We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel in a great location”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #268 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you don't need or want to be directly in the center of NYC, but want to be close to everything this is a great location. It's a short walk to Times Square or the USS Intrepid and right in the midst of Hell's Kitchen. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and the beds are comfortable. Our room was one of the expanded ones with an extra room and pullout couch for kids or adults. It has quite a bit more space than other hotels in NYC for the same price. I've stayed in some terrible hotels in NYC for the same price or more. This is a solid choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wrightsfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We would like to sign you up to be in charge of our marketing of the hotel. Everything from great location to comfortable beds to nice staff to great value, says it all.

I hope you can vusit us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    1,199
    518
    156
    83
See reviews for
927
633
91
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first family trip to NYC and I chose this hotel because of the location, easy access from the tunnel, parking convenience (and price) and pool. The reviews were pretty accurate. The rooms were clean and there was enough space for the 4 of us. We used the pool and the water was warm! Staff was friendly but the valet was not particularly warm and fuzzy but I wouldn't be either if someone pulled up in a conversion van. I wish they offered some sort of breakfast but there are ample restaurants nearby. And the WIFI was free as promised.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Illinois , hoping you had a good trip back home and thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience at the hotel. Location is important, but knowing your enjoyed the room and staff is great. Sorry, if the garage did not show the same sense of hospitality, as you know it is not operated by the hotel. However, it is important to get fedback to share with the garage mangement.

Best Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is decent. Room was clean (502) and the staff was friendly. Our A/C unit shut off on its own a couple times which required them to send someone up twice but they got it fixed.

DO NOT USE THE VALET PARKING SERVICE HERE. THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!! They parked the car and I needed to go get something I forgot inside of the car. When i get to my car I notice it is less than half an inch from the curb (not even a finger gap). This concerned me so I look at my wheels quickly to see if they scraped. I notice white stuff on my tire as if they brushed up on the curb. I inspect closely by feeling where there was white and could feel the curb rash on my wheel which I KNOW FOR A FACT HAD NO FLAWS WHATSOEVER. So I bring it to the valets attention and he begins to deny it and basically call me a liar and refers me to the manager named Leo. I will speak with him about this and write a follow-up review. DO NOT USE THIS PARKING GARAGE/SERVICE UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CAR DAMAGED. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slapdahoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am glad you were pleased with the hotel, but your experience with the garage seems have dampened your experience. While the garage is not owned by the hotel, we are certainly concerned how they treat our guest. I have included a contact and number for the garage, if you want to pursue the issues you outlined; Primary Parking Robert Goroy 917-440-8518

Sorry for the frustration you must feel,

Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times (just got back) after discovering they had a large indoor pool and were close to virtually everything on the west side of Manhattan and only minutes from subways to the east side and elsewhere. You can walk practically everywhere. Figure it takes about one minute walking north and south, three minutes east and west. Rooms are large and clean, staff is friendly and efficient and the manager has an open door policy (and a beautiful aquarium) that encourages conversation. It welcomes families and travelers from all over the world, making for interesting elevator conversations. If swimming is important to you, ask to stay in that wing of the hotel. The gym's on that side of the building as well. If you love beautiful, well-tended horses, the NYPD Mounted Police stables are nearby.

Room Tip: You're not here for the views and who stays in their room much anyway? But some look out toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcnoahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
First, thank you for staying with us again and of course, writing a well thought out review of the Skyline Hotel. It is always interesting to hear of reasons why our guest love the location of the hotel, like the police horse stable near by.

We look forward to your trip next year to NYC and the Skyline Hotel.

Warmest regards,
Mark Hurewitrz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Skyline Hotel is located an easy ten minute walk to Times Square. Stayed at this hotel twice, the first time the room was very good. The second stay was in what seemed an older part of the hotel. Issues with no hot water in the bathroom and the plumbing needs an update. The air conditioning unit was fairly noisy and did not cool the room down too well.

The hotel is located in Hells Kitchen district with a heap of restaurants, cafes, and deli's to choose from.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The swimming pool on the top level was great.
Highly recommend the bar/bistro attached to the hotel. High quality service and food.

Overall the hotel is quite good, but needs to but some work into maintenance of some of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Yes, we do have two buildings, the front building which is five stories has each room with two double beds. The back building, which is nine stories and has either two queen beds, king bed with sofa or our family suites. Both buildings were recently renovated, but the back building is a little nicer and is slightly more money per night.

I thank you for choosing the Skyline,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is quite good for a basic hotel and in a great location. It's about a 15 minute walk to Times Square. The hotel lobby is quite small but the staff are great and we were really impressed with the concierge who took a lot of time to help us and was very forthcoming with the information he gave us - friendly and entertaining!
Our room was on the second floor. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, the shower good quality and the blackout curtains did their job. The room was cleaned every day and the beds made, fresh towels brought in, great! The things I didn't like about the room were: noisy air conditioning unit (had to be turned off at night), and thin walls and ceiling (we heard a lot of stomping about from the room above ours at 4 o'clock every morning).
There is a bar downstairs which had music coming from it - we didn't use it but not for any reason, just because we preferred to go out - who wouldn't. Upstairs there is a pool. It's tiny, and quite cold - really, don't bother.
All in all though, a good hotel for the price considering the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms comfortable. I was a little surprised that you found the pool to be small and cold. The pool is heated and is 20 by 40 and is one of the few indoor pools located in a hotel in NYC.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

a cheap price (for a new york, I mean ) with excellent service and room!also good bar on the ground floor. Because this hotel is located on the 10th Ave., less traffic taking taxi to and from downtown. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynakagawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are happy we met your needs and provided a great experience.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 466 in New York City
4,295 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 466 in New York City
941 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#257 of 466 in New York City
5,520 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#161 of 466 in New York City
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing