We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still living in the 70's (& not in a good way).”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #313 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 June 2014

12 years ago I stayed at the Salisbury. It hasn't changed one iota. No renovations at all. While the rooms are a good size, the bathroom was tired and shabby. The plumbing in the morning is particularly "ripe" and gag-worthy. Painting and regrouting had occurred but was just caked over the top of the old and looked like it had been done by a five year old! The black filth around the light switch was truly scummy.
They had the audacity to charge $30.00/wk for wifi, which had many sites blocked, such as Facebook. The most harrowing and disgusting effrontery of all was the $10.00 breakfast which was served on plastic picnic plates with paper cups and plastic cutlery. You even had to clean your own table! Calling brown liquid coffee doesn't make it coffee.
Cockroaches queue for the rickety lifts in the dull, 50's style foyer and the carpets everywhere are shabby and worn and smell very strongly of previous flooding. People with respiratory illness probably should think twice about staying at this "hotel".
This hotel would be Basil Fawlty's wet dream!
Some of the staff did the best they could in a bad situation. I don't think anyone on the staff would have any idea what a quality hotel was, either through zero travelling experience or sheer delusion! I honestly think that they feel that their hotel is something special!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 3,978 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

4 night stay with family. the one bedroom apartment is smack bang in the middle of Manhatten. 2 minute walk to Central Park. 10 minute walk down to Times Square. Morton William's and Duane Reid for all your personal needs.
the room is spacious for families. we bought snacks and breakfast supplies and had at our apartment daily. $10 per person for a continental breakfast at hotel
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Angelos Pizza next door is a must.
This hotel is "heritage" not new in any sense. Clean, comfy and spacious. More than happy with our stay. Especially for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the back of building,or else you will experience all the road noise, these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coxieSeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed last week at the Salisbury Hotel in NYC. Our trip was for six days and 5 nights. I have previously stayed there and would really recommend the location. The Salisbury is within walking distance of just about everything which makes it a great choice. While the hotel is older and not part of a chain, it is kept in very good condition and the rooms are quite large for a NYC hotel. We enjoyed the large walk in closet as well because we could put away our suitcases and hang our clothes up. The beds were a little too firm for my taste but that didn't stop me from sleeping after spending the days walking around the city. What we enjoyed most was getting to know Al and Paul the bellmen. They went out of the way to make our 6 year-old son feel very welcomed! We loved that they paid him special attention. They were very eager to help us out with any questions or directions. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter but do not have a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joesmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in May. It's located just a couple of blocks from Central Park and a very short walk from subway stations on 57th St.

Check in was quick and hassle free, but lacked any pleasantries. Being a busy hotel, in an even busier City, I'm sure they deal with hundreds of people every week, but a smile and a bit of chat would have been nice! It was the same at checkout.

The hotel is obviously well used. I did choose it based on price and location, not on quality or amenities, but the whole place does feel a little drab and tired. Cleanlines was ok though.

There were four of us staying in the room, yet only two towels were provided. We called down and another two were quickly brought to the room but this happened another two times during our stay.

The room was a bit on the small side but functional and, along with the rest of the hotel, in need of a refresh. However, the beds were good and clean.

There is a very good supermarket (grocery store) opposite with an excellent range of fresh products for breakfast and meal solutions if out late.

The biggest issue was noise. As with most properties in New York, the ac unit is fixed in the single glazed window frame. As a result, the amount of street noise made it very difficult to get a proper nights sleep. None of us are light sleepers, but my wife actually considered sleeping in the closet it was that bad!

To be fair, you will probably find it difficult to get better accommodation in such a central location at the price, but hopefully this review will give you good idea of what to expect, should you choose to book.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved the location of this hotel. We were one block from Central Park, right by the zoo! We enjoyed walking to the deli next door getting breakfast then walking to the park to eat while the kids climbed the rocks. There was also a grocery store across the street. Staff was very nice and accommodating. The rooms were bigger than I expected for such a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

These rooms are old. My room and friends room had exposed wires hanging around door and ceiling. I also had to turn on the bathroom faucet full blast if I did not want to shake the room due to air in the pipes. Due to it's location it is extremely loud from street.

The staff was unfriendly except for the housekeeping. Worst of all, we found a bug on our daughters pillow. Do not know if it was a bed bug, but likely. Gave it to housekeeping. Front desk offered us a free continental breakfast as we were checking out as a gesture, which I actually found insulting. Will never, ever consider this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The many positive reviews we read prior to booking were very helpful and were all true. Great location, large comfortable and relatively quiet rooms, very comfortable beds. We were 3 couples in 3 different rooms, 1 was a junior suite with a sitting room where we could all sit comfortably for "happy hour" As others have stated the hotel is older and there a few things to overlook, however when all is considered it is a very good hotel in an excellent location.. We had the $10 breakfast one day and it was quite good . There are many restaurants nearby for greater selection in casual diner or full service, greater choice. As stated in other reviews its 2 blocks to Central Park, an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to Times sq. and very convenient. We were here for 4 days and started the first day with a narrated 5.5 hr. tour which gave us a good overview and lots of information of where we would like to then further explore. We walked in a number of neighbourhoods to get the feel of normal life such as Soho and China town and had a very good lunch in a small local Chinese restaurant. Due to us being 6 people with varying tastes in entertainment we looked for a show that would be light, comical, creative, and we found it with the "Blue Man Group" which we all enjoyed. No discounts or rush seats on Fri. or Sat. Advice we received was to arrive at the theatre of your choice when their box office opens on the day of your show and get discounted rush seats for that day ..

Room Tip: The corner suite was a good size, we were all on the 16th floor which reduces the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 470 in New York City
4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 470 in New York City
5,462 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#364 of 470 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#337 of 470 in New York City
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £83 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing