We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, HUGE Rooms”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #293 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, HUGE Rooms”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here with friends in September 2013. The location was great - only a few blocks from almost every subway line and Central Park, and across the street from a great grocery store. The hotel used to be an apartment building, so the rooms are huge with tons of closets. Our bedroom had two double beds, and the living room had a full size pullout bed. There were 3 closets in the bedroom, and 1 in the living room. The living room also featured a dining area with a microwave, sink, and mini-fridge, along with a dinette table. Our room was on a lower floor, and faced 57th Street, but the noise was minimal. The bathroom was acceptable, and the room was clean. Our main complaint is that because the building is older, it uses room air conditioners, and we could never get the room quite as cold as we liked. One of elevators was also out of service when we were there, but they'd let us use the freight elevator when it was not being used by the staff, which was great for us, as one of people couldn't do stairs easily. The staff was courteous - we were able to check in early and the baggage service was prompt. The cost was reasonable considering the location and the size of the room.

Room Tip: Because the elevators are older, a lower level floor lets you use the stairs easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleek_Wisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    1,974
    487
    141
    75
See reviews for
1,601
966
97
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rena, Norway
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 week. Got a room on 17th floor. Had a large livingroom, large bedroom and 4 walk-in closets and a kitchenette. The service was excellent. Ask for a car to the airport and god a limo for very good price.
You have to pay for internet is the only negative to say.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I had last minute tickets to the Late Show (Dave Letterman), an event on my bucket list, so I scanned Trip Advisor for hotels nearby. The Salisbury Hotel met my criteria. We arrived early on that 16 degree morning and were happy that our room was ready to check in early. Spacious, WARM, grocery across the street, blocks from the Ed Sullivan Theatre. Everyone friendly, microwave, coffeemaker, nice hot water in bath, economical, just a pleasant experience. Would definitely book again if ever back in NYC.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor above the fray (not noisy at all).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucindaUnion_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is outdated and in a need of renovations. Though they do try to patch it up, painting over the old door frames, replacing sinks and toilets, etc.
The compensation is - the hotel is clean, good hard beds (I didn't like the pillows though), the room size is big - we had a room with two beds (which is not easy to find in New York), there were coffeemaker, small fridge and microwave in the room (which is pleasantly surprised me). They offer a limo to the airport compatible to what you will pay for the yellow taxi (which you have to hail on the street) - actually for us it was the same amount. I found this very convenient. And at last - location is perfect - across from the Carnegie hall steps away from Central park and 5th Ave - feels clean and safe. At the same time easy walk to the Theatre district (where I don't recommend having a hotel). One more thing - rooms overlooking the 57th St. are very noisy at night, so ask for the other side of the building if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CndnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here over New Year and it was a fantastic base - only a few blocks from central park and v close to the subway. Lots of bars and restaurants close by - we can recommend the pizza place a few doors down.The staff a very friendly and the hotle is very clean - we didnt have breakfast there but there are plenty of diners close by. There were 5 of us so we got a 3 room appartment on the top floor which was amazing. Overall very pleased with the Salisbury. The Russian Rea Rooms opposite is a real treat too if you get chance to go - Ask to see the Fabergee Egg tree and 8ft glass bear fish tank upstairs if you do go!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine_duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a fine place to stay in New York folks.it is on w57 street and 2 blocks from Central Park and close to the Subway. We've stayed all over this city and if you want a lovely hotel in the best location with spacious rooms and reasonable prices , then this is the place. From here you can walk to C.Park, Times Square(12blocks)' 5th Ave shopping(2blocks),rockefeller centre (10blocks).
We had a suite and we held our daughter's wedding reception in our suite with 14 people.
It is too far to walk to Greenwich village and to Battery point (for S. Of Liberty) but the Subway ( 100yards away) will zip you to these locations in no time at all.

Room Tip: I liked our room overlooking 57th street. We were on the10th floor and the view was a typical movie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was spotless and very comfortable the staff are very helpful and friendly within walking distance to Times Square top of the rock broadway Central Park and fifth ave I will defiantly stay here again when I go back to New York

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 468 in New York City
4,460 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#232 of 468 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#432 of 468 in New York City
630 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Property: Salisbury Hotel
Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing