We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for location and room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #243 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value for location and room!”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Stayed here for 3-4 days in early June 2008.

Great location! In Tribeca area, within walking distances to Wall Street, Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Close to a subway.. red and blue line I think? But public transportation in NYC is fantastic, easily accessible and pretty simple to navigate once you get the hang of it.
Small coffee shops, eateries, and 24hour convenience store located nearby too. And they have a cafe and a Starbucks on 1st floor of hotel.

The room was small, but clean. Only complaint was that our washroom didn't have a fan/air ventilation/window, so got a bit steamy/damp after showers.. A/C was great as we ended up being in NYC during the heat wave last year. As there was construction during our stay, they accommodated our request for a room facing the back. Therefore, not much of a view, but no loud construction/car disturbances either. This may not be a problem anymore if construction is completed?

Overall, great value for location and room; nothing fancy but you're in NYC to explore, not to stay in your room.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branmoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    834
    269
    100
    67
See reviews for
331
558
165
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Had a wonderful time staying at this hotel.
Great value and a great location.
The staff were delightful, and 1would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My friends and I had the room with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The location was great right next to the subway entrances, and walking distance to some attractions. Didn't have a great view but we only slept in the room. We were to busy with New York. The room did get hot (central heating seems to be on most of the time), but we had an AC that fixed the temperature for us. I would definitely stay here again! We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights. They even let us check in earlier then planned. We got in early and our room was ready for us when we got there at 9am! Wonderful staff, clean room, and great location!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeniceCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Great location - if you want to be in Tribeca - tube lines are very good and lots of nice restaurants in the area...
Relative to other hotels this was very reasonably priced - we got by far the best deal through hotel connxions on line.
Room was very clean but basic with small bathrooms. Rooms at the front of the hotel have insufficient double glazing for the street noise if you're not a heavy sleeper -cue axle grinders and taxi horns at 5am. Rooms were very hot during the night and not able to turn off the radiators as all controlled from a central boiler - hence the higher up the hotel you are the warmer it'll be. There is air conditioning but it's quite noisy so take ear plugs.
My advise - opt for a room at the rear of the hotel which is quieter - how much do you really want a view of the street when you're out during the day and trying to sleep at night?
Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

we stayed at the Cosmo for a week and enjoyed it, except the elevator didn't always work and the noise from the street (if you facing Broadway) woke us up early. Great access to subway and very close to lower Manhattan sights such as Tribeca, Chinatown, Little Italy, Wall Street, and Ground Zero. Lots of good restaurants and bars around the area and seems very safe. Great spot!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenbukaiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cosmopolitan for two nights in early December. We were not disappointed with the hotel -- it was exactly how I expected it to be.

The hotel is in what I would consider an ideal location: far enough from the crazy crowds of midtown but in a cool area within steps of a subway station. It took us about 10-15 minutes on the subway to get to the shops on Fifth Ave, Macy's, Central Park, etc and you can walk to the Financial District, the Brooklyn Bridge, SoHo, and so on. The hotel is on a busy street but we did not have a street-facing room so the noise didn't bother us at all. There are plenty of cafés, restaurants and bars in the area.

We arrived early in the day, and our room wasn't ready yet, but the staff stored our luggage for us until the afternoon. The room itself was very small with a teeny bathroom, but immaculately clean and nicely-decorated. For the price I would say it was a bargain for sure. The only thing I didn't enjoy was that the heat was blasting out of the radiator the whole time, making the room much too warm, but an open window solved that problem. Other than that it was perfect for our needs.

This isn't the type of place you should go if you like amenities and service, but if you're just concerned with having a roof over your head, a comfy and clean bed and a great location, by all means this is perfect.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and value.
  • Disliked — Tropical environment in room.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Brilliant little hotel in New York. Clean, adequate sized room & bathroom, comfy bed, flatscreen tv. Everything you need for a stay in the city.

If you want to be located right in the middle of Times Square then this isn't for you. But if you don't mind being a short subway ride from the centre it's perfect. Located across the road from 1, 2 & 3 and only a 5 min walk from the 4, 5 & 6 (and the Brooklyn bridge!) this is the perfect location to experience real life in the city, while still being within easy reach of the sights/shops.

There's a starbucks & a dunkin donuts on the same street as the hotel & a couple of nice restaurants within 5 minutes walk. There's also a great little nail salon 2 doors down!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing