We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel for a reasonable (low) price”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was somewhat skeptical of this hotel given the 10th Ave. location, the low price and the mixed reviews. But I was very pleasantly surprised. It was quite nice and an amazingly good value for $150/night. I challenge anyone to find a better hotel in a central NYC location for this price! They told me that my room was the smallest room they had and I was worried. But it was actually spacious - I have stayed in smaller and very cramped rooms for more than twice the price in Europe. Other hotel guests while I was there commented on how nice and spacious their rooms were. Mine had two twin beds, a foyer, a large closet, a luggage rack, full desk, nice sized bathroom with full tub/shower and a big window. The beds were comfortable, there was good lighting, an iron and ironing board, safe, and best of all, a mini fridge without any stuff in it! A fridge all for me. This is nice because there are about four Delis across the street (one of them is open 24 hours and has a 24-hr. ATM) so you can always get some food or fruit or drinks to keep in it. Unfortunately these delis do not have seating so you can't eat there, but they are good for take-out and will even cook you eggs for breakfast. Other nice things about this hotel are that there is an indoor swimming pool, usually open from 7-10 AM and again 5-10 PM, ice and soda machines, and an attached garage where they will park your car for $10 a night! The hotel is near to the Intrepid Museum and the Circle Line pier for cruises around Manhattan. Also walking distance to Times Square and the theater district. The concierges were extremely helpful with making ticket reservations and recommending things to do and places to go. My room was in the back facing the courtyard so was very quiet, but Tenth Avenue is pretty quiet anyway, as is 49th Street so noise should not be a problem. The only negative is that it is a LONG walk to the nearest subway station on 8th Ave. Also you will have to go up to Ninth Ave. to find more restaurants, there is not much on Tenth. But all in all, if you don't expect a five star hotel for this price, it is a good bet. Seems to be a favorite with savvy, budget-conscious Europeans.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

What a nice review and the comment about value, is what we strive for in delivering to our guests.

Most importantly, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Skyline.

Warm regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,538)
There are newer reviews for Skyline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 2,538 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Skyline. No complaints at all about our stay or the hotel. Location is great, within walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center,and are so many different ethnic restaurants. The room was very clean, and the beds comfortable. Free wifi and $10 a night parking are extra bonuses on top of the inexpensive room rate we found when booking on line. We traveled with others and the hotel was able to provide them with a family room that accommodated six people. The kids enjoyed the pool on the top floor while the adults were admiring the city views. The staff was very pleasant. I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank IndyTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at the Skyline Hotel. Our family suites are a great value and more importantly, can accomadate a large familty in the same room.

I am happy you and your family were able to enjoy your stay together.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

the staff was very considerate and helpful.
the room was fine; well-appointed and as advertised.
the hallways were warm, and the room never got very cold (in the middle of the summer), but it was cool enough to sleep.
the location can not be beat if you want to see broadway shows; you can walk 3 long blocks and get to TKTS or walk to great restaurants on 9th - yet you are far enough off the beaten path to not hear so much noise or have too much traffic (although you can almost certainly catch a cab right away out front).
didnt try the pool or the bar, but others seemed to enjoy them!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Sorry it was a bit warm in your room, but we cant beat the nice comments about our staff and location.

Hoping you have an opportunity to return in the near future,

Thank you,

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I truly appreciate all of the benefits that come along with staying at The Skyline...I.e. room size, $10 parking, cleanliness and accessibility. I miss the free parking, but $10 is still a great deal. The staff members are super helpful and knowledgable. They all deserve a raise from the Reservationist, Front Desk, Concierge, Housekeepers and Parking Attendant. Great!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoFoEvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

It is so nice to see the nice comments about our staff and facility. Service is so important and the staff and myself are glad we delivered.

Come back soon,

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned back from the Skyline Hotel in New York for the price of the hotel it was really nice, great location walking distance to Times Square. Staff was very friendly and helpful, maid service was good although had a dirty plate, champagne glasses and holder still in my room when I checked out.

But overall I would defiantly stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank GemmaF1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed the hotel on your recent stay. It was nice to know that you found the staff friendly and the location of the hotel was perfect.


Warm regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice hotel! Not far from Time Square. Lovely rooms, clean and comfy beds. Employees were friendly and helpful. Free wifi! Maybe just the hours of the pool can be better, because it was not all day open but ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Soulcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your nice comments and especially about the staff. we even let you win against the US in the world cup!

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed from 19th June for 4 nights, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the room doesn't have a fridge or coffee making, but does a safe and an iron and ironing board. The staff were really pleasant and always willing to help. 20 min walk to Central Park, 15 min walk to Times Square. The Meemo bar downstairs was really good they serve nice beer and great food. We are back again for 2 nights on the 15th July

Room Tip: Try for the building at the rear away from street noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am happy you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to yopur return in a week.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
4,346 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#232 of 468 in New York City
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#171 of 468 in New York City
3,800 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing