made it easier for you.


I will discuss this with the group leader of explaining our building facilities ahead of time , prior to arrival.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

spacious room with safe.No common Microwave to heat milk for my kid and hot water for my parents. Requested mixed kind of response. charge for keeping luggage.charges for accessing system.Bed not good

Room Tip: 1. While booking room itself whatever extra need is there we should communicate then only services...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijisathiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Spacious is exactly what all of our rooms are at the hotel. As to the lack of certain items that would have made your stay more comfortable. While we can not always have in the rooms what a guest would like, we have recently addressed this issue. We will be rolling out a new service to all of our guest, to better meet how we can make a better experience. This will be an APP called ALICE, that can be used on your computer or telephone,prior to arrival or during your stay. All services or special needs can be communicated and taken care of in real time.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

No help with luggage either from valet or bell hop
Cold check in and checkout
Brown sludge out of taps
Bathroom in need of repair
Sheets and towels need upgrading
A/C even though reception said engineering would look at it , room remained hot and stuffy
Resturant breakfast Terrible and to automatically charge 18 per cent tip?
Can see why it's pay up front otherwise would have checked out and gone elsewhere
Does the staff realise your guests stay help pay their wages ? Aussie Aussie NO NO

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Front Office Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to first apologize for the inconveniences that you incurred with your stay. Let me assure you that that is not how we run our excellent customer service and apologize that that was not the case with your stay. I will speak with our staff about the issues you have raised and really do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to announce that we are in the process of changing our HVAC units to better service our guests. As for the restaurant they are a separate entity and I will speak to them about the procedures.
Again please except our sincere apology and hope that if your travels bring you back to our wonderful city that you will give us the opportunity to show you the excellent service that we strive on.
Thank you
Sincerely,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#353 of 467 in New York City
4,282 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#219 of 467 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#255 of 467 in New York City
5,515 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#162 of 467 in New York City
3,743 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#231 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing