We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #173 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good size rooms and great location”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we were a group of three and were very pleased with the Doubletree Suites.

These suites work great for say two couples who are fine sharing. They offer privacy for each couple or a living room for a single couple. The rooms are spacious by New York standards.

Location is great. The hotel is bang centre to most places you want to walk to. Great too if you want the subway. Grand central is only 10mins walk. They take security seriously with someone on the front door checking everyone out before they get into the lobby.

Beds were very comfortable including the sofa bed. We had great views from the 41st floor.

All the staff were very friendly. Check in was fast and smooth although we did very early at 12. The left luggage with the Bell Man was a breeze and very efficient.

I would certainly look at this hotel again on a return trip hoping that it would be within budget. It would be ideal for an extended trip to new york.

Room Tip: Good views from 41st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Will_HInverness,

We are so delighted that you and your group had a great stay with us! Thank you for your wonderful review and your 4 star rating.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,131
    2,625
    751
    246
    152
See reviews for
3,999
1,337
188
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Room had a view over rear offices. Room itself clean and functional but decor a little tired. Staff pleasant enough. Hotel being refurbished so lack of lobby seating. Beds clean and comfy - pillows too soft but that's my own taste. Didn't try to good here.

Asked for a later checkout and I was only offered an hour later than normal. Our flight back wasn't until 9pm do it was a long day with no hotel to go back to. I have been to New York several times and I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, more in Times Square. It's so packed it takes fifteen mins to get out of it to walk anywhere! My best advice would be to visit Times Square but don't stay here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Carrie T,

Thank you for being our guest on your previous stay with us. We are so sorry that a later check out time was not available. We try to accommodate as late as we can based on our availability. Thank you for mentioning our pleasant staff! Thank you again for your review and your feedback.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel location is what gives this hotel its reputation. You are right here in the middle of everything! The location comes at a very expensive price. Specifics:

Check-in: easy and fast. Also, I had no problems with the elevators.

Wi-Fi: problematic. On several occasions, I could not connect. I called the desk and the staff said the internet was down. Yes, it is free for Diamonds/Golds…..but it needs to work (OpenTable, other online reservations, etc.).

Service: average.

Room size: average. Yes, we had a “suite.” It was a hotel room with a wall down the middle...and ....ta da...you have two rooms! I would inquire further if you really, really need a larger room—I think that two adults and two kids could be really cramped. FYI: my wife and I are both Diamonds and we did receive and upgrade.

Breakfast: it was complementary for us. If I had to pay for breakfast, I would go elsewhere. I think the price is $32.50/pp. I think that NYC offers many food options for significantly less money. Also, the restaurant was hot. I mean incredibly hot!!! Many guests were peeling off sweaters, wiping damp napkins on their foreheads, etc. I was sweating the minute I sat down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear jknight910,

Thank you for being our guest on your previous visit. We are so sorry for any inconveniences that was caused. We are so happy that your check in and check out was fast and no issues with the elevators. Our internet was down and we were able to have back up and running. Should you wish to further discuss your experience please feel free to e-mail me at rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for your review and for your feedback.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We (family of five, three teenage children) wanted to stay in a location close to Times Square for the first four nights of our eight nights in New York. We found the Double Tree excellent, fantastic location and great service. The hotel was secure we felt safe at all times. We were concerned about the possible noise from Times Square and safety of the area but neither was an issue. so we cancelled our planned chnage to another hotel for the second half of our stay in New York and stayed the entire eight nights at double tree. Highly recommended for families as well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the thirty second floor and it we very quite. Not sure if the lower floors are noisy. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear RodWis,

We are so happy that you and your family have found our hotel to be excellent on your previous visit. Thank you for wonderful review and your 4 star rating.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlefield, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

excellent location right in the heart of things. Easy access to times square, broadway, subways and port authority. Just experienced all the hustle and bustle of the city and really found this to be an oaisis in the heart of pandemonium. Rooms are clean and adequate. The staff were great and couldn't be helpful enough. The heaqt worked a litle too well and I ended up not using it. Too hot but great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B_12548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Christine_B_12548,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so thrilled for you mentioning about your great stay and our staff to helpful. Thank you for your review and your 4 star rating.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weliington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in November. Fantastic 25th wedding anniversary holiday. It was my 3rd trip to NYC in just over 2 years but our first time staying right in Times Square. I had been worried about the noise but on our room on the 33rd floor we heard nothing. We had a view of Times Square and could see right across to the river. To be honest the rooms are a little tired but we didn't mind. The bathroom was really big, the living room and separate bedroom made up for it. FOR New York this was a lot of space. The hotel staff were great. Housekeeping did all the right things and we had amazing service from the guy who welcomed us in the lobby (and who wouldn't take a tip when we left). Great location - but a word of warning - no dithering when you step out of the hotel on the street - this is bang, smack in the middle of Times Square- it never sleeps. Make sure you know where you're headed because you are headfirst into a throng of people. We walked to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, United Nations and Macy's and of course there are all those theatres and shops and restaurants right on your doorstep. Loved it. Great location. Would I stay there again? Hmmm - maybe for the extra space. But just maybe I'd like something a little more upmarket for this money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuataragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Tuataragirl,

We are so delighted that our hotel was your choose for your special occasion. We are so happy that your stay was a success! We will be upgrading our guest suites very soon! Thank you for your review and for your 4 star rating.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Disappointed with this hotel. Long lines to check in and out, hotel under repair, and unable to control heat/cooling in our room. Leftover shrimp dinner left in our microwave had our room smelling a little foul! Which tells me that the microwave not cleaned after checkout.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LouLou2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear LouLou2010_10,

Thank you for staying with us on your previous trip. We are truly sorry that your experience was not of a typical stay. We have reiterated our policy to our Housekeeping Department and our mission is to always keep a clean environment. Thank you for your review and for your feedback.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,475 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#178 of 466 in New York City
10,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 466 in New York City
6,697 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#176 of 466 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing