We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on busy and crowded Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #189 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Double Tree Guest Suites, Times Square, New York

The Double Tree Guest Suites is a great hotel if you can stand living in the center of the melting tourist pot Times Square. It's no joke, Times Square can sometimes be so crowded that you feel like you're at a Justin Bieber concert. Since they've closed Broadway for cars on Times Square, it attracks even more people. The Double Tree Guest Suites is situated on the other side of the Times Square clock, and the be more presise I think this end is called Duffy Square.

Be aware that the neon lights are so powerful that solid curtains are needed, if your room face Times Square. The neon lights never rests, but you need some from now and then, becauses the impressions of this great city will wear you out.

The Double Tree Guest Suites is a clean hotel, it's an "only suites" hotel, meaning you probably have good space even if you travel as a family of 4. All the rooms are spacious.

The hallway has a lot of dead space, so I guess you can ad a singlebed in the hallway if needed. The room door is well secured, not that I think this is needed. The room har has 3 locks, but in general I think the hotel seems safe without all the locks.
New York has become very tourist friendly and safety has been an prioritized issue. New York, Manhattan is by my opinion far more safe then lots of European cities, including Oslo, Norway.

The wardrobe/closet is separated with a door. Inside it you'll find a huge safe. It's huge, almost like a small refridgerator, or like the refridgerators you can store wine in. The size is great, you can fit all your valuables in here and then some at the same time, this including photo gear with big lenses (500mm), jewelry, laptops, yes I think everything fits in the safe.

The livingroom has good space too. It contains a sofa and coffee table, a desk, a drawer, big flat LG screen (42") with the most common HD channels for free.

The bedroom has a comfy bed, we had a queen size. There are a drawer on each side of the bed and there is a bigger drawer in the front of the bed against the wall with another 42" flatscreen tv.
The bathroom is also huge. It has everything including a bath tub.

The only negative thing about this hotel is the lack of free Wi-Fi at your room. To access the free Wi-Fi, you must drag yourself down to the lobby and connect there for free. In 2012 I feel the need to leave the room to connect to free Wi-Fi for un-practical.

This was my second time at this hotel. But you should review the needs for a Times Square view. Previously I've had view facing Central Park, and without the blending Neon lights, I think this is a good choice to select. If you want a great view, visit "the Rock" or "the Empire State Building".

Must do's:
- Shopping: Century 21 is the best place to do bargins. By my opinion, it beats Woodbury's Premium Outlets (which also would cost per person about USD 42 in bus tickets).
- Shopping: Macy's. Never wrong to pay this place a visit. It's more expensive then Century 21. But the selection is huge!
- Eating: Quality Meats. The restaurant close to 7th avenue and 58 street is a bit expensive restaurant. But the service is unique and the food is very good.
- Eating: The burger joint on Le Meridien Parker Hotel. Behind some hideous curtains in the hotel lobby, you'll find The Burger Joint. This place is ultra hip! Try the "works".
- Sights: Central Park is a must!
- When to travel: Avoid the summer months! It's too hot! In March/April when spring sets in, then the time is perfect. Less tourists and blooming trees are spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Central Park is not so much affected by powerful neon-lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,635 - 5,641 of 8,284 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Doubletree and was amazed at how courteous and helpful the front desk staff was. I had never been to NYC and visiting on St Patrick's Day was especially hectic, the front desk manager, Ms Amanda Berman, went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. She helped point us to a fantastic restaurant and imparted her knowledge of New York on out of towners that gave us a very unique and amazing visit. Although my next visit to NYC will probably not be as busy a weekend as St Patrick's day I am positive I will be staying at the Double Tree Suites in Times Square thanks to the courtesy of the hotel staff and the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Myself and two sisters stayed here from 5-10 March 2012, for my sisters 40th birthday. Check in went well no queue and we were given our complementary warm cookies, we paid for a view of times square, but could not see too much (little disappointed) we also had paid for breakfast each morning which was delightful - a selection of different choices really nice, the table attendants where on the ball filling up glasses, cups when needed.
The gym was open 24/7 which was great.
The rooms where clean and spacious for NYC standards - but to be honest we where only in there to sleep.
All in all a really nice stay

Room Tip: Go to the discount ticket place right outside the hotel up to 50% off shows
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of the action. If you are only going to NYC for a few days, this is the area you want to be in. The rooms are all suites. How nice! It is steps from half price ticket both , double decker bus tours and shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you use your GPS, you will end up on across the way. The address is Broadway, but is on the corner of 7th and 47. If you drive there, there are only abut 3 spots on 7th for unloading.
room was great, decent size by any standard, very large for Manhattan standards. Nice to have a sofa to sit on and mini fridge. The windows pull in so you get air or take pictures. Carpet was clean, linens were of high quality, 2 tvs. Bed/pillows were very comfortable. HVAC system was a lot quieter than other hotels, so it was easy to get to sleep. The hotel also has some high tech air purifying system as well. Wifi is the fastest I've experienced in a hotel. Staff were friendly and served with a smile. I was on the 40th floor and there were no elevator delays at all. Breakfast buffet is very expensive, $30 - it is of high quality, but $30 is steep. One downside being so close to action is the noise of sirens late at night. Around dinner time they tighten security and you have to show your card to get up to the lobby, which is good. Good Morning America background is right across the street by the TKTS stairs. Would definitely stay here again. Best hotel I've stayed at in Times Square area. Sound does not travel well between rooms - had some screaming kids next door, but could hardly hear them.

Room Tip: ask for high floor to get away from sirens. Facing Times Square is nice view, but nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everyone from the Bellhop,Doormen, Maid and Front desk. Very large suite with great amenities.
Great job Doubletree!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was a great hotel, very large suite with comfortable bed. Loved that the windows opened for fresh air. Even though it's right in the middle of times square, it was very quiet. Room was immaculate and, when I asked for extra coffee and creamers, they were there right away. The only downside is that there was not wifi unless you were an elite awards member. That's definitely a negative for a business traveller hotel, or any hotel now in this day and age. Did not use the restaurant. Drinks at the bar were expensive - $12 for a glass of wine. I would definitely stay again though even without the wifi.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Farrell105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,901 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#174 of 470 in New York City
11,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,034 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#288 of 470 in New York City
5,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing