We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is my first stay at the Plaza Hotel Doubletree Guest Suites time. We were 7 days. The room was spacious and the view was incredible. Everyone at the reception desk was courteous. The rooms were great, the beds are comfortable, clean. We had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. The spectacular location of the hotel is right across from TKTS where you can find discount tickets for Broadway. The hospitality that radiates this hotel is excellent. It is a good hotel to go with families.

Room Tip: We were on floor 16 and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALHENRIQUEZ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,037
    2,553
    717
    230
    148
See reviews for
3,871
1,306
185
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Hotel is located at the intersection of 47th Street, 7th Avenue, and Broadway. The Broadway pedestrian mall and TKTS booth is literally 50 feet from the entrance. Rooms are standard upscale DoubleTree suite rooms (basically an Embassy Suites floorplan with nicer furnishings). Very quiet.

Quick cab ride to and from both Grand Central and Penn Stations (~$12). Short walk to most theaters. Restaurant is very pricey for breakfast (get a breakfast package if you want to eat there). Fast food (McDonalds) is close, as well as a nice "hole in the wall deli (47th Street deli) around the corner, and a Pret a Manger at 47th and 6th Avenue.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

What can you say about the location when you look out your window and directly into Times Square! Rooms were great. We were right next to lifts and when we first got there we thought it would be noisy, well to our surprise it wasnt at all. Rooms were great, beds comfortable, all clean. We had a problem with heating as room was very hot when we got there, it was fixed within about 30 minutes of call. Information Desk was brilliant for everything, young lady (sorry forgot her name) was absolutely brilliant. Only grip was that internet in rooms was very expensive and when we used computer to print out tickets for basketball pricing was also very expensive. Free Wi-fi in reception area however. Two rooms meant it is perfect for families. Great experience and wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: times square views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Where to start with this hotel. I decided to go with this hotel after reading the reviews on here and it was definitely the right choice. Stayed for 5 nights. From the moment I stepped foot in the door and got those warm cookies to the moment I left everything went perfect. We had a Time Square view room and i was shocked how quiet it was and the black out blinds truly blocked out the lights. The layout and size of the room were perfect. To get a room that size in NY is rare and the facilities in the room really helped. I filled the fridge with snacks and drinks for myself and having the safe meant you could store any valuables and feel safe.
All the staff were so friendly and would help you best they can.
And the location is just perfect. Short walk to almost everywhere you want to go including, rockefeller, macys, empire state building, large number of shows, and I guess time square isn't too far away either ;-)
My one major complaint would be the bed was too comfortable. I found it hard to get up in the morning :-) It might be the city that never sleeps but all I wanted to do was sleep.

Next time I am back in New York this will be the only place I would stay. It made sure it was a perfect break away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Ma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is my 4th stay at the Doubletree Guest Suites time square. I came her for my daughter's 14th birthday with her cousin and my mother. As usual the room was spotless and the view was amazing. Everyone at the Front desk was courteous and pleasant. If there was one incident that put a shadow on the stay was the day we were leaving.
We had our bags brought down and stored while we finished some last minute shopping. Being it was my daughters birthday we had some leftover cake in a very sturdy cardboard box that we asked to store with the other items. The cake was from planet hollywood and we were bringing it home to share with her dad because he could not come with us. Unfortunately the Bellman miguel who brought out our luggage was careless and quite insensative. He joking said to his colleuge that the cart fell over. I immediatley asked if the cake was ok and he said : oh i guess. i pointed to where it was and he shrugged his shoulders. we then went down the put the luggage in the car and he proceeded to pick up the box with the cake in it, turn it upside down and at the same time I said :wait , that his the cake, he said "oh yea well how should I hold it, which at that point he turned it sideways.

well by then I grabbed the box and opened it only to find the cake all ruined and sqaushed. miguel laughed and said oh yea guess i souldn't do that. my daughter was quite upset and heart broken but it was his attitude. He offered $5 for the cake. which by the was was $35. At that point it was not about the money but about my daughters birthday cake and his insensitive attitude. If it was not for Jimmy the other bellman I would have thought all of them were like that. Jimmy was kind and quite aplogetic which he should not have to do. it was not his fault. He is a class act. miquel should take lessons.

I did go back upstairs with the ruined cake and spoke to the manager . He did reimburse me the money for the cake but actually the point was no one should be carelss and insentive.

moral of the story. when in times square and staying at the doubletree : ask for Jimmy. He is the best and classiest as well as funny bellmand at the hotel. I hope he is there when I go back!!!.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dollypoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear dollypoop,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with our bellman. We have already addressed the issue with our staff, and we will make sure this does not happen again. We deeply appreciate your loyalty with our hotel, and we want to restore your confidence. We would love an opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of accommodation you have every right to expect from DoubleTree!

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Have just spent 4 nights here and highly recommend it. Room size excellent. Beds are very comfortable. Sleep quality excellent considering the noisy bustling location. There was no noise from Times Sq below. Breakfasts not included in cost but well worth the extra. Very plentiful and lots of choice. The only minor complaint I have is that on check out we had several mini bar items added to our bill which had not been used. These were removed on enquiry. So check before leaving. All in all a great place to stay in fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquamarina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is amazing! We stayed at the DoubleTree from 13th to 17th February. The service is fantastic. Two of the desk staff in particular were extremely helpful and kind throughout our time there (Michael and "Sheriff Daniel"). It's right in the heart of everything. Situated in Times Square, you walk out the doors of the hotel and you're straight in the thick of it. There's subway stations all round (within a five minute walk) to get you anywhere else in the city you want to go. It's also real close to Central Park and many other sites. The hotel was clean, spacious and our view was amazing (we were on the 39th floor). Me and my partner got engaged while we were there and the staff were fantastic by putting champagne in our room (thanks Sheriff!!!) It made the whole day unbelievably special. The staff continued to make us feel special by congratulating us and generally being welcoming and friendly. The room had all the amenities we would want and more: microwave, fridge, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would hope to go back again one day. Perfect! Stay at the DoubleTree if you want a fantastic New York experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,787 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,174 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,891 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing