We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another nice New York City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another nice New York City Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

PROS: Close to all the action, roomy suites, clean, attentive staff, easy subway access.

CONS: Close to the action.

This would be the perfect place to stay on New Years Eve. You are literally on TOP of the action. This could also be a pain if you don't like all the crowds. I used to love that action but now ummm

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ED44087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear ED44087,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are the action in the action! And to top it off during New Year's EVE, it is a rocking place to be! Thank you so much for mentioning roomy and clean suites and our attentive staff! Also, thank you so much for your 4 stars! Please come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,066
    2,575
    724
    236
    149
See reviews for
3,906
1,314
186
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you need or desire to stay in Times Square, this is a very good choice for you. I rate it four of five, because compared to other hotels in general, it's very good, but not excellent. Compared to hotels in Times Square, it's an absolute steal. The rooms are large and a family of four can certainly spread out. There's a separate living room and bedroom and you are in the heart of the action (I must come clean and say that I hate Times Square and only stay for business, for pleasure I seek out the Hilton Manhattan East). For Hilton properties in Times Square, this is great for families and business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear pk_CT,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that you have stayed with us during your business trip! We hope that you come back soon! Thank you so much for your review!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family of 5 visited in August 2014. This is the perfect location for jumping off to NYC tourist attractions. The room was very clean and very large. Elevators were quick, room temperature control was great, and plenty of water pressure in the shower. The McDonalds next door was very convenient for quick, cheap meals for the kids. This was my 2nd time to stay at this hotel with the family and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Dawn B,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last visit to Manhattan! We your review is totally fabulous! It shows that your experience was a great one! We hope that you come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Mistake to select this hotel with a family.
Nice enough place but the suite was hyper expensive and in poor repair, though the hotel maintenance addressed the door that didn't fit the door frame.
But at night, owing to its location you just can't get much sleep, so if you have light sleeping children avoid it s the lights of Time Square are murder.......
If you are on your own and looking for a central place to state it's a good one though.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallears44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Smallears44,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so sorry about your experience! Our rooms feature black out drapery to turn off the lights of Times Square! Also, we will be making upgrades to our rooms very soon!. Thank you so much for sharing your review! We do hope that you try us again!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Family of four with two children (18 and 20 yr old boys) stayed 3 nights. Room size was adequate and comfortable. Security seemed very good with hotel staff checking room cards upon entry at ground floor. Starbucks coffee served on premises on 3rd floor guest check-in area. Fitness center had modern equipment. Convenient location for subway access.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roly_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Roly_in_Texas,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that you and your family had a great stay with us! Thank you so much for mentioning of our security Team keeping all in check! We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was perfect for our stay in New York, we took 3 teenagers with us so we needed to get the hotel right. The rooms had plenty of space for all of us, the beds and sofa bed were really comfortable with plenty of soft pillows. The room was well decorated and clean with a great view of times square. I expected it to be noisy given the location but was surprised as to how well the windows kept the noise out.The staff were all very helpful and could,nt do enough to help with any enquiries.And the cookies when we arrived were gorgeous.Being on the doorstep of times square meant we were close to many attractions and the subway is just round the corner. I cannot fault our stay here and would highly recommend it : )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Deborah B,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy about your experience with us! We are so thrilled that your and your family had a lovely stay! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Also, that you for mentioning helpful staff! Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you soon!


Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in March. The location is very central, right on Times Square and next to a subway entrance. The all-suites concept insures spacious rooms with a separate bed room, living room with sofa bed, a kitchenette that includes a small fridge, microwave and coffee and tea making facilities. The suites have two large LCD TV's. The bathroom is also spacious with a shower in the bath tub. The rooms are surprisingly quiet for such a busy New York area!

Check-in was quick and done by Rhonda, a very friendly and welcoming lady, who helped us out great with several questions during our stay. New York front office staff in general are not always the friendliest, but Rhonda was definitely a wonderful exception. Hopefully the hotel will recognize this lady's many efforts.

As a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, we were upgraded to a higher floor with a partial Times Square View, with a friendly smiling giant M&M greeting us every morning from a big video screen across the street. We also got free internet and breakfast coupons for two. The breakfast buffet was very good, including an egg station, that made everything from omelets to pancakes.

This his being an American property, you still get served the voided breakfast bill (60USD for two), so you can add the gratuity, which is not included in the HHonors free breakfast vouchers. Knowing that the breakfast waiters make next to nothing and that they live mostly off the gratuity, you need to add anything between 15% to 25%, depending on how satisfied you are with the service offered. The egg station also had a tip basket next to it, to tip the chef. Even though I fully understand the need of the gratuity system, I sometimes wonder why a 450USD hotel room and a 30USD breakfast charge can't cover a decent salary for the waiters. I rather pay a service charge than having to calculate a fair amount of gratuity for every bill.

The reason why I rated this hotel average is that this property could be so much more! Their all-suites hotel concept is really good, the location great, but everything looks so run down and tired. The elevators, hallways, rooms, public spaces, bar & restaurant scream for rigorous renovations. The room furnishings and finishings are very worn, the carpets show the stains from many years that can't be removed any further and the bathrooms also show their age. Next to this, the (clean) uniforms that the staff has to wear look like they were supplied many, many years ago, adding to the general feeling of staying at a hotel that is way past it's glory days.

When we stayed, they were in the process of renovating the lobby. Nevertheless, this lobby renovation should be the starting point for an extensive and complete overhaul up to the last room on the top floor. In it's current state it's not a bad place, but nothing more than that. Fully renovated and redesigned, this would be the best place to stay in New York in it's price range.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear HJRN,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Rhonda! She is truly amazing! Thank you as well for sharing your experience about the other Front Office Staff. We are happy to let you know that our lobby is completed! Our next project as you had mentioned it will be our rooms upgrade! Thank you so much for your detailed review and feedback! We do so hope that you visit us again in the near future!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,856 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,300 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,129 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing