We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #305 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were more than happy with our stay at the Salisbury Hotel, so much so that we'll book there again when we return at the end of the year. The hotel is conveniently located by an Italian restaurant and a well-stocked dairy/deli. It's an easy walk to the subway and to Central Park and on a direct line to Times Square. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our time there.

The rooms aren't flash but the beds were comfortable and the rooms clean... considering this was cheaper than some backpackers (private room, shared facilities), we were very pleased!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExploringKiwisNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location is hard to beat for a tourist. It is close to many attractions and subway stations. After booking a "small" one-bedroom suite for a family of four on the hotel website, we were pleasantly surprised by the big rooms on the top floor with high ceilings. The decor and washroom were basic, but the suite was clean and quiet. The Morton Williams Marketplace across the street had everything we needed, even a dining space upstairs. Hired a town car through the hotel to go to the Newark airport at 4am. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leilei_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Amazing location ,opposite Carnegie Hall . 3 minutes walk Central Park and 5th Ave .Very large rooms .The hotel is very ' tired 'in style and decor ,but clean and functional ,and very inexpensive.the staff are helpful and polite. Air conditioners are old ,and not very effective ,so perhaps wold not recommend for hotter months .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were there 16-18 April 2014, good reception, nice rooms, our bathroom was for invalids, I didn't like this option.. But everything was clean and nice! Good tv, bed very comfortable and there was free coffee and tea, microwave and freezing camera. We took room without breakfast, but you can add it for 10$ per person, it was good!
This hotel has perfect location! 300 meters from Central Park, 7-10 min by walk from Top of the Rock and Times Sq.
Deposit (card authorization) was 50$ for 2 nights, bill for breakfast was 40$, so now I'm waiting 10$ change back, I hope they will be back :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EugeniaFirsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. On arrival check in was quick and staff very friendly. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with plenty of storage. There was a small kitchen area and walk in wardrobe. We could not believe how good the location was, between 6th and 7th so close to Central Park and only a short walk to Times Square and a lot of the major attractions. There is a subway on the corner minutes from the hotel which will take you anywhere you need to go. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again. Thank you to all the staff of the Salisbury who were all so friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank marysnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed in The Salisbury twice before and only have praise. In fact I have just booked up another stay there. The only reason I did not give all five points, is because they charge for Wi-fi.
OK it is not a lot, but every other hotel in New York provide this service for free. It sounds a petty thing , but due to circumstances I need to be in contact with home at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadowx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very reasonable for NYC . V well placed, easy to reach all Manhattan sites. That of course if you can figure out the subway! Staff v helpful. Room we'll fitted, little tired in places but no enough to encumber our visit. Beds we're clean and v comfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cardiac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,802 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 469 in New York City
6,975 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#256 of 469 in New York City
6,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,296 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 469 in New York City
4,381 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#241 of 469 in New York City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W. 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £99 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing