We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My children (20,18,14) wanted to experience New York. No better place to stay than the Double Tree Suites by Hilton in Times Square. So close to so many great attractions. The suite accommodated our family well. Cleanliness is not perfect...but not horrible. The cleaning staff left extra towels every day which was appreciated. Security was outstanding as you have to show your room key to enter the hotel. Security at the lobby level. Rooms spacious and comfortable. We walked to Broadway, 5th Avenue, Restaurants, and many other places. Perfect for a family of five. Taxis are easy to catch for Central Park ,911 Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim. Free Wifi with Hilton Honors. Breakfast is available, but have to pay for the buffet $25.00/person. Thanks for making our summer break so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor - 10 and higher to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbybowwowmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Abbybowwowmom,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that we have made your stay with your family on your summer break enjoyable. Also, we are so sorry about your room's condition. We have alerted our Housekeeping department. Thank you so much for mentioning our Security Team for ensure your safety during your visit. Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We do hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,997
    2,528
    702
    222
    147
See reviews for
3,813
1,294
183
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogmalo, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My first visit to New York and wished to book a central hotel as well as a room that could accommodate 3 adults and 2 kids. The Doubletree ticked both boxes and did the job. It had an ideal location right on Times Square and the suite had two double beds with a double sofa bed in the living room so ideal. The room was clean, reasonably well equipped but was not really worth the cost - I know I am paying for LOCATION! I felt that one bathroom for 5 people was a slight problem especially in a city that does not sleep so everyone is trying to get ready to go out and sightsee/theatre/shop etc, it becomes a waiting game. I also felt it was so 'un-personable' which again could be the city atmosphere but we lacked a guest relations person to talk, ask and just reassure. The concierge was helpful and the wifi was free but overall I did not feel part of a hotel.

Room Tip: I read online 'to ask for a high floor' which I did but it is not only the high floor you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlady155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Redlady155,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so sorry for your experience with us. Also, we are happy that we were your family. So sorry about the bathroom. Thank you so much for mentioning our Concierge being helpful. We will use your review and feedback to make improvements. We do hope that you give us another try.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on where I had to work. The hotel faces times square and the area in front of the hotel is very crowded. I was worried the noise from times square and for that matter NYC in general would be easily heard in my room but I did not hear anything. My room was on the 25th floor and looked north so I was not able to see much of times square.

My room was very spacious and clean. When you get to the hotel you have to take an elevator to the 3rd floor to check in and then take another elevator to your room. I did not find any trouble with the checkin process and the staff was very friendly.

I ate breakfast in the hotel everyday using my honors status to get free breakfast, otherwise I would not even consider eating breakfast in the hotel due to the high cost. When I got the check each morning to put in a tip I noticed that it was $29.99. There is a McDonalds next door and I am sure plenty of other places to get breakfast for a lot less money. The hotel breakfast was very good with made to order eggs, waffles, french toast and pancakes.

I chose a parking lot far away closer to where I was meeting someone so I cannot speak to the parking for this hotel.

I would stay here again when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drrosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear drrosenthal,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great stay. Also, we are happy that you had a great views! Thank you for mentioning our friendly Staff. Thank you again so much for being our Guest and for being Hilton Honors Member VIP. We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiana, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel ROCKS!!!!! We love NYC but the staff at Doubletree Time Square is the best. Every time we go to NYC this is where we stay. We have stay at other hotels in NYC but this is the best. Because of the staff. They are like family. Joseph works at Ginger's. He makes the BEST pancakes in the world. He makes other things but the pancakes I think are the bomb. If you want a hotel in the heart of Time Square this is the place to stay. Very close to all the Broadway plays and dinning. You can not go wrong staying here at the Double Tree - Time Square.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaws64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear elaws64,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last visit to Manhattan! HAPPY FAB 50TH BIRTHDAY!!! We are so thrilled that your stay was another amazing one! We are super excited about Joseph being a part of our Team! We will be sure to share with Joseph and His Team Members of the Great work and consistency! Way to go Joseph! Well, thank you much for your amazing review and we do hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

First of all, you should know that we are from Houston. Everything is big and cheap down here. However, we travel a lot and have stayed in hotels all over the world. If you're from anywhere other than NYC, you really have to adjust your expectations when it comes to hotel accommodations in NYC. You will pay more, the space will be smaller, and there are not as many free amenities. Just a fact. Moving on....

We booked this hotel for our family summer vacation with my 3 nephews. Yes, my husband and I and 6 KIDS, in Times Square. I was a little apprehensive, but we had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is expensive, but remember this hotel is literally in the middle of NYC. Comparatively, I thought the price was extremely reasonable. It could not be more conveniently located: when you walk out of the front door, you are looking right at the big jumbotron where the ball drops on New Years Eve. There was a little construction when we were there, but it was only a problem when we checked in as we parked the car and never moved it until we checked out.

We were within walking distance of so much--we really needed another day just to explore times square and the theater district. We were only a few blocks from the pier, and were able to squeeze in a sightseeing cruise. Subway less than 1 block away. Tour buses pull up nearly directly in front of hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and unbelievably spacious for NYC. I mean, really big, with a separate living room and a big bedroom. Very clean and well maintained. We had a little problem with our downstairs neighbors -- they just didn't want to hear us walking around. They complained every time we moved, so I think the walls may be a little thin. Otherwise, very comfortable.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the front desk staff (the cookies were a nice touch!) Lauren at the Concierge desk was very kind an helpful.

Overall a very nice stay. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Arshelby,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are super thrilled about your wonderful review on your last visit! Thank you so much for your detailed review! It looks like You and Your Party had a fun Time with US and NYC! We will be sure to advise our Engineering Team about your room. Also, thank you so much for mentioning our wonderful staff and especially Lauren at our Concierge Desk. We will be sure to share this review with Lauren and her Team. We do hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for six nights on a family vacation in New York. The hotel room looks nothing like the corner room junior suite picture you see online. We were given a corner room, but it is very small with only a small sofa bed and no chair as you see in the picture. The windows were filthy and we couldn't see out if the. We paid for a corner view room, but the window were so bad you couldn't take a pic out the window. If you called the front desk, it just rang and rang. This happened on more than one occasion. I called to ask when check out was and some actually answered, she stated noon and hung up. The security guards and housekeeping were really nice! The people in the restaurant were curt and slow. We had to ask three times for the coke we ordered. The food was good, but poor service. And finally, we got to the restaurant at 10:15 AM and did the buffet, which closes at 11:00 AM. They started taking the food off the buffet at 10:30. $30 a piece to grab your food in 15 mins. This place needs leadership!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last visit to Manhattan! We are truly sorry about your experience not being what was expected. We will use your feedback so that we can improve our service. Please do give us another try on your next visit to Manhattan. Please email us at response@dtnyc.com so that we can further assist you. Thank you again for your review and feedback.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

3rd time we stayed in the hotel this year. Beautiful on the outside and inside. In a fantastic place, next door to the Palace Theatre which stages some great shows! Very friendly staff and a great environment. When you check in, ask for some warm fresh cookies, they are DELICIOUS!!!

Room Tip: Request a Suite, Fairly High Up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanAtDTTS, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Ben E,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last visit to Manhattan! We are so happy that about your mentioning about our Staff being very friendly! We do hope to see you again soon! We will keep the cookies warm as always! See you soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager




Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,659 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,377 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing