We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,794)
Filter reviews
8,794 results
Traveller rating
4,522
2,903
871
287
211
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,522
2,903
871
287
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaredouble treewarm cookiesgreat locationnew yorkliving roomtkts boothwet barpull out sofathird floorcorner suitelarge bathroomstreet levelconcierge deskcan't beat the locationroom keycentral park
Filter
Updating list...
4,389 - 4,394 of 8,794 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Pros: Good location, Staff took care of issues , and they were very friendly at every interaction - they gave us each a free breakfast due to some room issues (dirty glasses). Cons: Yes this is NYC but we thought the room was still way too small. My wife could barely walk around the bed on her side without kicking the heater (she did 2-3 times) , and the nice Herman Miller chair (or a good knockoff) barely made it out far enough to sit in, and the room was so narrow we could not move to either side of the bed (right or left side). Net of it is - the room is too small to call it a nice room exactly, but if you can handle how small it is - it is good room for the price. The bathroom was nicely done but shower water pressure was not powerful enough for a good shower. Bummer. All in all It was decent otherwise - but as it was so small we couldn't really hang out in the room if we weren't on the bed that kind of stunk. We would not call this a great romantic hotel as a result, but it was decent. Again - attentive staff. Kudos to them as we found them extremely nice and attentive and a plus, but due to room size it falls short of a 4 star due to size (3.0-3.5 IMO). Scaffolding was outside and the street was a bit dodgy due to trash and snow buildup, but it is Feb 10-12 so what can you do. It was a good location for a MSG visit which is why we were there, and other than room size we liked it enough.

Room Tip: Avoid 803 if you can not sure if others were larger. but at least it was quiet. You can park directly next door for $43 a night which is pretty good for NYC. Breakfast was OK, but not sure of cost as we were given it gratis by concierge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! You have no doubt wrote a detailed review, we are so ever thankful. Please note that we do have a manager on duty at all time to interact with any inquires or concerns. We are truly sorry that your experience was not exactly what you were expecting. Some of our room types are a bit different based on the location and prices of the room. Also, please pardon us for the appearance as we strive to make the necessary upgrade to enhance our guests experience! We do so hope that you give us another chance and come back. Should you feel the need to discuss your experience further please contact us at rshafi@dtnyc,com. Thank you again for taking your time to provide your feedback and thank you for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our first visit to New York, arriving in a snow storm echo of the Arctic Vortex. We had paid a little extra for view of Times Square and were given a room on the corner of the building with great views to the square in two directions around the 30th floor. The room was what we wanted and expected. We hadn't paid top dollar for 5 star but the suite was comfortable with king size bed and efficient (non-noisy) room heating. The room was close to the lifts (elevators) but we were unbothered by noise throughout our stay (either from the lifts or neighbouring rooms). I' read reviews saying that the lights from the Square kept people awake but out room had blackout curtains and lights were not a problem for us. The lounge area had a wet bar, desk, enough power sockets, chair, sofa, filter coffee machine and adequate supply of coffee to keep us going. TVs in lounge and bedroom. As we were on Hilton Honours list we could choose a bonus and we took 'free wifi' which was reliable and good enough for Skype video. Bathroom was clean and bright with good water pressure in the shower and plentiful hot water. We could have done with a little more cupboard space or a couple of strategically placed coat pegs for outdoor coats. There was refurbishment work being carried out in (upstairs) lobby area; as a result this appeared a bit dark and was a bit chilly - made up for by the warmth and friendliness of the staff who were consistently helpful. With New York all around we didn't eat at the hotel, very happy with diner breakfasts (one just a couple of minutes walk away) and plenty of affordable variety a few blocks over in Hell's Kitchen etc.. We stayed for 4 nights and the hotel's great location was perfect for us to wander up to Central Park, across to Grand Central, over to the Hudson, stroll over to Hell's Kitchen/Chelsea or grab a subway down to the financial district. Our room was at the lower end of the price range at the hotel (just upgraded to get the view of the Square). It was comfortable, well maintained and functional but not luxurious - exactly what we expected/hoped for the price. If I get back to New York, I'd be very happy to stay again and would be happy to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Corner suite/views of Times Square were worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear DrBobUK,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your visit to the Big Apple! WOW!!! What a well and detailed review about your experience with us! The Polar Vertex was a concern; however, its now a thing of the past and we are so happy that we were warm to keep you warm! Thanks for pointing of our staff for being helpful and keeping it consistent! Yes, don't let the lights keep you up! All of our Suites are fully equipped with black out curtains! Thank you for sharing your experience! Also, thank you for your 4 Star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I travel frequently for business and stay at many different hotel chains. I had recently begun to shy away from Hilton properties to see what other Hotels had to offer. However, I will be back to Hilton properties as my go-to hotel chain after my excellent stay in New York in January.

Although the lobby construction was not the most convenient, the location was great for the cost and the staff was above and beyond excellent during my stay. When we arrived in our room we even had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for my girlfriend and I for our anniversary! When you take service to that next level and add that finishing touch like this, it really sets the trip off right.

And because of going that extra mile, I will continue to use Hilton properties for business and personal travel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear JRS30,

Thank you so much for choosing us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are delighted that we (Hilton) convinced you back to our bands! Our mission is to entice all of our guests! When we find out about happenings in our guest's lives we try to make it as memorable as possible. We are proud with your success! Please do pardon our upgrades, which are due to end soon! Please come back for your next event as we would like to make memorable! :). Thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

You can't beat this location. We also loved staying in a suite and having the convenience of a living room. That way one of us could watch TV in the other room without waking up the other person. What a nice touch to give out chocolate chip cookies! They are incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Denise L,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your previous visit to Times Square! We are so happy that you were happy with your stay and convenience! Yes, the cookies are incredible! Please do come back! The cookies awaits you! Thank you for your review and your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and is good for both families and business travellers. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant, and there is a good selection of continental through to cooked breakfasts and made to order pancakes and waffles etc. The rooms are all comfortably furnished, and general amenities are provided with fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc. The location is central, in times square. You get a nice view from all floors. Overall a nice hotel. Be aware renovations are going on that can give public areas a temporary feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevators. A room facing south faces onto times square.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Scott B,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had an overall great stay with us! Thank you for your detailed review! Please do pardon us for the renovations! While this is temporary, it is necessary to enhance our guests' experience! We do so hope that you come back soon to experience our new lobby first hand! Thank you for your 4 star rating!


Ryan Shafi

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews