We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,784)
Filter reviews
8,784 results
Traveller rating
4,515
2,902
872
285
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,515
2,902
872
285
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaredouble treewarm cookiesgreat locationnew yorkliving roomtkts boothwet barpull out sofathird floorcorner suitelarge bathroomstreet levelconcierge deskcan't beat the locationroom keycentral park
Filter
Updating list...
4,366 - 4,371 of 8,784 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here on our recent trip to New York as a family of 2 adults and 3 teenage children as the suite layout suited our family needs.
Has a great location right on Times square opposite the red steps and is busy when you exit the hotel straight into the crowds but heh it's Times Square but once in the hotel is quiet and secure as you need to enter past security in lobby and take elevator up to reception on 3rd floor.
We had a room all the way up on the 41st floor with two double beds in bedroom section which wife and daughters said were very comfortable , sofa bed I found wasn't the most comfortable but was o.k
Room was clean and comfortable and was cleaned daily during our stay. Facilities in room are good with the added bonus of coffee/tea machine and fridge etc in room .
Used the in house restaurant once for our last days breakfast and had the buffet and was very tasty although pricey compared to the diners we'd used on previous days.
Wi-fi available for free down in reception which could be a pain if you were expecting to use the internet often although it was fine for us even with teenagers!
Staff very friendly and helpful and helped out with any requests we had.Would recommend also as has a great location and is right next to the access to Subway station so makes getting around even easier.
In all we had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Howard G,

Thank you so much for choosing us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so sorry about the sofa bed! Thank you for pointing out the great service from our staff! Please come back and visit again! Also, thank you for your recommendation! Thank you for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The construction at street level made it somewhat difficult to exit our vehicle, see parking attendants and unload. Check in personal were both friendly and helpful when asked about restaurant information and directions. Service was speedy to our room with luggage and forgotten toiletries. Overall a good value and quiet room especially considering the hotels' Time Square neighborhood. Thought the workout facility was small considering the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Steven S,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so sorry about the changes we are making. Please pardon us for this temporary transition! We are so happy that your took your time to write about of our helpful and friendly service! Please come back! Thank you for your 4 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked very late and got an amazing deal. We were suspicious that it was too good to be true and that the renovation works would be an issue, but they made no difference at all and the DoubleTree Suites far exceeded our expectations.

We are a family of six (kids aged from 9 to 16) and had a family suite, with two double beds in one room and a large sofa bed in the adjoining room. The sofa bed was very comfortable and in fact the two adults decided to use it as it was so spacious and it meant we could have the room/television to ourselves while the kids enjoyed the other big screen television in the main bedroom.

The room was kept spotlessly clean and we got an endless supply of coffee refills/cups and towels. There was a decent size fridge with lots of places to shop in the near vicinity for staples like milk and juice (we didn't have breakfast in the hotel). There was also a microwave, good size safe and easy to use coffee maker.

The location of the hotel can't be beaten - right on Times Square with lots of subway lines close by and much of New York's main attractions within walking distance (Central Park to the north and Empire State Building to the south both within 15 blocks. And it was amazingly quiet (we were on 30th floor) with no noise from outside or through the walls and great light protection also.

The staff were all polite and friendly - we were warmly greeted by Erika on arrival and got both an early check in at about 2.00pm and free wifi which worked perfectly throughout our week there. The cookies were lovely! Lifts were plentiful and fast, and bathroom spacious with nice sized bath and his and hers sinks.

The only minor niggles was that the water from the tap in the wet bar was very cloudy when the tap was initially turned on each time, so make sure to let the water run for a minute (it gets clear then) before using it. And the heating/air conditioning seemed to be set at a constant temperature irrespective of how we adjusted the thermometer, which was a bit hot for us.

But, all in all, an excellent spacious family suite in an amazing location which we will definitely be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Magnus1968,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! Thank you so much for your full and detailed review! Please do note that we do have a dedicated manager on duty to assist you when needed and our dedicated Careline is always available to take care of your needs. We are thrilled about your review and we hope that you come back soon! Thank you for your 5 star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a great time at this hotel, the location was perfect and a suite suited us really well for our 5 night stay. The rooms were clean, the bathroom huge, shower great and we had a fantastic view over Times Square from the 29th floor. Overall it was a good place to stay and, once the renovation is complete, I'm sure I'd return.

There were, however, some downs sides. The renovations taking place at the entrance through to the lobby were messy and intrusive. If I'd known about them when I booked then we'd have chosen to stay elsewhere. They made for a slightly chaotic experience at times. At one stage the lifts broke, presumably as a result of the building work, and 29 floors was a long way to walk! It would have been nice to have received an apology or explanation for this one off fault. Most disappointing though was that we paid a high price for our suite and received not the slightest compensation or apology for the inconvenience and mess caused by the renovations. On top of this, $14 a day (per device) for wifi access seemed a step too far, but we paid it as we needed he covenience of easy access. A more customer friendly management would have waived this fee as compensation, and been left with a far happier customer.

I'm giving the hotel 4 stars, based on how much we enjoyed the room and general facilities, but I think I am being a tad generous, as the faults mentioned above did make our stay less perfect than it would have been had we booked after the completion of the renovations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestBridg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear WestBridg1,

Thank you so much for being our guest on your last stay in Manhattan! We are truly sorry that your were not informed of our current renovations. We have made every efforts to inform all booking parties! Please do pardon us as we make these enhancements to entice our guest with a much more atmospheric and modern designs! We are truly sorry about the elevators as we did had an issue and it was resolved on that day with the reports from our guests! Please e-mail us at rshafi@dtnyc.com should you feel it necessary to discuss your experience further! Thank you for taking your time to write your feedback! We hope to see you soon when all of our upgrades are in order! Thank you for your 4star rating!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Returned yesterday 22/02/2014....The location of the hotel is fantastic, but it looks really poor from the outside and the inside with all the work going on, it smells, dusty and even set fire alarm off while we were there and the staff didn't even know the panel was bleeping away till I told them. The bell boy then got an engineer to put it right. Also the lifts are very unreliable and slow, took us 24 minutes to get from the 27th floor to reception lobby on 3rd floor, but this was because it cannot handle peak times, like breakfast time. The suites themselves are large and airy with great views but could do with updating the furniture as they are old and need of repair. ( even the air vents were hanging of the walls). The hotel bar has been placed in a room and is all bottled drinks due to it being temporary.
So in conclusion if you want a hotel for location, this is the one...if you want quality and something that is modern and looks good, then until the works complete ( they were working day and night and can give you ear plugs if you need them!),this is not the one for you...I would of hoped something with the "Hilton Tag" would be much better.
Thank you goes to the people of New York, who helped us celebrate my wifes 40th birthday, you made our stay, not the hotel.

Room Tip: Sadly I cannot, as with the renovations etc..the higher you go the longer the wait for a lift, the lower you go, the noise you get from the renovations!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear bazzabooboo,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We so sorry that your experience was not what you were expecting! We have informed all booking channels about our modifications that we are having. Please pardon us during this moment while we make all the necessary upgrades to enhance our guests experience! We do so hope that you give us another chance and come back to see and experience our final product. Should you feel the need to further discuss your experience please do not hesitate to contact us, please e-mail rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for being our guest and for providing all the feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews