We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #306 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The many positive reviews we read prior to booking were very helpful and were all true. Great location, large comfortable and relatively quiet rooms, very comfortable beds. We were 3 couples in 3 different rooms, 1 was a junior suite with a sitting room where we could all sit comfortably for "happy hour" As others have stated the hotel is older and there a few things to overlook, however when all is considered it is a very good hotel in an excellent location.. We had the $10 breakfast one day and it was quite good . There are many restaurants nearby for greater selection in casual diner or full service, greater choice. As stated in other reviews its 2 blocks to Central Park, an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to Times sq. and very convenient. We were here for 4 days and started the first day with a narrated 5.5 hr. tour which gave us a good overview and lots of information of where we would like to then further explore. We walked in a number of neighbourhoods to get the feel of normal life such as Soho and China town and had a very good lunch in a small local Chinese restaurant. Due to us being 6 people with varying tastes in entertainment we looked for a show that would be light, comical, creative, and we found it with the "Blue Man Group" which we all enjoyed. No discounts or rush seats on Fri. or Sat. Advice we received was to arrive at the theatre of your choice when their box office opens on the day of your show and get discounted rush seats for that day ..

Room Tip: The corner suite was a good size, we were all on the 16th floor which reduces the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 3,968 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Got an upgrade on arriving and was given a room spanning the width of the hotel, bedroom view to the rear, living room view of 57th street. A real rarity in NYC. Got free breakfast included on floor 3. Alright as a filler before hitting the big apple! Easy access to Central Park & 5th ave. slightly dated decoration but it kinda adds to the originality of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank covlad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As soon as we knew we were going back to NYC we made sure to book with Salisbury Hotel! From the moment we checked in it was a pleasant stay! We were given the option to check in early but no rooms with a microwave or fridge were available. We could check in or wait, but if we checked in and had no microwave/fridge and changed our mind we could call down at any time and they would move us to another room with no problem!!

They were wonderful and accommodating and I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is a throwback: huge rooms, many with mini-kitchens, in a terrific location on the same block as Carnegie Hall. The prices cannot be beat for the amount of space you get -- terrific for family travel or for those who plan to shop till they drop. But the building is very tired and badly in need of an upgrade. There is no Wifi, even in public places (although you can log on to a lobby computer at a truly ridiculous fee per minute). The staff isn't unpleasant but is not particularly warm nor efficient. Staying here is like staying with your slightly dotty great aunt who has seen better days and has sold off most of her possessions to keep the heat on.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from 57th, will be quieter. Also try to be away from the elevators as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April for 3 nights with my Mum for my 21st birthday and we couldn't have picked a better hotel! You're literally right in the middle of anything. All the major sights are a short walk away or if you're in a hurry, there's the subway. The rooms are really big with two double beds. They seem a little old fashioned but it doesn't really matter when you're in a city as great as New York! Staff are very helpful, would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have recently return from a 6 day stay in New York. The Salisbury is the best possible location for easy visiting to many of the attractions. A short walk to Central Park and no more the 10 to 20 minute walk to empire state, Bloomingdales and Times Square, which is like Leicester Square on New Years Eve every night in June.
The subway ride is just 20 minutes to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
The hotel although appearing a bit tired and dated is very good. Extremely well priced for its location. The suite we stayed in was huge. Two double beds and a large lounge. The only downside is they suggest a kitchenette in each room. All it is is a fridge, microwave, filter coffee machine and a small sink. There is no cutlery, cups, plates or any utensils so you couldn't eat in if you wanted to. All in all it was a fantastic stay and I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a relative cheap stay. Be aware, it is very expensive to eat at any of the restaurants located in the vicinity of this hotel. A basic meal of two courses and a couple of drinks for two will cost at least $140. We at at the Red Eye Grill on 7th Avenue and had a lovely meal of Starter and steak and two glasses of wine and it cost $250 plus 20% tip.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I checked into the Salisbury, they were out of standard rooms so I was given a suite and it was fantastic. Very clean and very comfortable. The location is superb and I enjoyed my stay. I can't comment on the price as I made the reservation through a website at a discount. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,874 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 469 in New York City
7,029 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,397 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 469 in New York City
1,207 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 469 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £79 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing