We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,837)
Filter reviews
8,837 results
Traveller rating
4,536
2,921
880
288
212
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,536
2,921
880
288
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square double tree warm cookies great location new york living room tkts booth wet bar pull out sofa third floor corner suite large bathroom street level concierge desk can't beat the location room key central park
Filter
Updating list...
4,420 - 4,425 of 8,837 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is right in the heart of Times Square, readily accessible to the Broadway shows, shopping, and an incredible variety of restaurants. The staff is polite and efficient. This is our second time staying here and will not be the last!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank billshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear billshapiro,

Thank you so much for choosing us again! We are delighted that you had a great stay! Please continue to keep us in mind as your hotel of choice when coming back to Manhattan! Thank you for your review and your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and we were nicely surprised. Our room was a king bed suite that included a separate room with a sofa-bed, a second large tv, a refrigerator and a microwave oven. The room was very clean and spacious, the view of times square sensational (22nd floor) and the housekeeping service impeccable. Another thing to keep in mind, the rooms are very good at keeping the times square noise at a minimum level and the shades will do a good job of blocking the huge billboards.

One thing I did not like too much was the softness of the mattress, but that may be a personal matter since I´m used to more firm bedding.

The business center is open 24/7 and is appropriate for most business needs, it has about six computers and two laser printers available. The wireless internet in the room was decent, however I did have to login many times during the day to keep the connection working.

The lobby at this time is very reduced due to renovations, however the check-in process was fast and painless.

The location of the hotel can be heaven or hell depending on your needs. If you are a tourist wanting to be in the center of the action, the location is unbeatable, right on times square, in front of the tkts booth, a subway station right on the door of the hotel (N,R) and hundreds of shops, restaurants and theaters within walking distance, even on winter. If you are on business, location may not be so great, since loading and unloading vehicles may be problematic and the crowds can make you crazy.

Overall the staff was caring and helpful, the concierge arranged our transportation very fast and at a convenient price.

We did not try the restaurant or fitness facilities.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends. I think it has all the features for a great vacation in manhattan.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the highest floors for minimum noise and great views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Ijahn,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Manhattan! Thank you for such a detailed review on your experience! Also, thank you for taking your time mentioning of our staff being caring and helpful! Our upgrades are due to over soon and we would like for you to come back and enjoy! Thank you again for your recommendation and your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I am very impressed by the service at this hotel. The staff is nice and helpful. There is a desk on the main floor for Broadway tickets. It is very convenient for plans of seeing a Broadway show. The hotel is right on Times Square which, I think, is the heart of the city. The thing I am most impressed with is the rooms. Outside the hotel, is the loud hustle and bustle of New York. Inside, is a quiet, clean oasis. My family and I stayed in the presidential suite. Very big, very clean. I had though that since our room faced Times Square; we would hear the outside at night. We didn't. I am very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Natalie K,

Thank you for staying with us on your previous visit to Manhattan! To answer your question yes, we are in the Heart of the City! Believe it, our concierge was relocated to their new home on the first floor lobby so that we can accommodate all of our guest outside needs right before hitting the streets! We are proud of our staff at the desk and thank you for mentioning them in your review! Please come back soon to visit! Thank you for your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Doubletree for a guys NBA trip. We decided to stay here again because of the location and the size of the room. We checked in the Tuesday right after the Super Bowl and stayed for three nights. Here is our review:

Getting to Hotel: I took the Super Shuttle from Newark airport and it took about 1 hour to get to the hotel. Just like the last time, the shuttle driver had to stop in the middle of the street and we had to hurry in getting out of the van. Because the hotel is right in the middle of Times Square and it does not have a drive way, just be ready to hurry when leaving the shuttle. The last time my friend and I was there, was in 2012. The front of the hotel has not changed, they still have the scaffolding which makes the entrance to the hotel kind of dark and you kind of have to look pretty good for the entrance to the hotel. Once you enter the street level door, you then take the elevator to the lobby level. The good thing is there is security at all hours of the day to make sure that only guests enter this part of the hotel.

Checking In: The hotel is currently going through some lobby renovations so the noise can be loud as you are waiting to be checked in. Also, because of the renovations, you have to make your own line and hope others stand behind you. Checking in went smooth, also we received the famous Doubletree cookies.

Room: Our room was located on the 19th floor, and it was a one bedroom suite with a pullout sofa bed. The room was very spacious and we had a great view of part of Times Square. The only minor negative was the light from the advertisement signs was a little bright at night. It did not bother my friend who slept on the sofa bed but if you are a light sleeper, might want to close the shade. The room had a dorm size refrigerator and a bar sink. I used the internet (normally there is a charge, but due to my Hilton Honors there as no charge). The internet was adequate for what I used (checked e-mails, various internet sites). I did not stream movies, so I cannot say how good the internet would be for this type of thing.

Location: As others have said, the location is great. The hotel is located right across the TKTS booth in Times Square which made it easy to find. There is a subway station right outside the door to the hotel or there are several other stations within a couple minutes walk. There is a number of restaurants and shops all within walking distance. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to Madison Square Garden which is also Penn Station if you want to catch the train to Newark Airport.

Amenities: There is a restaurant, business center, and work out room at the hotel. We used the business center to print out a ticket, we did not use the restaurant or work out room.

Overall my friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. There are several hotels that was less expensive but for the size of the room and also location, the Doubletree cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear gsuzuki,

Thank you so much for your returned visit! We are please to let you know that our lobby renovations are due to end soon! We would like for you to come back and give us another try! It will be very different! We can't wait to show it off! Also, please do know that all rooms have blackout curtains to shut off the lights of Times Square! We are proud to provide our guest with 24 hours manned security in addition to video surveillance! Thank you for your well and detailed review! Please do come back! Also, thank you for your 4 Star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Pros: Good location, Staff took care of issues , and they were very friendly at every interaction - they gave us each a free breakfast due to some room issues (dirty glasses). Cons: Yes this is NYC but we thought the room was still way too small. My wife could barely walk around the bed on her side without kicking the heater (she did 2-3 times) , and the nice Herman Miller chair (or a good knockoff) barely made it out far enough to sit in, and the room was so narrow we could not move to either side of the bed (right or left side). Net of it is - the room is too small to call it a nice room exactly, but if you can handle how small it is - it is good room for the price. The bathroom was nicely done but shower water pressure was not powerful enough for a good shower. Bummer. All in all It was decent otherwise - but as it was so small we couldn't really hang out in the room if we weren't on the bed that kind of stunk. We would not call this a great romantic hotel as a result, but it was decent. Again - attentive staff. Kudos to them as we found them extremely nice and attentive and a plus, but due to room size it falls short of a 4 star due to size (3.0-3.5 IMO). Scaffolding was outside and the street was a bit dodgy due to trash and snow buildup, but it is Feb 10-12 so what can you do. It was a good location for a MSG visit which is why we were there, and other than room size we liked it enough.

Room Tip: Avoid 803 if you can not sure if others were larger. but at least it was quiet. You can park directly next door for $43 a night which is pretty good for NYC. Breakfast was OK, but not sure of cost as we were given it gratis by concierge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! You have no doubt wrote a detailed review, we are so ever thankful. Please note that we do have a manager on duty at all time to interact with any inquires or concerns. We are truly sorry that your experience was not exactly what you were expecting. Some of our room types are a bit different based on the location and prices of the room. Also, please pardon us for the appearance as we strive to make the necessary upgrade to enhance our guests experience! We do so hope that you give us another chance and come back. Should you feel the need to discuss your experience further please contact us at rshafi@dtnyc,com. Thank you again for taking your time to provide your feedback and thank you for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews