We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Doubletree Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #184 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great location, but that's all you're paying for. The rooms are 'suites' which they advertise as being luxurious, but they looked like they were last furnished in the 80's and were quite shabby. The bathroom wasn't clean as there was a brown residue in the bathtub when we arrived. The staff were a mix - the reception staff were really friendly and fun, but the staff at the desk in the breakfast entrance were cold and unhelpful. The lobby was still being redecorated when we arrived, which isn't a problem but they did tell us it would be complete before we arrived. It wasn't even close to being complete by the looks of it. The hotel was good for location which we used for 3 days, but we transferred to the Hilton in Chelsea, which was a lot cheaper, only 15min walk from Times Square, and much better quality, service and rooms. I think a lot of the Times Square hotels know that people will pay for the location and therefore forfeit quality and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Joni F,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so sorry that your experience was not what was expected. We have advised Team to pay extra attention to the fine details of our business. We are making more changes and our rooms are next! Just so you know that lobby is ready! Thank you so much for pointing out our fun and friendly staff! Please give us another try! Do let us know of your next reservation; e-mail us at rshafi@dtnyc.com so that we can provide personal service! Thank you so much for your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,072)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,537 - 3,543 of 8,073 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are looking for a middle of the range hotel in a central location you cannot go far wrong with the DoubleTree Suites. We made three requests prior to arrival and the hotel rang me to confirm safe receipt of the email and advise they would do their best to accommodate us which they did - we had a twin room on the 41st floor with a kettle. The staff were friendly on arrival and throughout; loved the fresh cookies which were given out readily whenever requested. There are refurbishment works under way but this only affected our stay when the water was turned off late evening without warning for some emergency works but apart from that it was non disruptive. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in booking it again in the future as the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Recommend requesting a high floor in advance to escape the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Helen077,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that you had a great experience! Also, thank yo so much for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff! We will be sure to share your review! We are so sorry about the water. Also, we are happy to let you know that all is complete! Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

i took my mother, and my partner to nyc for a surprise trip, we were greeted by a rude individual at the front counter. our room we requested was not available. we were soaking wet so we couldn't argue, we get the the room wallpaper was peeling, and the blow drier didn't work. i call for a new one and get harassed and interrogated by a housekeeping staff about it and finally get a new one. mind you now the walls are VERY thin and hear everything even spoken word. also the construction in the lobby IS A BIG IMPACT on customers, all you hear is swearing and power saws and tools, you cannot have a conversation at all We come in from dinner take the elevator up to our floor to find a empty beer can in a passenger elevator, there is a primary elevator that a "security" staff monitors -obviously not, next morning as we check out i go to talk to a staff member about situations and most of the staff is gruff and rude bushing by you like you couldn't be bothered to talk to you. i reach the director of front desk he is nice but there seems to be no genuine feeling about the efforts of the hotel to make things right. i come back to pick up my bags as a "regular family" walks by the "security" guard they get a nice smile, me and my partner walk by we get stopped with a hand to the face and rudely told "you don't belong" as if i cannot afford this hotel and demanded my room key which we gladly present, we confront him about his attitude we were told "your not normal" "you don't fit in". i go up stairs and speak with a very polite sales manager jill she was empathetic to the situation, which i was assured a quick response to it, that was thursday come monday i received no call until i proceeded to call and inquire about it. i was assured a phone call from the "security director" as well as the "front desk director". i had to initiate the conversation to get a response and id say they didn't even scratch the surface of a customer recovery, minimal response from a illegal action in the state of new york which prohibits discrimination due to sexual orientation! On my return call i was offered 15,000 points , which is pretty much worthless when it takes more than 45k in points for a single night stay and a low end hotel! i'd avoid it at all costs. they have multiple safety issues and standards that risk customers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank KCunningham35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewAtDTTS, Director of Front Office Operations at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear KCunningham35,

I thank you for taking the time earlier to talk with me over the phone about your entire experience here with us. I need to personally apologize once again that the condition of the hotel was not up to standards but more importantly for how you felt you were treated by our staff. Our hotel welcomes everyone and the last thing I want is for a guest to leave feeling they were discriminated against as this is not accepted on any level here at the property. I can assure you that this matter has been brought to the attention of the entire management team. I thank you once again for your feedback and hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After being dropped off by a cab in the centre of Times Square, the interior of the hotel seemed an oasis of calm. Room wasn't quite ready, so we received two free drinks and this was greatly appreciated after the journey. The view of Times Square from the room was fantastic. Travelling with our 14 year old son, it was very useful to have a suite with bedroom separate. Perfect location for exploring New York City.

Room Tip: Avoid the lady trying to persuade you to go for breakfast at other Hilton Hotel for free after a 3 h...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Jon G,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great experience on your last stay with us! Times Square is...very busy and it New York City lives up to its name....The City that never sleeps! Also, we are so happy that our Front Desk Coordinators were able to assist in adding drinks to your oasis. Thank you so much for sharing. Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Every time we come to NYC there is where we have to stay. We love it here! From the service at the front desk to our King Size room, everything is top class. Ask for a room with a view right over the street and you won't be disappointed! It's worth the price we paid to stay here as we are so close to everything and a hop skip and jump to the theatre! The bed is nice and comfy for a wonderful sleep. Sweet dreams to you. We don't do the breakfast here because there are so many other great places to eat in the morning just around the area. We come here just for weekends visits but we would stay here a week if we could get the time off from work. :)

Room Tip: When planning a trip don't forget about asking about their parking. If its your first visit make...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmeribritUSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear AmeribritUSUK,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that you had a fun and great experience with us! Thank you so much for your kind comments! We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Okay business hotel if you really must stay around Times Square. Rooms were large suite; only a bathtub shower; pretty silent for the location, so ecpected more noise. You get a warm cookie, but my god it's heavy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Caroline Louise... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Caroline Louis... V,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We thank you so much for your review and feedback! Our Cookies are our signature check in gift! Perhaps the next time you can share with your friend! Please come back soon! (But, remember we will give you another cookie at check in; you can say no! it will be OK! :). Until then, take care and we happy travel!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights Thu-Sun and it was just too expensive. The room looks old, doesnt have a big tub or jacuzzi. We ordered breakfast with a "healthy" choice and were ripped off. Dont ever order this selection at all. The construction is going on night & day in the lobby which causes traffic. For the price we paid, it is just an "okay" hotel. But if you have a big party to share the cost then it's worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Linh B,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so sorry that your experience was not what was expected. Please pardon us as we are making upgrades. We are happy to let you know that we are just putting finishing touches. Also, we are so sorry with your room service, we will be sure to address our F&B Team. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you give us another chance. Please do let us know of your next stay directly at rshafi@dtnyc.com so that we can provide our personal attention.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,666 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 468 in New York City
6,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#171 of 468 in New York City
11,116 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#268 of 468 in New York City
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing