We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, local to Central Park but very noisy”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #302 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Salisbury
The location was great for us as we like to walk the city and we were less than five minutes from Central Park. We were close to Fifth avenue , Times Square , Broadway, Carnegie Hall and heaps more within a ten to twenty minute walk.
The hotel itself was very much just a place to put your head down for the night which is all we needed for it to be in a city like NY. Its facilities were non existent hence its low rating. However, our room was clean and spacious and cleaned daily . Only two lifts serviced the hotel so there was often a wait for one as we were on the 17th floor. Being this high up does not reduce the volume of noise from the street -
BE WARNED- as we all know NY is the city that never sleeps and the endless honking of horns or emergency sirens never stops at all either. It is extremely noisy all day and all night - we were street side on W57th and were sleep deprived much of the time - the aircon units allow noise in as they are just placed in the window spaces . Try and get a room facing away from the street if possible . The staff were typical of the NY service industry - smiles, shallow friendliness- not particularly helpful unless a tip is involved. I would probably stay here again on the proviso the room was not street side as it was cheap by NY standards, well located and clean albeit very dated decor. No frills!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
There are newer reviews for Salisbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 3,931 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I also stayed here near the end of August, amazing location, round the corner from Central Park, Plaza Hotel and 5th Ave. Lovely hotel 10mins walk from times square and rockafella center. Surrounded by shops but isnt everywhere in New York.
Room was small but adequate, air con was very very loud and we had to turn it off, the unit was massive and looked very old, dated decor. 24hr supermarket next door and an italian restaurant that does takeaway which was handy. Subway within 5 mins walk, very safe area.

Only negative was that one of the lifts was out of service, 2 lifts for 17 floors was a major problem and with one of them out of service often resulted in 15min waits for the lift and when your on higher floors you had no option but wait.

However excellent value for money and would definately return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danw649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here near the end of August, amazing location, round the corner from Central Park, Plaza Hotel and FAO Schwarz which is also very close to 5th Ave. Lovely hotel with very friendly staff, we had requested to have a view from our room but the type of room we booked (standard double) was not available at such a height so they upgraded us to a King Size Suite for free which I thought was amazing!! The bed was huge, bedroom separate from living room both with TV's and aircon, yes we didn't have a view but we were hardly in our room. People do say it's very old fashion in the decor but for how the hotel is and where it is and for what you pay I thought it was fine! You get what you pay for.

Would definalty come back here and I will be returning to New York as I love the place, I would happily live here!!

Room Tip: Email ask for a better room if you wish as we did :-) ..staff are always helpful so ask them questio...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We found this hotel by chance in our price range and we have been suitably impressed. Our room has two beds a large bathroom and a walk in closet (in the last NYC hotel this would ave been the bedroom!) the staff are super friendly and will organise anything for you - at a cost but hey ho-. The location is great opposite Carnegie Hall and close to Times Sq and Central Park anyone would enjoy this hotel.... They do breakfast at $10 but there are two good deli's close by where tea/coffee and any type of breakfast can be purchased. If coming to NYC stay here.....

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite as our son was getting married in Central Park, and we needed the room and beds for various family members calling in and staying during the wedding.
Once we moved to the back of the hotel after our first night, to get away from the street noise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is brilliant and the rooms are enormous! There was only one lift working, but the staff did their utmost to help by getting us to use the freight elevator and also the staff lift.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When we were booking, all we could find was expensive hotels, even cheap ones would be four times the regular prices. Then we found this hotel with a acceptable pricing and good enough reviews and, obviously, THE LOCATION.
Most may not know but the hotel is actually maintained by the Baptist Calvary Church, so don't expect lush nor luxury. It is a straightforward hotel, with spacious rooms, but old furniture. Also don't expect a view, it would cost you another zero on most NY hotels...
However... It's amazingly located, 1 block away from Central Park, couple blocks from 5th avenue and the Apple Store, close enough to the Rockefeller center, and within walking distance to the Empire State Building and the Times Square.
One of the 2 elevators were not working, so we had to use the lift elevator, which was operated by the hotel's most kind employee.
One very BAD thing: PAID internet with the worst ever technical support (third-party). Seriously, this is 2013 and some hotels insist in charging for the internet. So annoying!
Finally, and most important, the room was kept very clean, despite my baby's effort ;^).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarsurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Salisbury Hotel was a great hotel for our recent stay in NYC. Four of us stayed for 11 nights and found the staff very helpful. Our room was large and comfortable with huge closet space and the beds quite comfortable. We did have a front facing room which was quite noisy, even being on the 14th floor, but being New York we did expect this. It is in a great location, close to Central Park, 5th Avenue shopping and Times square. There is no WiFi but the Starbucks across the road does, so it was not an issue, and not worth paying for at the hotel.
The 2nd elevator did not work during our entire stay ( I don't think it is on the to do list any time soon) and was an occasional inconvenience with some delays getting to and from our room.
Overall the Salisbury is clean, comfortable, good value for money and in a great location, we would all definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#259 of 468 in New York City
6,423 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#234 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,218 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing