We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #284 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 3 teens stayed 8 nights in July. This is our 3rd trip but first time at Salisbury. Because we are a family of 5, we needed a suite hotel, which are limited in NYC.
Pros:
Good location (but Radio City was slightly better, especially if you plan to walk to and from Broadway shows).
Clean
Good housekeeping
Quiet (if you get a room facing the back)
Spacious rooms
Nice, 24hour grocery store across the street
Cons:
Doesn't have a nice view or has a view of old apartment buildings in the rear
Ice machine on first floor only (we were on 14th)
Wifi is not free, not even to log on to their lobby computer to print a boarding pass.
AC window units are loud (but they worked very well cooling the room).
Shower pressure isn't good and water went from cold to hot every few seconds regardless of how much you tried to adjust it so showers had to be quick.

We would stay again. It's a good value for basic, clean accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back of the hotel are quiet. I heard no street noise at all but your view will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitenights12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    1,949
    477
    133
    71
See reviews for
1,577
958
94
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location near Carnegie Hall, Central Park and Bloomingdales. The staff are helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and we had space.

The plumbing and wiring could do with a little attention

Room Tip: It is quite noisy at the front of the hotel - but NY city is noisy! Worth paying for a suite - extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It appears that there are two camps of opinion about this hotel and in all honesty, I believe your opinion will be influenced by two factors: what you're looking for in NYC and what you are used to at home.

Let's face it. This is not a new hotel. That is a really important part of its charm. We were informed that the hotel was originally a suite hotel, for residential purposes. It's easy to imagine this if you have a one bedroom suite as we did. The space contains a mini kitchen including fridge and microwave. Sure, there's no crockery or cutlery, but we picked some up from the 24hr market across the road for less than a few bucks.

The lounge is spacious and contains sitting chairs, a sofa bed, tv, a desk and plenty of walking space. Our main bedroom hosted 2 double beds but I understand that a king bed can be selected. Again, this room had a tv, dresser, sitting chairs and ample space to move around. A number of wardrobes are also in the suite.

The bathroom seems to be a point of concern for some visitors. Granted, it's aged. Old tiles. Old tapware. But it's clean, relatively spacious and the water temperature and pressure worked well. I think guest perceptions of the bathroom affect the overall perception of the hotel and I truly believe the guest perception is highly influenced by home experiences. If you have a modern, luxurious bathroom at home, or if that is what you want from your holiday accommodation, you will be disappointed with the bathroom offerings in this hotel. I live in an older house. I'm not stressed by the bathroom fittings. If it's clean, practical and functioning, I'm happy.

Others have also mentioned the elevators as an issue. We stayed for four nights and had no concerns with the length of wait time for either of the hotel's two elevators. We also planned a had and left ample time for any of our departure plans so waiting for 30 seconds to a minute or so was not a problem.

The location of this hotel is perfect. Two blocks to Central Park. 5 minutes to Broadway shows. 10 minutes to Times Square and you can see the lights for the entire walk. 2 subway lines on each end of the W 57th St block. Everything is so handy and easy to get to.

And the price for this space and location is magnificent! I think the hotel is missing out on a marketing opportunity. If this hotel was advertised as a Vintage Experience, I think some guests may be more positive about the furniture and fittings! I've stayed in European accommodation where the original structures dated back to the 1400s and loved it for what it was rather than begrudging how it's not a 2014 decor!

I highly recommend The Salisbury for space, location and price if you are a family traveller!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from W 57th St. We were on the 16th floor at the back. While th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tourismteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This Hotel is great for Location, it is situated a couple of blocks down from Central Park. Very close to 5th Avenue and a short walk to all the main attractions. Would stay here again! The breakfast was super, lots of choice, staff were very pleasant. Rooms are a little dated, but you're not in the room long enough to worry about that, lovely to have 2 double beds, you don't get that often! Overall a fantastic stay.

Would also recommend the little Italian restaurant next door, we ate there every night as it was convenient and food was so tasty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wewela, SD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Fantastic location on 57th. Walking distance to 5th Ave.,Central Park (two blocks to entrance) Theater district and just a block from Carnegie Hall. Great fresh pizza two doors to the east. Room was large for New York and had micro, frig, coffee maker and separate sink by coffee maker.

Room Tip: Can hear the street noise from most rooms, but not a problem. Some rooms have microwave, refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire i paid about $1100 for 5 nights. We had one double bed suite (when i say suite i mean it had a sink, microwave and a small closet). For a family of four adults, it was a little snug because the beds were smaller than queen size so one person had to sleep on the floor. Bathroom was small but clean. The streets are noisy at night but hey, it's NYC, the city that never sleeps.

This hotel is a little rundown and could use a few upgrades and mending here and there but its location trumps everything. Two blocks away from Central Park south 15 blocks away from Times square and there is a subway station located at both ends of the street so basically all your tourist attractions are very closeby.

So if you're looking for a hotel that you will use just for sleeping in, this is perfect. They also have a $10 breakfast which is pretty good. With the exception of omelettes, they have everything.

Overall, a very nice stay at the Salisbury and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OAlvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We had a two double bed suite and we were thrilled with the size of the rooms. It was so nice to have the kids go to bed before the adults and the fridge/micro /sink and eating table were handy for reheating leftovers or getting a meal from the grocery across the street. I only marked the room a four because the decor is pretty old. However, Everything was clean and the staff was great. Plus, the location is excellent. You will definitely enjoy your stay in nyc by staying at the Salisbury!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerickson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Property: Salisbury Hotel
Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing