We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #241 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We were 4 friends from South Africa that stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. It honestly made our first trip to New York that much better.. close to the subway, friendly staff that was always willing to help, comfortable beds, and always clean.

Thanks so much and when we come back to New York, we will definitely stay at the hotel again!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sandy N,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient, our staff friendly and helpful, and that your room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can notify you of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    841
    271
    102
    68
See reviews for
337
564
165
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Very noisy hotel. We didn't get a good nights sleep at this hotel. You can hear all the traffic outside, people talking on street, police sirens etc. Doors slamming all night long and then you hear the maids in early morning.
Room is small but clean. Bed was comfortable but bed was near the window so we felt a cold draft coming in from the window. I thought the window was open but it wasn't.
There was only one elevator and it was slow and the stairs are very narrow and my friend tripped up them.
One of the front desk staff was very rude and abrupt. She should not be working at the front desk. She made our stay unpleasant.
We will not be staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank fuzzypufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear fuzzypufflet,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We value your feedback. Please note that we have quiet rooms that face the back of the hotel, and that all of our windows are double paned. This year we will be installing an additional elevator as part of the planned upgrades.We apologize for any issues you experienced, it was not the level of service that we strive to offer our guests. As you can see from our reviews we pride ourselves on providing the highest level of service. We hope that you will return, please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband, daughter, foreign exchange daughter and I traveled to New York City for the Christmas holiday. Our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel was excellent. It is extremely close to several subway lines and has its own adjoining restaurant, as well as many other eateries (pizza, Chinese, etc.) in very close proximity, which includes a Starbucks right next door. Additionally, several clothes and shoe stores are nearby. In short, the Cosmopolitan is in a wonderful location, which will be even more enjoyable when the weather warms up.

The hotel was warm and inviting and the staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The room size was comparable to many other NYC hotels and I believe it was a good value for the money. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff did well tidying up and re-stocking the room. The only complaints we had were that the room was chilly and there was no thermostat accessible for guests to control the temperature. We had to call the front desk attendant, whom immediately sent up a maintenance man to adjust some valves near the floor vents, which resulted in the room warming up. Unfortunately, the room cooled off again during the night so we just dealt with it. Also, as mentioned earlier, housekeeping did a good job for the most part, however, they did not clean the tub every day of our five day stay.

To sum it up, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca and I recommend it strongly. Don't be afraid to skip the chain hotels and give this wonderful boutique hotel a try. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Chambers St, which was a little noisy at night. We didn't mind, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear IndyO,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and professional, your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed being in Tribeca. We are glad to know that the many local restaurants were to your liking and that having the subway on our corner was quite convenient. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I loved staying here. I travelled alone and arrived late in the evening to a very warm welcome. The room was nicely equipped, clean and fresh. I thought it was great value for money and in a great location. The subway station is right outside and there is a wonderful cafe below which does delicious breakfasts etc. I would definitely stay again. Thank you! Xx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear RachaelM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be fresh and clean, and were given a warm welcome on your arrival. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of having the subway right on our corner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can stay in touch

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Room size very typically small for NYC, about what I expected. The lack of heating control also typical in the city, open the window if it is too hot, or turn off heat completely. (with temperatures rising each day, we had some unpleasantly hot nights) Very clean. Small elevator, very slow, meant planning ahead to leave time for a 4 to 5 minute wait at elevator--or be surprised that no one else was using. Lovely cafe affiliated next door. Staffing and service amazing for such a small hotel. a block and a half from Zucker's, great place for bagels. Requested room in back after reading reviews and it was very, very quiet. No construction work during Christmas week anyway.

Room Tip: would have preferred a King bedroom. think it might have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abaconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear abaconut,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very quiet, our level of service was excellent and that you enjoyed Zuckers which is located just one block away. Please note that we will be renovating and adding an additional elevator. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can inform you of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Good small hotel. Good service. Excellent service by Bellman Hazi with bags and limo during 4 day stay.

Comp NY Times each day. Restaurants nearby. Construction on street nearby. Abt 250 per day. 24 hr notice to check out early.

X. X. Y. Y. Y. X. C. X. X. X. X. X. X. C. C.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbillieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Jbillieray,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff provided an excellent level of service, and that you enjoyed the complimentary New York Times that we provide for our guests each day. We are also glad to hear that you appeciated the quality of the neighborhood restaurants. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, HI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I booked this hotel because I was looking for an affordable, clean hotel for my husband and I and 9 year old son to stay in, which felt like quite a challenge in NYC! I initially booked a Deluxe Double with Sofa as I was informed that the sofa does fold out into a twin sized sleeper; however when we arrived at 8AM after an overnight flight from Hawaii we were more than thrilled to be upgraded to a Deluxe Double Double room that was available right away. Many thanks to the friendly and accommodating front desk staff for that, as we were exhausted!
As I grew up in NY I was expecting a large room from this hotel, particularly knowing that it is in an older building in Tribeca, NOT a high-rise in Times Square! I prepared my family to anticipate limited space inside the room and we packed light as always (one rolling carry on per person). It WAS a tight squeeze but we were all comfortable and used the room only to sleep and shower in anyway, so if your family doesn't wish to spend hours building pillow-forts on the floor of the hotel room, this might work out fine for you, too.
The room was CLEAN. Spotlessly clean, cleaner than my own house. And I always check the mattresses for bed-bug eggs, and they were clean as well.
As far as noise goes, it is true that the city was ripping up Chambers St. the whole time that we were there all through the middle of the night, and there are bars nearby and this is the city that never sleeps, so noise was to be expected. Our room faced Chambers Street. We closed the windows and ran the AC window unit at night and slept like babies, never hearing a thing.
Cafes and restaurants nearby are prolific and delicious, we were walking distance to the 9/11 memorial and the SI ferry, and steps away from the subway (the 1 and 9 trains will take you to midtown where you can shuttle over to the east side or continue to the UWS...in other words you can get to all your tourist destinations quickly, safely and inexpensively).
For those who have not spent time in NY before, Tribeca is a safe, family friendly neighborhood.
My family and I all agree that we would stay in this hotel again for the value that it provided to us i.e. cost per night : location, cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJeanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear AJeanneM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us this October. We are happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating, your room was very clean and that you enjoyed staying in Tribeca. We are also glad to hear that you appreciated the convenience of having the subway right on the corner, and the amount of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please stay in touch with us.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
600 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#182 of 468 in New York City
1,394 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#60 of 468 in New York City
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#192 of 468 in New York City
572 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 468 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing