We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money & great location!”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #302 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is a great find, perfectly located very close to Central Park and not too far away from Times Square (within easy walking distance). The staff are very helpful and attentive plus the rooms are a very good size. For the price you pay for this hotel, you get very good value for money. The reception desk also has a handy leaflet stand. All in all, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,930)
There are newer reviews for Salisbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for three days in good sized 1 bedroom suite. Perfectly located near central park and a subway on the corner. The second elevator came back into service today which now removes any reservations i would have in recommending this property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2sbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Salisbury hotel was originally built as an apartment hotel which means that the rooms are big; for an average New York hotel: very big! Not the most modern but if you are looking for a base to visit New York and rest after walking around for 16 hours it is perfect. As clean as you can expect, noise level from 57th street as can be expected but it is hardly ever louder than the window air conditioner.

Friendly staff, we had three rooms, they made sure they were on the same floor. Of the two elevators one was broken the whole week we were there but the freight elevator (manually operated by a very friendly and helpful man) was an added attraction.

Part of the building, right in the middle, there is a church. If you go to the second floor you can look into the church.

Saving the best for last: just minutes walk from Columbus Circle and 57th Street subway stations so you can get everywhere very fast. Times Square? Who need a train, just walk 10 blocks down Broadway.

Room Tip: We had three rooms on 57th Street. If you can get a room at the back it will probably be much quiet...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeeBeeeBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week and could not fault it for location. As others have mentioned the hotel is somewhat dated but it was great value for the location. The subway was close by, central park a block away and times square 5-10 minutes walk. The rooms were very spacious and the hotel management friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel for breakfast simply because there was too many other options to choose from located in the area. Annoyingly one lift was out of action whilst we were there but it didn't inconvenience us too much.

If you're looking for a good 3* hotel that is good value for money and close to all the mid town attractions then this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJWREI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found out the apartment we had rented wasn't available after we arrived in NYC. The Salisbury was able to accommodate us, last minute, in a 2 bedroom suite. It was perfect for us and located near many of our destinations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only issue was one of the elevators was out of order and the other one was very slow. We were able to use the service elevator much of the time so it worked out pretty well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great week at the Salisbury hotel, on arrival we were greeted by Nick, who was very welcoming and informative. First impressions were very good, our room was lovely and spacious as well as very clean. Yes it is dated but we thought that added to the charm! The location of this hotel was excellent. We tried the buffet breakfast which was excellent value for money. We would definetly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNEGROVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel room I had was the size of an apartment, there was a 'living room' with a massive tv then you went into the second room where there was 2 queen sized beds and another tv and a decent sized bathroom. The location was great it was about a block from 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from Central Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_nat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#260 of 468 in New York City
6,420 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,730 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#235 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,214 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £127 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing