We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #186 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband took me to New York to celebrate my 50th birthday. This was the first time I ever stayed at a Doubletree Hotel; we normally stay at a Hilton hotel, but never Hilton Doubletree. Needless to say, it definitely won't be the last time. I was very much impressed with the hotel, its management, and customer service. We had some minor issues with our original room. I called the customer service representative, Erica (front desk), and they moved us to a better room with a better view of Times Square within minutes. The location, service, and staff were wonderful. It made my stay and 50th birthday celebration a great and wonderful experience that I will never forget!!! We will be staying at this hotel again on our next trip to New York!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Pete P,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your wife's 50th Birthday! We are so happy that all went well during your visit and we are so delighted that Erica was able to fix your request! We do try our utmost best to ensure that all requests are made. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience! We do so hope to see you again soon! Thank you for your 4 star rating!

Thank you for stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Times Square - New York City!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,955 - 3,961 of 8,280 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I experienced several disappointments while booking and visiting this hotel. My first issue was after booking the hotel on-line through the Double Tree website, I needed to change my dates due to weather (snow, ice, power outages). Unfortunately I was told I could not change the dates, due to the way I booked the hotel. I tried several times to change the reservation (3 days in advance, up to the actual date). Each time I was told why they can't accommodate my request. No one even attempted to help me. Only lectured me on why they can't and that my money for the room was actually already spent.(?) So be careful when making reservations and read small print carefully. So we decided to drive 5 hours in a snow storm to visit and not lose our money. When we arrived the hotel was under construction, with temporary desks and lounge. In addition our room was not available. So they had to give us a different room (which they called an upgrade, right next to the elevator shaft). So we decided to go out for dinner. We asked the concierge for recommendations. The lady at the desk did not seem to know her directions, since she didn't know the correct street and pointed north ( the actual location was south of the hotel). I know this all sounds unbelievable. But I will say next time I take my wife to New York City (or any other destination) we will not be staying at a double tree family of hotels

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Matthew D,

Thank you so much for selecting us as the Hotel of your choice in Times Square! We sincerely apologize after reading your review about the experience you have encountered. This is not the level or service that we provide, neither the image we portray. Again we sincerely apologize. We always do have a manager on duty on property level that is dedicated to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied with our service! Please do give us another chance to show our true service. Please make contact with us so that we can further assist you. rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great location. Although there are many eating places nearby, the hotel would benefit in having a place to eat inside. Outside remodeling, construction does not make the hotel externally attractive. Security is well handled by checking for Hotel ID when entering facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Carlos G,

Thank you so much for being our guest on your last visit to NYC! Thank you for pointing out the safety checks that we provide to ensure a safe environment for our guests! Please pardon our appearance while we make upgrades to enhance our guest experience! Thank you for your review and your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a good hotel that will be even better when the lobby refurbishment and other construction going on around it are complete. The room was large and comfortable with a separate living area and bedroom both joined to the same bathroom by separate doors - which avoids going through the bedroom if the sofa bed is in use. I didn't ask for a specific view of Times Square and was happy with what we got which looked out towards the M&M store and the big screens where the ball drops.

Almost all the staff were friendly from walking in off the street to checking in - the only time we felt let down was at breakfast in the 'Ginger' restaurant.

There is a small gym that has a good selection of equipment including treadmills, steppers etc.

Internet is only free to Honors members but seemed to perform well.

As others point out this is an excellent location if you need to be near Times Square for theaters etc. If you are instead just looking for anywhere in New York I would not recommend Times Square - it's not the most friendly part of the city with pretty aggressive street hawkers and beggars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear britfromtexas,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay! We are so happy that you had a great stay! Thank you for detailed review! Also, thank you for sharing your positive experience with our restaurant and the staff. Please pardon us about the appearance and we must agree with you, our lobby will fantastic after the upgrades. We do so hope that you come back to visit! Thank you for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute trip with my husband and 3 kids ages 12, 10, and 3. We got a great rate on hotels.com and when we arrived we were pleased by how much space there was! Plenty for the 5 of us, especially by NYC standards. The hotel was very clean, felt secure and is in the optimal Times Square location!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank JamericanFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear JamericanFriends,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Times Square! We are delighted that you were pleased with your selection and there was enough room for you and your family in our hotel! Thank you for your review and your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is the only place I stay when in the area (if they have room available). Best Place Ever!! Close to Broadway Plays, Great Restaurants, Lights, and all the action. late Night Shopping is an added plus. Easy commute from the airport. Large rooms including a living room/sitting entertaining area. Whatever you need is in walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff, warm cookies at check in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Patrice H,

Thank you for being our guest on you your last stay in Manhattan! We are happy that you have pointed out our staff for being helpful and friendly! Thank you for sharing your experience! Also, thank you for your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked a group of 8 people to stay at this hotel for meetings in the area. I got great feedback on the size of the rooms - the separate seating area and jack/jill bathrooms are really a plus in NYC. Staff and management were also great - followed up on messages/requests in a timely manner and were very accommodating. Location is great - train stations to get you to any part of the city are all within a few blocks. Rooms are surprisingly quiet for Times Square. Breakfast had plenty of options and was very convenient. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC - especially if you are looking for extra space.

Room Tip: Great if you are looking for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAD2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear NAD2707,

Thank you so much for being our guest on you last stay in Manhattan! Thank you so much for such a detailed review! We are thrilled that you have a taken your time to share! Thank you for mentioning our great staff and management! Please do come back soon so that we can extend the same great service all over again! Thank you for your 5 star review!!!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,391 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,895 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 470 in New York City
11,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,026 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#286 of 470 in New York City
5,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing