We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #272 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for 3 nights with two friends...rooms are nice, location is great, and the Concierge Larry was fantastic with helping us book tours! Not far at all from Times Square and we even walked back from a boat tour at pier 83..lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Staff was nice, I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TjJ581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at the Skyline for five nights with my family in July 2014. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were HUGE for NYC!! Beds were comfortable and clean. 10 min walk to the subway and lots of great places to eat in the neighborhood. The skyline deli across the street has delicious coffee and snacks, and there's also a liquor/wine shop across the street that's open late. My only complaint would be the A/C in the room. It never really cooled the room down, and since our visit was in July, it did get a little stuffy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for the first portion (4 nights) of our first trip to New York!!!

The rooms were much bigger than I expected - we are a family of three - myself, DH and DD (11). The room had two queen beds, a desk area, full bath (with tub!) and a make up mirror and counter made getting ready each day very easy.

We also enjoyed the pool (sad there wasn't a hot tub) and free wifi for up to 3 devices. This worked great for us. The pool hours could be longer - the short morning shift (7 am - 9 am) didnt really work for us and closing at 9 pm was typically too early for us but we did manage a couple of swims over the days. Happy there was a life guard on duty but the morning guy spent most of the time texting. (As did some of the parents we watched while in the pool with our children).

The location was excellent. Loved the delis in the area for breakfast and ability to buy beer for the room! The in room fridge worked great for keeping them cold. We walked pretty much everywhere - Times Square, Central Park, Theatres and restaurants. A couple times we ended up taking a cab home at the end of the night because we were tired and hadn't sorted out the subway to this hotel yet.

The staff were very helpful and accommodated our request for three rooms near each other. We were travelling with friends and we all were on the same floor almost next to each other! That was greatly appreciated.

No coffee in the room - but must be typical in NY as our next hotel did not either. We are used to this from our travels to Vegas. It was no big deal to get one from the restaurant in the hotel or from the area delis.

When (not IF) we return to New York I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Two Queen Bed rooms are large - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daLesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

What a nice reveiw of our hotel, thank you for taking the time to describe your recent stay. We do consider our hotel as a great family place to stay.

I am pleased that we made your familily visit a pleasant one!

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love to stay here when I come to NYC. So convenient and at a reasonable price! Even if something goes not quite right(one room smelling like cigarettes) they moved us immediately and happily. Many of my friends have come with me in trips and they enjoyed it here too!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Leah NYC,

It is nice to know that you always chose the Skyline when visiting the city. Now as you have told your friends to stay with us, you now have told the world, thank you!

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour - hotel located in easy walking distance to Times Square. Room was fine, had a fridge which was handy. Aircon was very noisy. Room decor was a little dated as was the lobby / hallways. Bed was comfortable and rooms were clean. Staff were friendly. Armish Market around the corner had a great selection of food / plenty of other eating places within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. It was nice to know that overall, you enjoyed the location and room.

I hope you had a great visit during your tour of the US.

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a moderately-priced hotel which is close to the Theatre District. The rooms are basic and a little dated, but clean and well maintained. There is a small fridge in the room, but no coffee facilities. There are, however, plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. The concierge was helpful and there is a gym and pool on site. The addition of a laundry would be beneficial for long-term tourists. Generally this was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay and the location worked for your trip.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in NYC with our 3 young children. The hotel was convenient to drive to without getting into the middle of crazy NYC traffic. The staff were helpful and pleasant ( larry at concierge was a gem!) the pool is in the penthouse and had life guards and fresh towels. Perfect after long days walking round the city. The hotel is only a few blocks from time square and near a subway station. Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

What's better than kids enjoying a pool and a great view of the NYC skyline. I am glad you all enjoyed our little gem of a pool and the hotel. Like yourself, most guest love our location, away from the hassle, but so close to everything..

Thank you and come back soon,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 469 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,886 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#264 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing