We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting our son who lives nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #245 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Check-in staff were rude and we needed to argue about the special summer deal we had booked. Eventually they honoured our original booking but only after a lot of unpleasantness. We booked the cheapest room with just one double - it really was too small. This was not good value given the extremely small room. The location is good and nearby a the subway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Robyn O,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regard to our package offer. We hope that you will give us another chance. Please note that we do have various room layouts and sizes. Please contact me directly so that I can personally make a future reservation for you, we appreciate your consideration.

Sincerely,

Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel! Very disappointed on check in as we were advised in the UK we had booked a large family suite. Actually had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed and a small bathroom but it was beautiful and clean with fresh new towels and toiletries. Room was very quiet at the back of the hotel and air con was noisy but very effective. Great cleaning service throughout our stay.
Room had a large TV and Internet access was great. Dropped off occasionally but hey it was free!
Excellent service from front desk, offered umbrellas to walk to the restaurant for breakfast!
Starbucks on tap right next door is fab. Subway just outside to get you around all the sights quickly and much cheaper than taxis.
Great restaurants round about too.

Overall for the price I would recommend this to anyone coming to NY for pleasure. Would certainly stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lbarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Lbarkes,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our service was excellent and that you enjoyed the convenience of having Starbucks and the subway both right on our corner. Please stay in touch with us through social media and our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for one night at the Cosmopolitan. Had not stayed at this properly before - most other hotels in the area were full so decided to try it for a change. This hotel is trying hard but there's only so much you can do with an older property.

I asked for a room not facing the street, which was fine. However, with a big downpour of rain all night, I could hear big drops of water hitting the air conditioning unit - so loud it kept me awake most of the night. Ended up putting in earplugs to get me through the night.

Bathroom was somewhat renovated but tight quarters. Water pressure was not great and bathtub took over 45 minutes to drain from my shower. Not exactly a comfortable shower when you haven't slept well the night before. Kudos though for the overly-comfortable towels (in fact, I'd say these were the best hotel towels I've ever used .. too bad about the drain in the bathtub!). Also the hotel has some high end toiletries that I've seen in high end boutique hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank YYZtotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear YYZtotheworld,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality of our towels and our CO Bigelow Apothecary bathroom amenities. We have many different types of rooms and layouts and we hope you will return in the near future to experience them. Please contact me directly so I can make a reservation for you.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is in walking distance to Ground Zero! Hotel is very clean (rooms are quiet), and the size of the rooms and lobby compare to the standard European hotels, which are smaller than the typical grandiose, mega American hotels. For NYC, this hotel is nicely appointed, very reasonable priced (~$250/night, 2 beds), very clean, large screen tv, free internet, no restaurant (but the area is loaded with restaurants), and the best thing of all --- Starbucks right next door!! Valet parking is an awesome deal - ~$55 for 24 hours! Can't get that everywhere in NYC. Valet your car, and opt to take the subway uptown for your Broadway show, after your casual walk to see Ground Zero.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Virginia S,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed how convenient our location is to all there is to do and see in Manhattan. Please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep in touch.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place was really cute. We got put into a loft room, there were 3 of us so we needed a pull out plus a queen bed... the room itself was narrow and had a table with 2 chairs and a stuffed chair. The ceiling was high because there was a stairwell up to the loft portion... the loft has a low ceiling, so beware- we thought it had a lot of character and was really cool up the stairs to be honest. It was a little hard to remember not to try and stand up though because you would definitely hit your head! It had a TV up there and one down the stairs. The pull out was just a chair that pulled out into a skinny single like a cot, but it worked somehow with 3 chicks in one room and a real small bathroom.Seemed like an older hotel by the elevator, which moved a little slower than most. But they had a lot of technology in their lobby and a gym which was cool. Location was awesome, a starbucks and a bunch of awesome pizza joints and bars right on the street. Dunkin donuts and 7-11 around the corner. It was a really great stay, and the people were really friendly too. Comfortable bed is always a plus!

Room Tip: Loft is probably good for kids only or if you like the idea of 2 floors and don't mind crouching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Morgan K,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our neighborhood along with our Business Center and Fitness Room. Please note we have a variety of room layouts and sizes. We hope to see you again in the near future, please stay in touch with us through social media and our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Doesn't look like much from the outside but it is very nicely decorated inside, modern and clean. Very small - as most property is in New York! Starbucks outside, very useful. Excellent location, just a short walk from subway, Chinatown and Battery Park areas.

The room was great, there were three of us and it wasn't crowded at all. Very clean, excellent maid service. The real treat was the concierge, he was excellent and so helpful and nice. Really brilliant person to be the first one you meet.

The cafe round the corner did fantastic breakfast - the pancakes were great.

I would recommend Zuckers the bagel bar down the street and the pizza place just before McDonalds - the woman in there is amazing and so lovely! Pizza was GREAT. Bubby's which isn't too far away either is very good for breakfast.

I would go again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Megan C,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our staff was helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the various eating establishments in the neighborhood. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room was very small, with no wardrobe, but it was clean. Besides, hotel position was great, close to Brooklyn Bridge. Different Metro lines were in 2 blocks range, allowing to reach Brooklyn, Midtown or Uptown in 20 minutes at max.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogio76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear cogio76,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us last month. We are pleased to hear that you were able to easily see and do all you had planned because of the convenience of our location. Please note that we have various room types and sizes and hope you will be back soon to try out a different one. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#197 of 469 in New York City
643 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 469 in New York City
512 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#317 of 469 in New York City
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#264 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#29 of 469 in New York City
576 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £117 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing