We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value for money”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #299 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value for money”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April for 3 nights with my Mum for my 21st birthday and we couldn't have picked a better hotel! You're literally right in the middle of anything. All the major sights are a short walk away or if you're in a hurry, there's the subway. The rooms are really big with two double beds. They seem a little old fashioned but it doesn't really matter when you're in a city as great as New York! Staff are very helpful, would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    1,998
    504
    146
    81
See reviews for
1,632
977
99
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently return from a 6 day stay in New York. The Salisbury is the best possible location for easy visiting to many of the attractions. A short walk to Central Park and no more the 10 to 20 minute walk to empire state, Bloomingdales and Times Square, which is like Leicester Square on New Years Eve every night in June.
The subway ride is just 20 minutes to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
The hotel although appearing a bit tired and dated is very good. Extremely well priced for its location. The suite we stayed in was huge. Two double beds and a large lounge. The only downside is they suggest a kitchenette in each room. All it is is a fridge, microwave, filter coffee machine and a small sink. There is no cutlery, cups, plates or any utensils so you couldn't eat in if you wanted to. All in all it was a fantastic stay and I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a relative cheap stay. Be aware, it is very expensive to eat at any of the restaurants located in the vicinity of this hotel. A basic meal of two courses and a couple of drinks for two will cost at least $140. We at at the Red Eye Grill on 7th Avenue and had a lovely meal of Starter and steak and two glasses of wine and it cost $250 plus 20% tip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor michigan
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I checked into the Salisbury, they were out of standard rooms so I was given a suite and it was fantastic. Very clean and very comfortable. The location is superb and I enjoyed my stay. I can't comment on the price as I made the reservation through a website at a discount. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent 4 nites in a suite last january. Two large, clean comfortable rooms with a kitchnette and dining area. Bath is a bit small but perfectly adequate for 1 traveler at a time.Flatscreen TV in both rooms. Furniture a little dated but comfortable. Writing desk in foyer/dining area. Wired and WiFi available for a fee. Actually only real complaint is only one ice machine for the entire hotel located in room off the lobby. Staff very cordial, helpful and friendly. Location is very handy and near Central Park, across street from Carnegie Hall and convenient walking distance from Broadway/Times Square. An older hotel but reminiscent of grand hotels from the 50's/60's.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friscoboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Location is definitely this hotel's best asset. The hotel is one block south of Central Park and easily within walking distance to Carnegie Hall (right across the street), Times Square, the Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Centre and the shops of Fifth Avenue. It's also a good choice for families on a budget. Nevertheless, I don't think I'd stay there again. While the rooms were a good size and featured a small fridge and microwave, the place feels a bit down on its heels. I am not one to fuss about dated decor, as long as the place is clean, but the bathroom featured a leaky tap, a temperamental toilet that only flushed some of the time and a two tone shower rail - part rust part mold, which was not so nice. Our room (#802) also tended to be very noisy as it faced 57th street and had an old-style window air conditioner that may have kept the room cool, but also let in a lot of the steet noise.
Having said that, we didn't spend much time in the hotel and were appreciative of the fact that the subway was literally steps away at 57th & 7th avenue, so it was easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go. There is also a large drug store across the street at 57th and 6th, where you can get any items you may have forgotten to pack, as well as a Starbucks and a very nice Morton Williams supermarket that features the usual grocery items as well as some lovely gourmet treats. We loaded up on fresh fruit, sandwiches and some delicious pastries and headed off to Central Park for a picnic. It was definitely one of the highlights of our stay. Next door to the hotel there is also a nice little pizzeria called Angelo's that makes a terrific authentic New York stone-baked pizza. The prices are more than reasonable, which families will appreciate as dining out in New York can be expensive unless you know where to go. Angelo's also delivers to the hotel.
Overall, this hotel offers an affordable option for families and is attractive because of the location, but the lack of upkeep would keep me from coming back another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slainte2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Salisbury for six nights in May 2014. Of the three other hotels we've previously stayed at in NYC, the Salisbury was by far the best. The location is unbeatable. It is across the street from the Russian Tea Room and Carnegie Hall, down the street from Fifth Avenue, and around the corner from Central Park. It's surrounded by subway stops, grocery stores, restaurants and good shopping.

The room is very spacious. We had two double beds, one huge walk-in closet, one regular closet, a kitchenette with fridge, sink and microwave, and a good-sized bathroom. We stayed on the 12th floor with a street-facing room because we wanted a view. We could hear the traffic because the windows were quite thin, but it wasn't too disruptive for a good night's sleep (especially if you're dead-tired after a day in NYC!), though rooms facing the back would definitely be quieter.

The staff were very accommodating. They gave us an earlier check-in and later check-out, arranged a car back to the airport, and did our online flight booking for us so we wouldn't have to pay for the hotel's internet. The cleanliness of the room was just basic.

By regular standards the Salisbury isn't cheap, but by New York measures it is, considering the amazing location. Keep in mind that it is an old hotel. You are paying for the size of the rooms and the location, not for any extras or amenities. Our room was $333 per night with taxes, and it was worth it for where we were. If the price stays the same we will come back again.

Room Tip: We didn't try the hotel's breakfast, but heard from other guests that it wasn't very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I have stayed in this hotel twice and totally recommend it!! Fab location,fab big rooms and friendly staff! Carnegie hall on the doorstep as Central Park and Times Square, 5th Avenue round the corner!! Amazing !! So good we went back and will use again!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,644 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 466 in New York City
6,874 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#255 of 466 in New York City
6,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#228 of 466 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#430 of 466 in New York City
636 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Property: Salisbury Hotel
Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing