We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Super Location for exploring New York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #284 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Value & Super Location for exploring New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Booked double double room and upgraded to suite so a great start to the holiday. A good functional hotel which we used as a base to explore NY. All we needed was a clean bedroom and bathroom to use after a hard days sightseeing and it was provided. This hotel is a perfect base to explore NY.
Ideally situated easy walk to central park, 5th Ave, Time Square etc. Also subway at the end of the street which takes you straight down to Battery Park.
Breakfast was $6, all you can eat was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    1,949
    477
    133
    71
See reviews for
1,577
958
94
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Didn't start well as on arrival at 11.30 pm we were told there was no room available-I had booked through Thomas Cook about 4 months in advance- and we had to go for one night to hotel nearby. We complained! in the end we walked to the Helmsley- about 5 minutes- to find a great room and view and although we had to give extra tips and then lug our luggage back to the Salisbury the next morning to have breakfast there and store our luggage until check in time, the hotel compensated us and it worked out ok. If the check in clerk had handled it better-explained it was an upgrade, said it really was a short walk round the corner we wouldn't have been so cross at the time! After that, hotel room was big and comfortable, breakfast good selection of cold buffet and well stocked and cheap, front desk booked shuttle for us, location was great- near everything uptown,and metro stops. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We loved our stay at The Salisbury. Our 1 bedroom suite was huge and had plenty of room for our family of 6. We appreciated the small fridge as we could store water and drinks. The beds were harder than most but didn't affect our sleep. Our room was very quiet and although the hotel is older our room has been re-done. The only thing that could have made it better was if there were 2 bathrooms rather than just 1 small one.

We found the staff all helpful. We parked our van in their recommended parking and it was just fine. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourdarlings1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Friendly staff, big spacious and very clean room.. nice breakfast available in the morning and perfect location for walking the city ! We loved our 4 night stay at the Salisbury and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yarmouthgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheine, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We travelled to NYC in June with our 20mth old daughter. The location of the Salisbury was excellent (midtown 20mins by foot, Central Park 5mins by foot)- we walked almost everywhere and barely had to set foot on the subway (although the nearest subway was only at the end of the block). The price we paid was excellent, far less that we had expected to pay in NYC and the quality and cleanliness of the hotel were great. Our hotel "room" was more like an apartment, with a huge bedroom (2 big beds plus chairs and dresser and enough room for a cot for our daughter), walk in robes, bathroom (small, but with shower/bath, toilet, sink, and all clean), then a dining area and small kitchen corner (with bar fridge, sink, coffee maker) and also living room area with sofas and flatscreen TV. Bedroom and living/dining areas both had airconditioning. The room was cleaned daily- we had no complaints. Breakfast was a buffet at an additional cost. The food was varied and tasty (although not all healthy, ie a donut, pastry and muffin section). We found the staff at reception and in the breakfast room helpful, polite and attentive. We could hear some traffic noise from our room, but nothing that disturbed us. I am not sure where in NYC you can't hear the traffic noise! There were no child/family activities available, however we came to NYC to see the city and not hang out playing in the hotel. Overall we were very happy and would stay without question at the Salisbury again should we visit NYC in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJKleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed at the Salisbury for five nights as we toured around New York city. Our room on the sixth floor was huge with a great firm bed, sparkling white linens and a good air conditioner in the window. The location was terrific - a block from Central Park and down the street from Carnegie Hall. The staff was helpful with restaurant choices, getting us taxis and tickets for the hop on hop off bus. The hotel is older but in good condition and offered a cold continental breakfast for $6. We recommend Angelo's pizza cafe two doors down - we ate there two nights and all the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. Also recommend the health food cafe a block and a half down 87th St. for tasty, inexpensive lunches and dinners. The only thing I missed at the Salisbury was having a coffee maker in the room but it did have a safe.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerarlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We've booked through expedia and got a nice deal. The reviews here say it all. We've stayed for 11 days, and I asked for a room with a kitchenette (microwave, sink and fridge). It was wonderful to be able to have breakfast and a light dinner at times in the room (great save). (king bed rooms don't have kitchenettes - we didn't try the buffet) It reminded me of my experience at Ballys in Vegas: old, outdated, clean, excellent beds and HUGE rooms! We had a flat screen TV and good sunlight from the window. Air conditioning worked very well. We were walking distance from Jazz at Lincoln Center, Carnegie Deli, Times Square and Central Park; Whole Foods and another supermarket, that I won't remember the name. Plus, whatever we could imagine, like, "I need scotch tape", there, in the corner, "I need band aid" drugstore across the street. Subways on each corner (yellow and orange lines) YOU CAN"T BEAT THE LOCATION! We walked a lot, everyday, everywhere, all day and felt extremely safe, even when coming back from a dinner or concert late at night. We didn't do the broadway shows (not our thing) but I can imagine coming and going walking to the theaters. I am recommending it and definitely staying here again! Oh, did I mention? HUGE ROOMS!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafkiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Property: Salisbury Hotel
Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing