We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel did not meet our expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #244 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel did not meet our expectations. We stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel for three nights over Spring Break with our kids. They have no Concierge services and no one to help with dining or activity suggestions. The staff was also unable to provide proper directions as they did not know where most places were located. It would be helpful if the front desk staff or bell man became familiar with the area and subway system. Our air conditioning unit was also not working for the first two nights of our stay. The room was so hot we could not sleep or get ready in the mornings. We complained three times before they fixed the unit. It should have been handled right away. We requested our rate (we were paying more than their highest advertised rate) to be adjusted for the first two nights. They were unwilling to do anything but give us $25 off of our bill. This was not even half the tax of one nights stay. I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FunTravelsX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is prime, the staff are amazing ie. Marcella, Josh, John, Naxia, Jean, Jorge and so on...they are all so friendly, knowledgeable and willing to help which added to the great stay at this hotel! We'll definitely be going back and highly recommend it to all!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Natalie L.,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that both our Housekeeping and Front Office staff were helpful and friendly. We look forward to your return, please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff! Room was always clean. My bed wasn't as comfortable as the last time I stayed but it was okay. The elevator is very tiny and slow but that's what comes with an old property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Janet K,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and your room very clean. Please stay in touch with us by following us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice, clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. Perfect location in Tribeca.
Only one minus, bring earplugs. Windows not soundproof and there is a lot of traffic round the clock. or ask for room not towards West Brodway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear iceagelomma,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our location. Please note that we do have rooms that face the back of the hotel and are very quiet. We hope to see you again in the near future, please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep in touch.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cosmopolitan is right across the street from a subway stop and right next door to a Starbucks!! The staff was helpful, the room was clean and the price was moderate. Overall a really great value! We were on the second floor which meant it was loud all night long. In addition, the room was cold our first night. However, when we told the front desk they brought us a space heater that made a huge difference! The toilet wouldn't flush and the water ran all day and night. But I would stay here again. For the price you cannot beat it!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was noisy all night! Request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Samantha R,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that your room was very clean. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of both tthe subway stop and Starbucks being right on the corner. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance, we look forward to having you return in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for eight nights. The price we paid for the room was excellent value. The room was comfortable and well decorated, not to mention spotless. The bed was very comfortable if a bit on the small side. The room was a good size, not small as I had been lead to believe it would be from other reviews. I found the staff to be very helpful if we asked anything too. The location itself is Tribeca in lower Manhattan. It's very safe and a nice area, lots of little cafes and things nearby (Try Tinys close by for an amazing breakfast, and Mudville9 for excellent bar food) The ferry to the statue of liberty is a short walk from the hotel as is Century 21. The hotel is also very conveniently located with a subway station literally at the entrance to the hotel. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back (not facing the street) and there was no noise, so maybe ask for this if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmashedPumpkinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear SmashedPumpkins,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our staff was friendly and that the nearby restaurants, sightseeing attractions,and shopping were excellent. Please follow us on social media and through our website so we can inform you of our special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had a great stay here with my daughter last week-end. Since we are rarely in the room on our trips to New York, I was looking for good location to serve as a base for our outings and a reasonable rate. Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca fit the bill! It was POURING most of the time we were there and the subway just a few steps from the door couldn't have been more convenient. In addition, we were able to walk to so many of the places we enjoy visiting. I booked one of the loft style rooms and was expecting a closet, but was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room! Our room was at the back of the hotel and completely quiet! It was very clean and staff are very friendly and quick to serve. My only complaint was that the loft area of the room was VERY warm. We kept the window open most of the time (luckily, with the location of our room it was quiet and we could do this). A ceiling fan in the room helps, but I just wish we could have controlled the temp of the room. A small complaint for an otherwise wonderful stay. No doubt, we will return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Katie S,
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and we are happy to hear that having the subway on our corner was a great convenience. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future, please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can let you know about our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#196 of 469 in New York City
643 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 469 in New York City
512 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#316 of 469 in New York City
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#262 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#29 of 469 in New York City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £118 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing