We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but dated”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #302 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Dark and not particularly welcoming reception matched by its staff.
The suites were huge and comfortable but so old fashioned, everywhere was dark and the whole place is in drastic need of a face lift. The location is brilliant and would tick the boxes for most visitors looking to get the most out of their stay in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Benfleetsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,930)
There are newer reviews for Salisbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

For our latest NYC trip, we wanted to stay closer to Central Park and farther from Times Square. This hotel had an attractive rate and overall good reviews, so I made the reservation. Not only was the location ideal for us, it has a nice market right across the street and delicious pizza two doors down. The room was big and clean, but obviously not entirely updated. For example, we would have liked more electrical plugs and an exhaust fan for the shower, and even 4G internet service in our room was spotty. A big plus was the $10 continental breakfast on the third floor overlooking 57th street. It was way more than I expected and very similar to the Hampton Inn buffet breakfasts. Definitely worth the money. In summary, I would look to stay at the Salisbury again the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We loved the Salisbury, stayed there 7 nights from 2-9 June. It's in a great location, with loads of amenties and sights nearby. The room was very spacious, with a small kitchenette and some large cupboards, giving ample space for suitcases and our purchases. The space was also great for a family. This was the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed in, with mininal noise from the street and rooms next door. We had asked for and were allocated a room at the back. The rooms are a little dated, but very clean, there were 2 double beds, very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, the shower was good. I found the staff helpful and generally friendly when I had questions or requests. It was good value, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the buildling are really quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location between 6th & 7th avenue on 57th street and is worth a visit if you get a good price. The hotel is dated and quite old fashioned in its decor. The rooms are large and clean but the fixtures and fittings are old. In some areas, the paint on the doors was chipped badly and just repainted over instead of properly painting them. Also, there is no free wifi or business centre which can be used by guests to check flights, emails etc. I think that complimentary wifi should be provided as a basis to guests. The staff were fine, the bell boys were very helpful. Its worth considering this hotel is the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to minimize noise from the street outside.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just got back from New York last night and stayed at the Salisbury for 5 nights. The location is convenient to the majority of what travelers come to see. Staff is helpful when questions are asked. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable & showers hot. That's the most important criteria in New York. Too much to do for staying in your hotel room. The noise...well, it's New York! We would definitely stay there again.

Although they offer a breakfast at the hotel ($10 person), there is a Dali Market just 2 doors down that has a fantastic & reasonably priced deli ($4.00 for egg, cheese & ham on whole wheat bread, about the same for omlets). Filling breakfast with coffee for 2..about $11.50. Also, the Cafe Metro just down the street (200 W. 57th at 7th), is highly recommended for lunch & dinner (huge salad, beverage about $10).

Room Tip: Only suggestion would be to upgrade the double bed to at least a queen size, however, it was comfort...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I visit NY yearly and the Salisbury is my first choice everytime. It's not fancy, but comfy and in a great location for the price. Near to pharmacy, subway, buses, Times Square, Central Park...the list goes one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Location_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Salisbury Hotel is definately one of NYC's best kept secrets. With a walk of a few blocks to get to Times Square, one block to Central Park and one block to Fifth Ave, it is definately the place to stay!

The staff were amazing and so helpful. There were plenty of restaurant/cafe suggestions in our room and the rooms...well....they were HUGE. Ours was a twin room (double beds) with a full bathroom (bath included), huge walk in closet with another 'store room' that doubled as a second closet and a small kitchenette.

Perhaps the best thing about this hotel was the $9 continental breakfast. Yum. And good value.

There is a starbucks across the street with free WIFI or internet is available at very reasonable rates.

The hotel also organised a transfer to the airport for us (which was the same price as a cab) and a stretch limo drove us. Nice. Absolute movie star treatment!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#260 of 468 in New York City
6,422 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,730 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#235 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,214 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £127 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing