We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frederick Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$472
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveller rating
705
892
295
110
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
892
295
110
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosmopolitan hotelchambers streetwest broadwaysubway stationtribeca areabrooklyn bridgenew yorkstarbucks downstairsbattery parklower manhattanslow elevatorworld trade centerrooms are smalldouble bedwalking distancestreet noisethe financial district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It was less expensive than most other options. Room was pokily small, with no view to the outside. There is no restaurant on the premises, so breakfast was an over-priced adjacent cafe. Toilet blocked and air-conditioner did not seem to respond to simple instructions. Its noise was a problem all night. It may represent good value in NYC, but does NYC represent good value? Not compared with other world centres!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear PhineasFogg54,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. Please note that we have a variety of room layouts with rooms that have outside views as well. Our Cosmopolitan Cafe along with Starbucks are located within the building and provide our guests many food options. We hope that you will come back and try a different room type, please feel free to contact me directly so I can make the reservation for you.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've stayed here a few times in the past and thought it was a great hotel but this time was different. We had an expensive room facing the street which was incredibly noisy, really difficult to sleep. It was also hot as air con was loud and ceiling fan only had one setting - on. The beds were squeaky and we were only given 2 small pillows. The room was big but all in all, we wouldn't go back despite really having enjoyed it in the past and liking the area. If you do stay there, absolutely ask for a room not facing the street and don't think that reserving the most expensive room gets you the most comfortable room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Anne-Maree S,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay last month. Please note that we do have many rooms that face the back of the hotel and are quiet. We also want to let you know that beginning next year the hotel will receive many upgrades including a central air system. New York City has seasonal rates with the Fall Season having higher rates due to many events and conventions taking place. There are other times of the year where the rates vary. We hope you will return in the near future, please contact me directly so I can make a reservation for you.

Sincerely,

Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Really great location right in Tribeca, and great value, which is getting harder to find - when most the nicer hotels are $500+, Cosmopolitan was less than half per night. Room was simple, but decent sized, and extremely comfortable bed w/ fluffy duvet and decent desk (wish it had a desk lamp). Free WiFi was appreciated, and there's room service available for breakfast. The bathroom was one of the smallest I've seen - just inches between the sink and toilet and shower, but everything was very clean, and the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries were a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear SDTraveler01,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor in regard to your stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel - TriBeCa. We are happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the convenience of the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast from our restaurant. Please note that in the year since you last stayed with us, there have been many upgrades including now having CO Bigelow bath amenities. We hope you will return in the near future, please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of future updates and special offers.

SIncerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here with my friends over a long weekend. I usually try to stay in a different area each time I visit NYC. The room itself was pretty small, however, it was very clean. The bathroom was also small, but it was clean as well. There weren't many amenities in the room, since it is very small, but the staff was very helpful and responded quickly to our requests.

What I liked:
- we parked in NJ and took the train to Manhattan. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station (world trade centre)
- subway right outside
- starbucks next door, whole foods one block away
- close proximity (walking) to shopping, and Little Italy and Chinatown

What I disliked:
- very noisy a/c unit
- small window

I would recommend anyone looking for a hotel in Manhattan in the mid-range budget. But if you are picky and like newer hotels, then you would not like this place. It is a bit older, but is clean, and I would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachtree1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear peachtree1111,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your room was very clean, our staff helpful and that you enjoyed the convenience of our location. Please note that next year we will be upgrading the hotel and will be installing a central air system. We hope you will be back in the future, and that you will follow us on social media and through our website so we can send you our special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Booked through Last Minute and got a good price.

Room was small but only really used as a base - air conditioning had a bit of a rank smell at first but got used to it quickly. Large TV, sink in room rather than bathroom which worked really well for two girls sharing! Shower fine, small, but relative to cost. Hotel was immaculate, great reception with huge Macs and a machine to print off boarding passes etc.

I LOVED the neighbourhood. Really chilled, not in the hustle and bustle of Times Square but subway outside with 1, 2 & 3 trains. Other trains accessible. Easy walk to financial district, WTC and Century 21!

Good brunch places nearby! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paper_Lanterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Paper_Lanterns,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be quite clean, our Mac computers in our lobby to be a valuable amenity, and that you enjoyed our Tribeca location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, please subscibe to our website so we cansend you our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews