We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, spacious and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #185 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel was perfect for our trip to NYC. The suite was large enough to accommodate three of us. We were on a high floor and could not hear a thing despite being in the middle of Times Square - the sound insulation was excellent. The drapes were very heavy, so kept the bright lights out at night as well. The hotel was an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. We were able to walk to all of the attractions, shows and shops on Fifth Avenue as well as nearby restaurants. Although I travel to NYC frequently on business and we used to live there years ago, this was a rare visit at tourists and this turned out to be an excellent base for our visit. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was a bit run of the mill, but then you cannot have everything.

My only issue was that I tried to extend my stay by arriving a day ahead. The room we had booked was a bit more expensive, which I was willing to pay. However, I was told we would have to pay the higher rate for our entire stay, not just for the extra day. That was bizarre. So we ended up keeping our original reservation at the lower rate and spent the extra day elsewhere - that was a bit of an inconvenience but the other hotel was very good as well, so it worked out well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,597 - 5,603 of 8,222 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

The only suite hotel on Times Square, this is the perfect spot for a group to enjoy a weekend in NY. The Living Room/Bedroom suite combination is great for a family or group of friends, has all the amenities, refrigerator, mini bar, microwave, huge bathroom, and terrific views. Pull out sofa adequate, not the best. Buffet breakfast is excellent, room service, too. Entrance right off Times Square opposite Tkts red steps, great spot to enjoy the noise and crowds and then escape to peace and quiet. Service is good, concierge helpful, and bag check a great idea to stretch out your NY stay. Only complaint - lobby level coffee/bar needs to serve coffee all day long, this is the city that never sleeps!!

Room Tip: Low numbers look straight down on Times Square and Tkts Red steps - 01 or 02s. Odd numbers face Tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed there when we were in NYC on our way to India you have to love a hotel that greets you with a chocolate chip cookiee and you go out front door and in Time Square the rooms were comfortable and roomy we had breakfast which was great we truly enjoyed our stay but if you can afford to aleast one night stay here

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights in February and the hotel was reasonably priced, our hotel room overlooked Times Square. The staff is friendly, very helpful and the warm chocolate cookies available day or night were unbelievably delicious. This was our first trip to NYC and when we return, we will definitely stay here once again!!! The location is ideal and in the "heart" of everything. We were very impressed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Times Square "view"....it's incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Doubletree is in a great location right in the middle of times square.
The staff were very unhelpful and didnt really go out of the way to make the stay more pleasant.
Our plane landed and we arrived at 8am asking if there would be a possibility to check in a little earlier if its available only to get snapped at saying check in is at 2pm.....though we didn't get our room til 3pm.
The rooms were ok, and clean though the aircon didnt seem to circulate properly.
we had a view of times square

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50opd2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear 50opd2j,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with our staff and AC unit in the room. Although our check in time is at 3pm, we usually allow our guest to check in earlier if the rooms are available. We always strive to provide the perfect service to our guests. I would really appreciate if you can provide more information on your stay, so we can address the issues and continue to improve our service. While I know you have many hotel choices in NYC, I sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again. We would love an opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of accommodations you have every right to expect from DoubleTree.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you want to be in the middle of Times Square, this is offers an excellent location. Please be aware though that Times Square is NOT necessarily the best location to visit NYC. It is claustrophobia-inducing and feels like Disney World. I digress.
I thought the Doubletree was great. The rooms were clean. The decor was nothing fancy and the view was sort of blah. I was surprised by the size of the rooms (I thought they would be a bit larger) but for NYC they were fine. We had a standard king room and fit three adults and one teenager comfortably. I booked the stay using hhonors points, and as a Diamond member, I was entitled to a space available upgrade. There was no mention of this at check-in, so I assumed there was nothing available. When I checked on the website and saw plenty of better rooms I called the desk and was told they were sold out. I didn't argue, as our room was comfortable enough.
The breakfast was standard Hilton eggs/bacon/pastries. They had soy milk for my coffee!
Location is the main selling point here. We walked to Terminal 5 for two concerts- it was about a twenty minute walk. I felt that this hotel was a good use for my hhonors points.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonoGirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I took our 14 year old son for a 4 day weekend for his March break. Location, location, location!!!! you could not be more in the thick of things if you wanted. Its great. You also have a great view of time square - lots of fun!

We had a deal with a one bedroom suite - it was great - big room. We had a bedroom and my son had the living area with the pull out couch and a large screen tv. There is also a microwave and fridge in the room in a small kitchen area. We did not have a table and chairs to sit but the couch and a chair makes up for it.

There are tons of restaurants, its in the theatre district - its also central to all the tour bus operators - its about two blocks from the gray line buses as well. Hop on and hop off is the best way to get around to see things - but you can walk almost everywhere. Plenty of things to eat. The hotel is pricy at the restaurant but sometimes they offer free breakfast with your room - take it!!! its not a continental breakfast its a hot and cold buffet and is well worth it plenty of things to eat for everyone.

There is free wi-fi in lobby and in business center but it is not user friendly. They have a business center but they charge $5 per $15 minutes for use of the computers so its pricy.

Room Tip: As for higher floors and facing central park - there is a lot to see!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,825 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 469 in New York City
6,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 469 in New York City
11,300 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing