We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
OKC, OK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wow! You really can't beat this location - IF you are looking for a Times Square experience. Right in the heart of Times Square. We were booked here when the scheduled opening of the new Homewood Suites was delayed, and we were extremely happy. I was concerned about some recent reviews concerning the remodel of the lobby, but I am happy to say that it is now complete, and looks very nice.

A big THANK YOU to Crystal at the front desk, who really provided us with a very warm welcome, got us checked in quickly to a very nice room and offered some great advice on local places to visit (away from Times Square). She's a superstar!

The suite we had was very spacious for three people, king size bed, large bathroom, separate bar area with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and room safe. All expendable items were replenished daily and the room was cleaned well by the staff. The ONLY negative comment about our stay was that the outsides of the windows were dirty, which made the view a bit less than what it could have been.

If I were headed to NYC in the future and wanted to stay in Times Square, this hotel would definitely be on my list. Great job!

Room Tip: Hotel is in the HEART of Times Square, do not expect a silent night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Four2Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Four2Ski,

Thank so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so thrilled that you had a great experience! Also, we are so happy that you enjoyed our upgrades! Thank you so much for pointing out Crystal one of our true stars at the front desk. We will be sharing your review with Crystal's Team Members of her great work! We are so sorry about the windows. Please do come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,996
    2,528
    702
    221
    147
See reviews for
3,813
1,294
183
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Awesome, awesome location. You literally step out into the center of Times Square. The rooms were much bigger than we imagined for New York City, and the stay was very comfortable. Even the sleeper sofa was nice to sleep on. Probably the best choice on a decent budget, no doubt!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle_jimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Danielle_jimenez,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had an awesome stay! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room! Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey Hills
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I would thoroughly recommend the Double Tree Hilton in Times square. Although it was expensive it was well worth the price; we were able to return to our suite at any time of the day and night. After a full day of sightseeing we could change for the evening entertainment. When it suddenly poured with rain we were able to easily return to change our clothes and continue. We had a corner suite on the 31st floor and the views right down Times Square were absolutely sensational all day and night! The views from our suite gave us a lifetime of memories. The hotel also included tea and coffee making facilities and the room service was prompt and free.

Room Tip: the corner suite on the 31st floor was worth the extra cost, for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brangushiddensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear brangushiddensprings,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great experience with us! The views of Times Square are just fantastic from our Suites! Thank you so much for sharing your memorable experience! Please come back again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
363 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is our first stay on Times Square. We have stayed other locations in NYC but to experience the excitement of TS. Upon arrival my husband went to help the bellman unload the car and the bellman told him that only he was allowed to touch the luggage. Thanks to the bellman, he dropped a bag with jelly in it that I bought in Nashville on our trip to NYC. $30 gone! In addition, we waited forever to get our luggage so my husband went down himself and retrieved it. It was sitting unattended when he found it. Another $20 tip wasted! Traffic getting to the hotel on a Wednesday evening took over an hour to go less than 1 mile. Parking was up the block and $40 per day or $55 if valeted. Each time you get your car out it is $40 or $55 dollars. The room was comfortable although typical NYC small. The real disappointment came with the breakfast in Ginger. $140+ dollars for 4 breakfasts. They advertise in the elevator that Starbucks is on-site but when I went to get coffee Saturday morning they stated Starbucks wasn't there today although sign stated they were. In the evenings the sidewalks are so crowded you can hardly move or walk anywhere. The restaurants and shops are all chains and overly commercialized. We will not stay in Times Square again. It is not worth the extra cost or additional fees/taxes. We prefer the authentic NY experience of family diners and shops. Seeing Times Square is a must-see if NYC but I'll pass on the overly priced commercialized stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Mickey2go,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are truly sorry about your experience with us and especially your first stay. We have listened to your entire review! Please give us a chance to make it right. We would love for you to give us another chance. We have taken your feedback seriously and we would for you to e-mail us your next confirmation number. Please e-mail us at rshafi@dtnyc.com we will assist you with your stay. We hope to hear from you and we await your next stay! Thank you again for being our Guest!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time in the city, and it was wonderful to be able to return to a nice, safe comfortable, spacious, clean hotel in a perfect location at the end of the night. We hope to return and stay here again. All of the staff were very helpful and we couldn't be happier with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank 845jennifery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 845jennifery,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! Thank you for sharing your amazing experience and thank you for mentioning our very helpful staff! Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This roomy, all-suites hotel is well-located in midtown Manhattan. Although it's on Times Square, the rooms are quiet and well-draped to shut out ambient light when needed. The hotel is under renovation, and the older areas, where we stayed, need some cosmetic updating. However, our suite was clean, comfortable, and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bobwood46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Bobwood46,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you had great experience! We must let you know that we will be doing other upgrades very soon! Please come back to see the changes! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My stay at Doubletree Time Square in late October last year was quite by accident - my AirBNB apartment fell through, well it apparently caught fire, so whilst in remote Canada I got online and booked this hotel for its convenience - not for its price. Reviews suggested it was OK and you know it's actually pretty good for someone visiting NYC for the first time like me. Positioned across the road from the last minute Broadway ticket booth meant we could and we did, drop in now and then and got some great deals to see some shows. The rooms are spacious as far as a room on Time Square goes with a bedroom, separate living room (with fold down sofa bed for kids) and bathroom. Times Square was being dug up for whatever reason at the time and apparently there was also some work being done to the façade of our building but we wouldn't be the wiser in our room as we didn't hear a thing. Now for some issues with the place: the housekeeping staff had some attitude going on for some strange reason and they didn't seem to grasp the concept of us being their "guests" and the place hosted a couple of things like try-outs for Masterchef US and the US Winter Olympic Team which slowed the lifts down so that it took you half an hour to get off your floor. Those things aside, the central location was great although you do need to travel away for the place to find as reasonably decent place to eat and overall it represented good value for NYC (probably not too many other places). Next time in NYC I probably won't stay right on Times Square and will attempt to appear to know what I'm doing by staying somewhere in SoHo but for my initial taste of the Big Apple the Doubletree is a top pick. Take your kids here - M&Ms, Toys R Us and Herseys are within a couple minutes walk so long as you don't stop for a photo with Spiderman and his other costumed friends.

Room Tip: Go higher and get above it all. What's with the cookie on check-in?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelBlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TheTravelBlug,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! Wow, you said it all in one review! Also, we are truly sorry about your housekeeping experience! We have to let you know that currently all of the scaffolding are gone! (its a thing of the past) our front desk is completely redone! Our Bar and Lounge and all the lobby Guest restrooms are completely redone! Please come and give us another try! (Pssst......NYC- we really don't sleep, time now 12:08 AM JUN-05-2014). Thank you so much for your review and feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,657 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Agoda, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing