We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$223
US$203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Omni Berkshire Place(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$255
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$348
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (8,513)
Filter reviews
8,513 results
Traveller rating
4,411
2,812
829
271
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,411
2,812
829
271
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaredouble treewarm cookiesgreat locationnew yorkliving roomtkts boothwet barpull out sofathird floorcorner suitestreet levellarge bathroomconcierge deskcan't beat the locationroom keycentral park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,136 - 4,141 of 8,513 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a great time at this hotel, the location was perfect and a suite suited us really well for our 5 night stay. The rooms were clean, the bathroom huge, shower great and we had a fantastic view over Times Square from the 29th floor. Overall it was a good place to stay and, once the renovation is complete, I'm sure I'd return.

There were, however, some downs sides. The renovations taking place at the entrance through to the lobby were messy and intrusive. If I'd known about them when I booked then we'd have chosen to stay elsewhere. They made for a slightly chaotic experience at times. At one stage the lifts broke, presumably as a result of the building work, and 29 floors was a long way to walk! It would have been nice to have received an apology or explanation for this one off fault. Most disappointing though was that we paid a high price for our suite and received not the slightest compensation or apology for the inconvenience and mess caused by the renovations. On top of this, $14 a day (per device) for wifi access seemed a step too far, but we paid it as we needed he covenience of easy access. A more customer friendly management would have waived this fee as compensation, and been left with a far happier customer.

I'm giving the hotel 4 stars, based on how much we enjoyed the room and general facilities, but I think I am being a tad generous, as the faults mentioned above did make our stay less perfect than it would have been had we booked after the completion of the renovations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestBridg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear WestBridg1,

Thank you so much for being our guest on your last stay in Manhattan! We are truly sorry that your were not informed of our current renovations. We have made every efforts to inform all booking parties! Please do pardon us as we make these enhancements to entice our guest with a much more atmospheric and modern designs! We are truly sorry about the elevators as we did had an issue and it was resolved on that day with the reports from our guests! Please e-mail us at rshafi@dtnyc.com should you feel it necessary to discuss your experience further! Thank you for taking your time to write your feedback! We hope to see you soon when all of our upgrades are in order! Thank you for your 4star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Returned yesterday 22/02/2014....The location of the hotel is fantastic, but it looks really poor from the outside and the inside with all the work going on, it smells, dusty and even set fire alarm off while we were there and the staff didn't even know the panel was bleeping away till I told them. The bell boy then got an engineer to put it right. Also the lifts are very unreliable and slow, took us 24 minutes to get from the 27th floor to reception lobby on 3rd floor, but this was because it cannot handle peak times, like breakfast time. The suites themselves are large and airy with great views but could do with updating the furniture as they are old and need of repair. ( even the air vents were hanging of the walls). The hotel bar has been placed in a room and is all bottled drinks due to it being temporary.
So in conclusion if you want a hotel for location, this is the one...if you want quality and something that is modern and looks good, then until the works complete ( they were working day and night and can give you ear plugs if you need them!),this is not the one for you...I would of hoped something with the "Hilton Tag" would be much better.
Thank you goes to the people of New York, who helped us celebrate my wifes 40th birthday, you made our stay, not the hotel.

Room Tip: Sadly I cannot, as with the renovations etc..the higher you go the longer the wait for a lift, the lower you go, the noise you get from the renovations!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear bazzabooboo,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We so sorry that your experience was not what you were expecting! We have informed all booking channels about our modifications that we are having. Please pardon us during this moment while we make all the necessary upgrades to enhance our guests experience! We do so hope that you give us another chance and come back to see and experience our final product. Should you feel the need to further discuss your experience please do not hesitate to contact us, please e-mail rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for being our guest and for providing all the feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here during one of NYC's recent cold spells - temperature was way down in the 20s and possibly lower. Quick, efficient check-in and then up to my 38th floor room. Great views north up 7th Avenue towards Central Park, no street noise, and the aircon/heating wasn't noisy either. Room is perfectly fine, love the little coffee maker with the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf coffee, a perfect accompaniment to the warm cookie given at check-in. Bathroom fine, excellent water pressure. Bed comfy, good sized TV in both rooms.

Only one problem, but sadly a big one. There was no WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby. That would have been inexcusable 10 years ago, let alone in 2014. My only option, being from outside the US, was to use my phone as the link to feed connectivity to my iPad - and that meant a big bill for data. Not sure if this was a temporary glitch or whether this place simply doesn't offer in-room wifi - if the former I would definitely return, as the 2-room setup and the price make this an excellent choice in a great location. If it's the latter, I will never come here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Kevlondon,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so deeply sorry that you were not able to access wifi from your room. We are happy about your review and the experiences with the other amenities. Please note that we do have a manager on duty at all times to ensure that all of our guest's requests or inquires are taken care of in the best possible! Please e-mail myself rshafi@dtnyc.com should you feel to discuss further! We hope to see you soon! Thank you again for staying with us and thank you for your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I travel a lot and all kinds of places. I love to stay at DoubleTree Suites. One of the main reasons is great customer service from people like Daniel. He goes above and beyond to help you when you are out of town. This is a great hotel in the middle of Mahattan right in Times Square. If you are going to NYC for business or just for a visit stay at the DoubleTree Suites in NYC. And say hi to Daniel and the rest of the staff when you visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear R N,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you have had the chance to get the "Daniel Experience" Thank you for your 5 star rating! Please come back soon! Daniel would be delighted as well as the entire team!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

THE best location you can get. No noise from the street traffic, but the A/C and heating ventilation system kept us awake a couple of Nights. It was very Cold when we visited NY, well under 30 F, and the Windows did not isolate much, so we were depending on the heating all night.
The wifi was complementary (usually cost 13,99 USD pr day), but didn't work most of the time. disappionting details.
The staff were excellent, very helpful.
The rooms were clean and spacius, but could use a renovation soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Thore S,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so sorry that the wifi did not work! We hope you informed the front desk? We are so sorry about the HVAC for not being adjustable! Thank you for pointing out our staff! The rooms renovation is being discussed and we have a fantastic team to make it all happen soon! Please come back! Thank you for your feedback and for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews