We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but in desperate need of a full renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #178 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not bad, but in desperate need of a full renovation.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in March. The location is very central, right on Times Square and next to a subway entrance. The all-suites concept insures spacious rooms with a separate bed room, living room with sofa bed, a kitchenette that includes a small fridge, microwave and coffee and tea making facilities. The suites have two large LCD TV's. The bathroom is also spacious with a shower in the bath tub. The rooms are surprisingly quiet for such a busy New York area!

Check-in was quick and done by Rhonda, a very friendly and welcoming lady, who helped us out great with several questions during our stay. New York front office staff in general are not always the friendliest, but Rhonda was definitely a wonderful exception. Hopefully the hotel will recognize this lady's many efforts.

As a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, we were upgraded to a higher floor with a partial Times Square View, with a friendly smiling giant M&M greeting us every morning from a big video screen across the street. We also got free internet and breakfast coupons for two. The breakfast buffet was very good, including an egg station, that made everything from omelets to pancakes.

This his being an American property, you still get served the voided breakfast bill (60USD for two), so you can add the gratuity, which is not included in the HHonors free breakfast vouchers. Knowing that the breakfast waiters make next to nothing and that they live mostly off the gratuity, you need to add anything between 15% to 25%, depending on how satisfied you are with the service offered. The egg station also had a tip basket next to it, to tip the chef. Even though I fully understand the need of the gratuity system, I sometimes wonder why a 450USD hotel room and a 30USD breakfast charge can't cover a decent salary for the waiters. I rather pay a service charge than having to calculate a fair amount of gratuity for every bill.

The reason why I rated this hotel average is that this property could be so much more! Their all-suites hotel concept is really good, the location great, but everything looks so run down and tired. The elevators, hallways, rooms, public spaces, bar & restaurant scream for rigorous renovations. The room furnishings and finishings are very worn, the carpets show the stains from many years that can't be removed any further and the bathrooms also show their age. Next to this, the (clean) uniforms that the staff has to wear look like they were supplied many, many years ago, adding to the general feeling of staying at a hotel that is way past it's glory days.

When we stayed, they were in the process of renovating the lobby. Nevertheless, this lobby renovation should be the starting point for an extensive and complete overhaul up to the last room on the top floor. In it's current state it's not a bad place, but nothing more than that. Fully renovated and redesigned, this would be the best place to stay in New York in it's price range.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear HJRN,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Rhonda! She is truly amazing! Thank you as well for sharing your experience about the other Front Office Staff. We are happy to let you know that our lobby is completed! Our next project as you had mentioned it will be our rooms upgrade! Thank you so much for your detailed review and feedback! We do so hope that you visit us again in the near future!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,139
    2,630
    752
    247
    154
See reviews for
4,014
1,337
188
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We took our two granddaughters and had a great time. Our 20th floor room was right by the elevators, but we heard no noise. Loved the corner room with the lights RIGHT THERE. Quite secure, w/a 3rd-floor lobby and great staff, once you go thru the revolving door, you're in a huge Times Square crowd. Perfect for 12 and 14-yr-olds! A bit pricey for the not-top condition, but the staff and location make up for the lose door handles and sticky drawers. Skip the restaurant and go get great food all over town. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear jwh_10,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that your stay with your granddaughters went well! Also, thank you so much for mentioning our great staff! Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we will inform the respective departments. Please come back soon!


Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The room was spacious and comfortable, however, it's condition was a bit worn out in comparison to the pictures on the website. The internet kept dropping after 30 minutes and made it hard to work. Horrible view; got to see the run down roof top with air conditioners.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dorislucaslaurenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear dorislucaslaurenk,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are truly sorry for any inconvenience. Also, we are happy to let you know that we are and currently exploring some model rooms and will be upgrading our rooms soon! We are so sorry that a room with a better view was not available. We do so hope that you give us another try!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great place to stay, right in the heart of Times Square and all of the action...... but an pleasant escape once you get into your room. Very spacious rooms, especially for New York City. Steps away from all of the buzz and excitement.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ruben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ruben L,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! Your review rocks! Thank you so much for finding us as your oasis! We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was my first visit to this particular DoubleTree Suites in NYC. I normally stay away from Times Square as there are a lot of tourists however I was traveling with someone for their first visit to NYC. I was surprised by the super low rate I received from Hilton.com. I reached out to the hotel in regards to a special occasion in which they obliged to assist. The room (suite) I had was fantastic which views overlooking Times Square. The room was squeaking clean. All you can ask for. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with questions we asked.

I recommend this property to anyone traveling to NYC! You can't go wrong when your staying with the BEST!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear randy w,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are super thrilled about your review! Thank you so much for your 5 star rating and thank you so much for reaching out to us and allowing us to make your special occasion memorable! Your mentioning of our staff being extremely friendly and helpful is very appreciative. We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to NYC with a family of five (3 teenagers) and we wanted to experience NYC in the heart of it all. With a family this size, we have come to always need a suite for us and all our luggage. This Doubletree Suites is right in Times Square and next to many subway stops. Easy to get around from here. Also very close to all the theater shows on Broadway. The hotel was clean and had good in room coffee, fridge, but I feel like for how much this two room "suite" cost, the rooms could have been bigger or wish a continental breakfast was included. The restaurant in this hotel is very expensive and I understand all restaurants in NYC, especially Times Square will be expensive, but a cup of coffee at the on-site restaurant is $5! So, we used TripAdvisor every day to find neat restaurants "near me" that we could afford for our family of 5. So, again, good location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Christine P,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you and your family! We are so sorry that your restaurant experience was not what was expected. We do so hope that you will give us another try!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randaberg Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 3 Nights With 3 kids. The room size was ok, and probably quite good for Central NY. The service was good (to the extent we used it). The room had 2 "double" beds, and one sofabed. The "double" beds were very small, no wider than 140 cm, which I belive is far from a double bed (minimum 160 cm wide). The consequence was very little sleep for 3 Nights. I didn't complain about it, as I couldn't see how they could rectify it. The bathroom was ok, but I believe a suite should have a separate shower, raher than just Integrated With the bath tub. The internal doors were missing several screws, and the general "state of repair" was not impressive. All in all not a terrible stay, but will check elsewhere Next time I go to NY.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-A68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jan-A68,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had good service with us and we are sorry for any inconveniences. Currently we are testing 5 model rooms as we will be doing our rooms upgrade very soon. We do so hope that you give us another try!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,488 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 466 in New York City
10,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 466 in New York City
6,712 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 466 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing