We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #305 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I have stayed in this hotel twice and totally recommend it!! Fab location,fab big rooms and friendly staff! Carnegie hall on the doorstep as Central Park and Times Square, 5th Avenue round the corner!! Amazing !! So good we went back and will use again!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked a suite with separate living room. The suite was really big with fold out couch in living area. Perfect for families and would accommodate 6 easily. Came with a kitchenette, coffee maker, microwave and small fridge but no crockery or cutlery. There is a Dali mart next door which you can stock up on essentials. Continental breakfast at USD$10 was good value and they allow you to do a take out if you wanted to eat in your room. Close to subway, Central Park, Time Square, Madison and 5th Avenue. Note that this is an older styled hotel but the nightly rate, comfy beds, big suites and location makes this a worthwhile choice. The italian restaurant next door does good food and will deliver to your room. For a new york experience, go to the La Meridian across the road and ask for directions to the Burger Joint located inside which serves great burgers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building not facing 57th Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location on 57th with a short walk to many of the sites and Subway stations. Stayed on the 17th floor in the back, the room had two double beds, refrigerator, microwave and two nice closets. The room and bathroom are very good sized for Manhattan.The A/C unit was in the window, and while it kept the room cool, some may have an issue with the noise. Front desk personnel were very helpful and printed out a couple of Yankee tickets that I had purchased on Stubhub.

The hotel offered continental breakfast between 7 and 11 AM for $10 pp. I thought this was very reasonable. The basic pastries, breads, cereal, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee... I was pleased with the variety. For us this was a relatively inexpensive way to start the day.

I thought the rooms were very clean and I would recommend this hotel for those who want a great location in Manhattan and are on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNSQ575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reasonable place to stay in Manhattan

The best thing about this place is its location. Close to Time Square, very close Central Park. A lot of eating options around. Subway station is half block away. Apart from location, there is nothing much to talk about. Rooms are Ok, everything in working condition but nothing great. I guess you cannot get anything reasonable under 300 $ in this area!

One disappointing thing is … no free internet access!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shailendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Perfect location for most things, either by foot or subway. The staff were very helpful and our room was very clean with plenty of wardrobe space and a little kitchen area with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We were on floor 16 at the front, which we requested as we wanted to feel like we were in the heart of the city. The bed was very comfy and the pillows just right. Just opposite the hotel is an amazing deli and Starbucks for free wifi.

We loved a club called Swing 46, great band, amazing dancers (even got a free dance lesson) and the food was great too. Another special place to eat is The Boathouse in Central Park, simply delicious and a lovely atmosphere, then stroll around the park and have a ride on the carousel and continue on to The Tavern on the Green for a few more drinks, the staff there are so friendly especially Madeline.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We got a brilliant offer on this hotel last summer, and were so glad to have chosen it! The hotel is in the perfect location, being walking distance to central park and times square but it's just far enough to avoid the chaos of the crowds. If you decide not to walk, the yellow subway line is seconds away at the top of the block and connects you to everywhere you'd need to go. It's a very safe area for all types of travellers.

The room we had was huge by New York standards with two double beds and a large walk in closet that contained a safe. The bathroom was a good size too and there were never any problems with the pressure or temperature. The decor is slightly outdated but the rooms are clean and have everything you need - ours had a fridge which we found incredibly useful for bottled water after a warm day of site seeing. We slept great and never noticed any street noise even though we were facing 57th street - possibly because we were on a higher floor (7th floor if my memory serves me right). The air conditioning may be considered noisy but it's the same in every hotel/apartment I've stayed at in the city.

The staff were friendly and helpful whenever we had any queries. Only one elevator was working at the time of our stay, but it really wasn't a huge inconvenience as the hotel informed us we could use the service elevator too.

The only two things I can say that are even close to being negative are that there's no free wifi (you can buy it per device at a cost, per room would have been more reasonable) and that when we booked our taxi to the airport through the hotel, it took a long long time to arrive. We would have been quicker catching one outside of the hotel.

I have to mention that there's a great deli/supermarket across the road called morton wiliams that has absolutely gorgeous sandwiches and cupcakes. I would 100% stay here again if I could get a similar offer!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, request a room with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A great hotel in truly the best location! It's on 57th street, a short walk to central park, time square, a nearby subway and lots of places to eat out and go for a drink. Attractions are walkable or easy to get to by train. Hotel is a reasonable price, modern, friendly, with helpful staff and a nice breakfast buffet that really sets you up for the day. Rooms come in various sizes, we had a small kitchen, some have a living room so it's worth asking if you have a preference. We stayed on 7th floor at the front, not too noisy to sleep and we loved the buzz of being in the city. It really made our holiday staying here and we will do again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,794 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 469 in New York City
6,972 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#257 of 469 in New York City
6,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,290 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
4,379 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#237 of 469 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W. 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £95 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing