We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Park Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Savoy
Ranked #437 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the beginning of December. The location was super nice, close to central park, the metro and times square were within walking distance. Lots of food and entertainment options around. Make sure to pick an upper floor room, because there's a lot of noise coming from the bar next door. The reception staff was sometimes indifferent and not very helpful. One of the worst moments was when, while we were talking to someone from the staff to decide on our stay, the manager/owner pushed us and passed through. A moment later he started yelling from the other end of the hotel, to the polite guy that was busy helping us, about some christmas lights that were unplugged and that this was not the time to do small talk.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessiebri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a bad nights sleep in this hotel due to the whistling radiator which the front desk supervisor advised us is standard in the hotel as the radiators are old -- he added that they can turn them off from a central point in reception (we didn't know this until check out though). The pillows were a bit lumpy too.

On a positive note, it was extremely close to Central Park - and to everything really.

We stayed here for one night on Saturday and then stayed at the Times Sq Hilton for 2 nights which was only £50ish more a night than Park Savoy on a Saturday night was - worth looking at the better hotels for Sunday/Monday night deals.

Room Tip: Ask reception to turn off the radiator in your room if it starts whistling!
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kate472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from a stay at this hotel, pleasantly surprised, tiniest room I have ever stayed in, but had own bathroom, which I wanted, really clean, comfy bed (first thing I checked, mattress ect) basic, and dated ,but everything worked, and to be honest, didn't intend spending more than a few hours sleeping in the room, we had a rear, corner room with double aspect windows, but faced building/scaffold work in facing hotels, only a few feet away, so blinds had to stay closed, so had a early start, (noisy builders) but again didn't worry us as intended rising early anyway.
The men in reception were nice, and we were informed we could have breakfast next door in a tiny deli café, and were given a slip which entitled us to coffee and a bagel, which we knew nothing about, so were impressed.
We were able to leave our bags after checking out, in a locked ,secure room, which was great,
The location was fab, just round the corner from 7th Ave, and straight down to Times Square, and right near Centrall Park.
I would stay here again, perhaps if staying longer get a bigger room, but if you require plush settings and décor, this is not for you, but if you just want somewhere safe to stay, and in the right area at a good price, yes fine.

Room Tip: Away from building works if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deedeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here columbus day weekend because we were in town for a wedding and they had made arrangements with the hotel. We were skeptical as the last time we stayed in a budget hotel in nyc it was a nightmare. The park savoy is in a great location, easy to get to anywhere you want to go. It was clean. The room was small but the bed was comfortable. The we did not spend time in the room anyway. The bathroom was also teeny tiny but functionable. The little cafe next door gave us a roll and coffee and it was fun chatting with other people who were staying in the hoel. For $2 you could add egg, cheese and meat. We will definetely try to stay here againwhen we go back to nyc

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is really close to Central Park and about 15-20 minutes of walk from/to Times Square.
It's location is the only good thing I found about it.
We stayed at the 4th floor and had to wait to the elevator several minutes everytime. There were times we went up 4 floors instead of waiting to the elevator.
The room was very old and not too clean.
The luggage room is on the 6th floor, and once again in order to get there with our luggage we had to wait to the elevator several minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The location of the hotel was fantastic, we could wake up in the morning and go for a walk around Central Park before breakfast which was great. The hotel wasn't as fantastic. The price is affordable because there is nothing special about the hotel. The rooms are very small, the beds uncomfortable and the shower was either too hot, lukewarm or cold. The elevator isn't very fast and got stuck during our stay. No views from the room. Hotel staff weren't very friendly and seemed to let anyone through. At least with a hotel room like this you spend most of your time out and about.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a sad hotel. The Park Savoy is basically a marginally clean place to spend a night....if you can get your bag in the room. My room was the smallest hotel room I have ever had. There was about 4 square feet of open space. The rest of the room was the full size bed and a chair and table. The window shade was broken. If I HAD gotten it open I would have seen....a wall. Just a wall. Nothing else. The bathroom had been remodeled in the last ten years and is the only reason this is not a one-star rating. The shower was tiny, but functional and there was even a washcloth. The hotel has no amenities...but it has a good location which is the only reason why they can command these prices or why anyone would stay there. If you are only there to sleep, then book it. Otherwise I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a view if something other than a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Riverside Tower Hotel
Riverside Tower Hotel
#387 of 469 in New York City
673 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#382 of 469 in New York City
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#390 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#435 of 469 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Savoy

Address: 158 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-2128
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Savoy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Savoy Hotel New York City
Park Savoy New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing